Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family
The Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family is a private foundation based in Camden, New Jersey. It provides educational scholarships, donations to registered 501(c)(3) organizations focused on pet-related issues, and support for other charitable, literary, scientific, and educational purposes.
Key facts about Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family
In short: Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family gave $3.1M across 124 grants in 2024 (avg $25K), mostly in New Jersey. 29% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 20-8140755
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $3,055,199
- Grants made (2024)
- 124
- Average grant
- $24,639
- Median grant
- $5,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 29% first-time grantees (36 of 124, 2024)
- Total assets
- $209,553
- Primary geography
- New Jersey (68% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- How to apply
- For college-tuition scholarships, the filing says an applicant must submit official high school transcripts, proof of acceptance to an undergraduate college or university, three one-page character references (including… Full details ↓
- Deadline
- No submission deadlines.
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$210K
-35.3% YoY
Annual Giving
$3.1M
+47.3% YoY
Grant Count
124
+17.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$25K
+25.9% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family reported a distributable amount of $2K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family open to new grantees?
29%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 36 of 124 grantees (29%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $6K; repeat grants $32K. How we count
Medians: $5K first-time, $6K repeat.
- 68% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving grew 111% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation’s stated purposes include providing educational scholarships, supporting registered 501(c)(3) organizations whose charitable purposes focus on pet-related issues, and making donations for other charitable, literary, scientific, and educational purposes.
Its 2024 grants included program support for animal-related organizations such as Best Friends Animal Society, PAWS, and St Croix Animal Welfare Center, as well as scholarships to universities. The grantees describe their work in their own terms: St Croix Animal Welfare Center says it provides shelter and care for animals and promotes humane treatment; the National Disaster Search Dog Foundation says it trains rescued dogs to work with first responders searching for people after disasters. Universities among the grantees describe educational, research, and student-support missions.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation reported 124 grants totaling $3,055,199. Grants ranged from $500 to $1,950,000, with a median of $5,000. The largest awards included $1,950,000 to The Michaels Organization Educational Foundation for program support, $200,000 to Best Friends Animal Society for program support, and $125,000 to PAWS for program support. Scholarship grants included $48,168 to Northwestern University, $37,615 to Georgia State University, and $25,032 to Drexel University.
Review Cycle
No submission deadlines.
How to Apply
For college-tuition scholarships, the filing says an applicant must submit official high school transcripts, proof of acceptance to an undergraduate college or university, three one-page character references (including at least one from a teacher), and an essay or presentation about the applicant’s expected field of study. The foundation may request additional information. Eligibility is limited to residents of low- and mid-income communities who meet the applicable household-income limits for their county and have at least a C or 2.0 cumulative GPA at the high school or college level. Scholarships are applied to one year of college tuition; a student may choose to use part of the award in the first year, with the remainder invested by the foundation on the student’s behalf for later use.
Ready to take the next step with Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2024, 68% of grant dollars went to recipients in New Jersey, 10% to Pennsylvania, and 7% to New York. Illinois and California each received 2%. The listed grants also included recipients in Georgia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Rhode Island.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 124 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $1.1M (2020) to $3.1M (2024). In 2024 it made 124 grants totaling $3.1M.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was The Michaels Organization Educational Foundation ($1.9M). Together the top 10 received $2.5M.
Organizations only. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($6,000), which are not listed by name.
Grant Size Distribution
548 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 530 grants of 548 (97%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| The Michaels Organization Educational Foundation Camden, NJ | Program Support | $1,950,000 |
| Best Friends Animal Society New York City, NY | Program Support | $200,000 |
| Paws Philadelphia, PA | Program Support | $125,000 |
| Northwestern University Evanston, IL | Scholarship | $48,168 |
| Georgia State University Atlanta, GA | Scholarship | $37,615 |
| Drexel University Philadelphia, PA | Scholarship | $25,032 |
| The Cooper Foundation Camden, NJ | Program Support | $25,000 |
| St Croix Animal Welfare Center Kingshill, VI | Program Support | $25,000 |
| Providence Animal Shelter Providence, RI | Program Support | $20,000 |
| Saint Joseph University Philadelphia, PA | Scholarship | $18,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $209,553 | $3,074,492 | $3,188,453 | $3,055,199 | 124 |
| 2023 | $323,814 | $2,254,807 | $2,193,871 | $2,074,096 | 106 |
| 2022 | $97,530 | $2,273,136 | $2,195,038 | $2,090,474 | 105 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $209,553 | $323,814 | $97,530 |
| Revenue | $3,074,492 | $2,254,807 | $2,273,136 |
| Expenses | $3,188,453 | $2,193,871 | $2,195,038 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $3,047,357 | $2,072,096 | $2,078,544 |
| Net Investment Income | $118,444 | $907 | $69,636 |
| Distributable Amount | $2,012 | $8,984 | $3,950 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Patricia Levitt as president, chairman, and treasurer; Michael J Levitt as executive vice president and secretary; and Andrew J Bocchino as vice president and assistant secretary. Paul Chan, Joseph Purcell, and Phoebe Washburn are listed as trustees.
Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family is led by Patricia Levitt, President, Chairman & Treasurer on every filing since 2020; none of the 6 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Patricia Levitt
President, Chairman & Treasurer
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Joseph Purcell
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Paul Chan
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Phoebe Washburn
Trustee
On filings since 2023
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Andrew J. Bocchino
V.p. & Assistant Secretary
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Michael J. Levitt
Executive Vice President & Secretary
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Pheobe Washburn (2020–2022) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Application contact: Mpl Family Foundation
Mailing address: PO Box 90708, Camden, NJ 08101
Phone: (896) 596-0500
Frequently asked questions about Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family
How much does Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family give each year?
Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family gave $3.1M across 124 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $2.1M across 106 grants.
What is Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family's typical grant size?
Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family's median grant in 2024 was $5,000, and its average grant was $24,639, across 124 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family that year got $6K on average.
Where does Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family give grants?
Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family gives mostly in New Jersey: 68% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Pennsylvania (10%) and New York (7%). The most frequent recipient cities were Philadelphia, PA (14 grants), Camden, NJ (4 grants), San Francisco, CA (2 grants) and Newburyport, MA (2 grants).
Does Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family give general operating support?
Not in 2024: none of the 124 grants with a stated purpose on Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (70 grants) and "Program Support" (54 grants).
Who are Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family's largest grantees?
Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family's largest 2024 grantees include The Michaels Organization Educational Foundation ($1,950,000), Best Friends Animal Society ($200,000) and Paws ($125,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($6,000), which are not listed by name. Together they received 74% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family?
Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family reported $210K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $3.0M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $2K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family fund?
The foundation’s stated purposes include providing educational scholarships, supporting registered 501(c)(3) organizations whose charitable purposes focus on pet-related issues, and making donations for other charitable, literary, scientific, and educational purposes. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family?
For college-tuition scholarships, the filing says an applicant must submit official high school transcripts, proof of acceptance to an undergraduate college or university, three one-page character references (including… Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family's EIN?
Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-8140755. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in New Jersey
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Tulsa Community Foundation
Tulsa, OK
Tulsa Community Foundation supports a broad range of charitable needs, including arts and humanities, healthcare, education, scholarships, emergency assistance, and endowments. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,560 and primarily benefited the Tulsa area and eastern Oklahoma, with grants also reaching elsewhere in the U.S.; it administers application cycles for selected funds.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
1,066
Total Given
$158.6M
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health-access initiatives for disproportionately affected populations, including cancer, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation, in the United States and internationally. In 2024, its median grant was $134,090, though awards varied widely; it says application materials are available upon request and advises organizations to contact it about the process, but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
Folds of Honor Foundation
Owasso, OK
Folds of Honor funds education scholarships for spouses and children of U.S. military service members and first responders killed or disabled in service, with awards available for K–12 and higher education in the United States and its territories. Awards are up to $5,000 per academic year, based on unmet need, and are paid directly to the school. It accepts scholarship applications through an online portal during its annual application window; it does not make grants to outside applicants.
Assets
$122.3M
Grants
1,551
Total Given
$37.6M
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Princeton, NJ
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation funds work to improve health and health equity in the United States, including health policy, community health, prevention, and social justice. In 2024, its grants ranged from $125 to $12.15 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to recipients across multiple states. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$13.4B
Grants
3,093
Total Given
$622.6M
Community Foundation of New Jersey
Morristown, NJ
The Community Foundation of New Jersey supports nonprofits and projects across arts, education, environment, health and human services, and social welfare. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of about $19,800, though awards varied widely; funding went to organizations in multiple states, with 32% of itemized grant dollars going to New Jersey. It accepts applications for specific opportunities, and its FAQ encourages eligible New Jersey 501(c)(3) nonprofits to apply; requirements vary by opportunity.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,321
Total Given
$93.8M
Crane Fund for Widows and Children
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
The Crane Fund for Widows and Children supports local charities, agencies, and schools addressing needs such as food insecurity, housing, education, health, environmental protection, and animal welfare in communities where Crane Company operates or its associates have connections. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,000 to $45,000, with a median of $4,500; it funds organizations in multiple states. The fund contributes only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.6M
Grants
985
Total Given
$4.5M
The Hyde and Watson Foundation
Warren Township, NJ
The Hyde and Watson Foundation funds one-time capital needs—such as construction, renovations, equipment, and furnishings—for eligible nonprofits working in human services, education, health, arts and culture, and the environment. Most grants are $5,000–$20,000, and it primarily serves New York City and Essex, Morris, and Union counties in New Jersey; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$88.2M
Grants
611
Total Given
$6.1M
Princeton Area Community Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
Princeton Area Community Foundation funds nonprofits working in education, basic needs, health, housing, arts, the environment, and nonprofit capacity, with priorities including poverty and the needs of children, families, and communities. Its 2024 median grant was $15,000, and its discretionary programs focus on Greater Mercer County and central New Jersey, though donor-recommended grants may support nonprofits elsewhere. Eligible regional nonprofits may apply through competitive programs such as the Community Impact Grants.
Assets
$279.6M
Grants
515
Total Given
$31.3M
Oceanfirst Foundation
Toms River, NJ
OceanFirst Foundation funds nonprofits working in economic stability, youth development, health and wellness, housing, education, and community quality of life, including scholarships, summer camps, and flexible support. It serves communities in OceanFirst Bank’s New Jersey footprint; 2025 grants ranged from $50 to $55,000, with a median of $2,200. It accepts unsolicited requests, and deadlines vary by program.
Assets
$6.1M
Grants
425
Total Given
$1.6M
Jewish Community Foundation of Greater Metrowest NJ
Whippany, NJ
The Jewish Community Foundation of Greater MetroWest NJ supports Jewish and broader-community causes, including local Jewish education, older-adult services, synagogue engagement, and specified needs in Israel; it also makes grants nationally and internationally. Its 2025 grants had a median of $17,400, while its local program offers up to $15,000–$20,000 depending on category. It accepts applications from eligible agencies and synagogues for its local program during a stated application period, and from qualifying organizations for Israel grants each spring.
Assets
$648.3M
Grants
407
Total Given
$29.3M
More Funders in New Jersey
Michael J and Patricia Levitt Family down — hundreds of funders to go?