Midwestern University's historical and sustaining philosophy dedicates the institution and its resources to the highest standards of academic excellence to meet the educational needs of the health care community.
Key facts about Midwestern University
In short: Midwestern University gave $73K across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $18K), mostly in Illinois. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 36-3377698
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $72,500
- Grants made (2025)
- 4
- Average grant
- $18,125
- Median grant
- $15,000
- Total assets
- $2,235,414,008
- Primary geography
- Illinois (52% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$2.2B
+6.9% YoY
Annual Giving
$73K
+17.9% YoY
Grant Count
4
+33.3% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$18K
-11.6% YoY
How Midwestern University gives
- Giving grew 263% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About Midwestern University
Based on IRS filings
Midwestern University is a public charity focused on Education, based in Downers Grove, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $2.2B in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $73K. Net investment income was $52.8M.
Focus Areas
Ready to take the next step with Midwestern University?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $4K (2021) to $73K (2025). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $73K.
Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 4 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Arizona Veterans Research and Education Foundation ($35K). Together the top 4 received $73K.
Grant Size Distribution
11 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 11 grants of 11 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Arizona Veterans Research and Education Foundation Phoenix, AZ | educational support | $35,000 |
| Indian American Medical Association Il Charitable Foundation Inc Chicago, IL | annual donation | $20,000 |
| Islamic Center of Naperville Naperville, IL | annual donation | $10,000 |
| Health and Medicine Policy Research Group Chicago, IL | Schweitzer donation | $7,500 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $2,235,414,008 | $2,090,861,127 | $1,942,110,046 |
| Revenue | $555,672,877 | $537,500,528 | $518,091,233 |
| Expenses | $440,787,856 | $422,759,778 | $393,667,514 |
| Net Investment Income | $52,798,910 | $39,562,726 | $22,069,324 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 9, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 14, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 12, 2022)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Midwestern University is led by Joshua C. Baker Od Ms, Senior Vice President, Chief Academic Officer, Interim President, CEO & Trustee since 2025 (on filings since 2024); 18 of 34 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Joshua C. Baker Od Ms
Senior Vice President, Chief Academic Officer, Interim President, CEO & Trustee
Senior Vice President & Chief Academic Officer → Senior Vice President, Chief Academic Officer, Interim President, CEO & Trustee, 2025
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$904K (2024) → $898K (2025)
Kathleen H. Goeppinger PhD
President, CEO & Trustee Retired May
President, CEO & Trustee → President, CEO & Trustee Retired May, 2025
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$1.8M (2024) → $1.9M (2025)
Janet R. Bolton Cfp Cima
Chairperson & Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kevin McCormick
Director of Construction - Ending June
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$635K (2025)
Chara Reid-Reed Pharm D.
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Gregory J. Gaus
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jean L. Baxter JD
Vice Chairperson & Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John Ladowicz MBA
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kenneth R. Herlin Ma MBA CPA
Secretary, Treasurer & Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kevin D. Leahy Fache
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Madeline R. Lewis DO
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Marilyn Kent Tapajna Mat Ccc-Slp
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael M. Bond DO
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael P. Kamradt MBA
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Nicholas C. Zagotta JD
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ronald D. Tucker Usn
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Sr ANNE C LEONARD CND
Life Trustee
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Steven R. Chanen JD
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Warren B. Grayson JD
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Amy Gibson Ms Phr Shrm-Scp
Vice President & Human Resources Ganizational Development
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$474K (2024) → $526K (2025)
Angela Marty Ma Phr
Senior Vice President Administration & Communications
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$661K (2024) → $702K (2025)
Barbara L. McCloud Esq.
Vice President & General Counsel - Ending September
Vice President & General Counsel → Vice President & General Counsel - Ending September, 2025
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$609K (2024) → $1.2M (2025)
DANIEL TAPIA EdD
Vice President of Operations
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$528K (2024) → $580K (2025)
Gregory L. O'Coyne CPA
Vice President & Finance
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$465K (2024) → $488K (2025)
Harold J. Haering DMD
Dean & College of Dental Medicine - Illinois
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$570K (2024) → $561K (2025)
Kaila M. Dougherty Od Faao
Vice President & Clinic Operations
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$503K (2024) → $554K (2025)
Lori A. Kemper DO
Dean of Medicine - Az
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$556K (2024) → $585K (2025)
Mary Lee Pharm D.
Vice President & Assistant to the President
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$317K (2024) → $322K (2025)
Matthew J. Sweeney CPA
Assistant Treasurer, CFO & Vice President
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$709K (2024) → $737K (2025)
Thomas A. Boyle DO
Dean of Medicine - Il
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$553K (2024) → $571K (2025)
VICTORIA B FRANKS MAdm
Vice President, Multicultural Affairs & Community Outreach
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$195K (2024) → $320K (2025)
Yir Gloria Yueh PhD
Vice President & Chief Academic Officer
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$573K (2024) → $616K (2025)
Manuel Cairo Esq.
Vice President & General Counsel Beginning March
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$389K (2025)
Melissa A Suckow
Dean of Optometry - Ending October
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$653K (2025)
Former officers (4)
- Former: Kyle H. Ramsey PhD (2024) — Vice President & Chief Academic Officer - Last Day of Work June
- Former: Michael J. Blend PhD DO (2024) — Trustee - Retired December
- Former: Mitchell R. Emerson PhD (2024) — Dean & Colleges of Pharmacy
- Former: Ross J. Kosinski PhD (2024) — Dean Student Services - Last Day of Work Dec
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2024–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $1.9M, to Kathleen H Goeppinger PHD (PRESIDENT, CEO, TRUSTEE retired May 19, 2025). 18 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Midwestern University
How much does Midwestern University give each year?
Midwestern University gave $73K across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $62K across 3 grants.
What is Midwestern University's typical grant size?
Midwestern University's median grant in 2025 was $15,000, and its average grant was $18,125, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.
Where does Midwestern University give grants?
Midwestern University gives mostly in Illinois: 52% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest state was Arizona (48%). The most frequent recipient cities were Chicago, IL (2 grants).
Does Midwestern University give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 4 grants with a stated purpose on Midwestern University's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.
How large is Midwestern University?
Midwestern University reported $2.2B in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $555.7M.
What is Midwestern University?
Midwestern University is a public charity focused on Education, based in Downers Grove, IL. It holds $2.2B in total assets as of 2025.
What is Midwestern University's EIN?
Midwestern University's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-3377698. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Midwestern University by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Midwestern University's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Virginia G Piper Charitable Trust
Phoenix, AZ
Virginia G Piper Charitable Trust funds nonprofits and community partners serving Maricopa County, Arizona, in arts and culture, children, education, healthcare, older adults, religion, and nonprofit capacity. In 2025, grants ranged from $25 to $1 million, with a median of $7,500. It uses a competitive application process that begins with a Letter of Inquiry; unsolicited requests are not explicitly addressed.
Assets
$429.9M
Grants
483
Total Given
$24.5M
Flinn Foundation
Phoenix, AZ
The Flinn Foundation funds Arizona nonprofits and institutions in bioscience, university-based Flinn Scholars programming, and arts and culture; arts grants are generally limited to organizations with annual budgets of at least $2.5 million. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $665,757, with a median of $33,000; a bioscience seed-grant program offers eligible Arizona research teams $100,000 over 18 months. It rarely accepts unsolicited requests and generally prefers to invite proposals, though the seed-grant program is open and competitive.
Assets
$263.1M
Grants
111
Total Given
$7.7M
Arizona Community Foundation
Phoenix, AZ
The Arizona Community Foundation funds eligible nonprofits and community-serving organizations across arts and culture, education, community development, health and human services, the environment, and other areas, primarily in Arizona and sometimes nationally. Its 2025 median grant was $17,760; it accepts competitive applications during grant cycles, while donor-advised grants cannot be applied for.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
1,174
Total Given
$92.9M
Air Products Foundation
Allentown, PA
Air Products Foundation funds tax-exempt organizations in education, welfare, community investment, culture, and the arts that benefit communities where Air Products employees live and work. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to nearly $3 million, with a median of $7,400. The filing directs applicants to an online form; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$77.2M
Grants
360
Total Given
$9.9M
Helios Education Foundation
Phoenix, AZ
Helios Education Foundation funds postsecondary education initiatives and related programs that improve outcomes for low-income and historically underrepresented students in Arizona and Florida. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,400 to $3,709,120, with a median of $40,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; funding is by invitation only.
Assets
$879.7M
Grants
78
Total Given
$19.5M
Thunderbirds Charities
Phoenix, AZ
Thunderbirds Charities funds Arizona nonprofits serving Maricopa and Pinal Counties, supporting children and families, education, community quality of life, people with physical or mental challenges, and efforts addressing domestic violence, homelessness, and poverty. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,321 to $1 million, with a median award of $34,055. It accepts applications through its website.
Assets
$11.3M
Grants
150
Total Given
$11.0M
Pivotal Foundation
Phoenix, AZ
Pivotal Foundation supports a varied mix of charitable organizations, including arts, education, health, public policy, and international affairs groups, with much of its giving going to Arizona and Washington, DC. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,624 to $310,000, with a median of $25,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$92.5M
Grants
53
Total Given
$2.7M
Honorhealth
Scottsdale, AZ
HonorHealth supports healthcare access, community health programs, education, social services, and related community-benefit work, primarily in the greater Phoenix area and Florence, Arizona. In 2024, its 18 reported grants ranged from $7,500 to $12 million, with a median of $26,375; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.8B
Grants
18
Total Given
$14.7M
Advanced Technology Alliance
Sausalito, CA
Advanced Technology Alliance supports efforts to promote advanced technology and innovation in transportation through advocacy, legislative action, and civic engagement. Its grants have varied, from $30,000 in 2025 to a total of $1,637,500 across 54 grants in 2023; the 2025 grant went to an organization in Washington, DC. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$396K
Grants
1
Total Given
$30K
Mercy Care
Phoenix, AZ
Mercy Care’s Mercy C.A.R.E.S. program funds Arizona nonprofits addressing health-related needs, including basic needs, health access, chronic conditions, and mental health and well-being. In 2025, grants ranged from $6,000 to $400,000, with a median of $50,250; it accepts requests through an eligibility questionnaire followed by a letter of intent.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
79
Total Given
$6.3M
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
The Allstate Foundation
Northbrook, IL
The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.
Assets
—
Grants
2,010
Total Given
$38.0M
More Funders in Illinois
Midwestern University down — hundreds of funders to go?