Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust
The Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust is a private foundation based in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. It reported 24 grants totaling $33,800 in 2025; the listed grant purposes were scholarships.
Key facts about Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust
In short: Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust gave $34K across 24 grants in 2025 (avg $1K), mostly in Illinois. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 37-6129244
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $33,800
- Grants made (2025)
- 24
- Average grant
- $1,408
- Median grant
- $1,000
- Total assets
- $890,121
- Primary geography
- Illinois (61% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- How to apply
- The 2024 filing directs applicants to contact Mary Jo Janssen at US Bank NA for the application form and materials. Full details ↓
- Deadline
- The 2024 filing lists April of each year.
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$890K
+4.8% YoY
Annual Giving
$34K
+6.3% YoY
Grant Count
24
-7.7% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$1K
+15.1% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust reported a distributable amount of $50K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−11%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 84% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the trust is provided. Its 2025 filing lists scholarship as the purpose of its largest grants, including awards to SIUE, Illinois State University, the University of Illinois, and Greenville College.
Among its 2025 grantees, Greenville College described its mission as empowering students through a transforming Christ-centered education in the liberal arts, sciences, and professional studies. Millikin University said it prepares students for professional success, democratic citizenship, and a personal life of meaning and value. These are the grantees’ stated missions, not the trust’s.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the trust gave 24 grants totaling $33,800. Grants ranged from $200 to $7,500, with a median of $1,000. The largest awards included $7,500 to SIUE, $4,000 to Illinois State University, $3,500 to the University of Illinois, and $2,500 to Greenville College. Other listed awards included $1,500 each to Indiana University, Maryville University, the University of Missouri–Columbia, the University of Colorado–Boulder, and the University of Miami.
Review Cycle
The 2024 filing lists April of each year. The April 2026 cycle has passed; the filing does not confirm a later deadline.
Ready to take the next step with Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2024 filing identifies high school graduates residing in the Southern Illinois geographical area as eligible for scholarship awards. In 2025, 61% of grant dollars went to recipients in Illinois, 15% to Missouri, 4% each to Indiana, Colorado, and Florida. The filing also lists grants to recipients in other states.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 24 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2022 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $30K (2023) to $38K (2022). In 2025 it made 24 grants totaling $34K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Siue ($8K). Together the top 10 received $26K.
Organizations only. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($500), which are not listed by name.
Grant Size Distribution
101 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 101 grants of 101 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Siue Edwardsville, IL | Scholarship | $7,500 |
| Illinois State University Normal, IL | Scholarship | $4,000 |
| University of Illinois Champaign, IL | Scholarship | $3,500 |
| Greenville College Greenville, IL | Scholarship | $2,500 |
| Indiana University Bloomington, IN | Scholarship | $1,500 |
| Maryville University St. Louis, MO | Scholarship | $1,500 |
| University of Missouri - Columbia Columbia, MO | Scholarship | $1,500 |
| University of Colorado-Boulder Boulder, CO | Scholarship | $1,500 |
| University of Miami Coral Gables, FL | Scholarship | $1,500 |
| The University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI | Scholarship | $1,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $890,121 | $92,132 | $51,364 | $33,800 | 24 |
| 2024 | $849,355 | $58,329 | $47,574 | $31,800 | 26 |
| 2023 | $837,840 | $29,080 | $44,054 | $29,800 | 26 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $890,121 | $849,355 | $837,840 |
| Revenue | $92,132 | $58,329 | $29,080 |
| Expenses | $51,364 | $47,574 | $44,054 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $41,927 | $39,279 | $36,874 |
| Net Investment Income | $83,719 | $48,914 | $21,900 |
| Distributable Amount | $49,813 | $46,758 | $43,795 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2022–2025
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists US Bank N A as trustee.
Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust's only listed officer is US Bank N A, Trustee on every filing since 2023 (compensated).
Officers on the 2025 filing
US Bank N A
Trustee
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
$14K (2023) → $16K (2025)
Former officers (1)
- Former: US Bank (2022) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2022–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $16K, to US Bank N a (Trustee).
Contact
Application contact: Mary Jo Janssen Us Bank Na
Mailing address: 205 S 5Th PO Box 19264, Springfield, IL 62794-9264
Phone: (217) 753-7362
Frequently asked questions about Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust
How much does Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust give each year?
Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust gave $34K across 24 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $32K across 26 grants.
What is Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust's typical grant size?
Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust's median grant in 2025 was $1,000, and its average grant was $1,408, across 24 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust give grants?
Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust gives mostly in Illinois: 61% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Missouri (15%). The most frequent recipient cities were Morrisonville, IL (3 grants) and Saint Louis, MO (2 grants).
Does Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 24 grants with a stated purpose on Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (24 grants).
Who are Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust's largest grantees?
Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust's largest 2025 grantees include Siue ($7,500), Illinois State University ($4,000) and University of Illinois ($3,500), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($500), which are not listed by name. Together they received 44% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust?
Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust reported $890K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $42K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $50K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust fund?
No mission statement for the trust is provided. Its 2025 filing lists scholarship as the purpose of its largest grants, including awards to SIUE, Illinois State University, the University of Illinois, and Greenville College. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust?
The 2024 filing directs applicants to contact Mary Jo Janssen at US Bank NA for the application form and materials. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust's EIN?
Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 37-6129244. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2022–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Tulsa Community Foundation
Tulsa, OK
Tulsa Community Foundation supports a broad range of charitable needs, including arts and humanities, healthcare, education, scholarships, emergency assistance, and endowments. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,560 and primarily benefited the Tulsa area and eastern Oklahoma, with grants also reaching elsewhere in the U.S.; it administers application cycles for selected funds.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
1,066
Total Given
$158.6M
Culver's Foundation Inc
Prairie Du Sac, WI
The foundation funds community needs, youth and families, local initiatives, and scholarships for Culver’s team members, with a strong local focus in Wisconsin and grants also reaching other states. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,500 to $250,000, with a median of $10,000. It accepts applications through an online process and does not restrict giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$8.1M
Grants
83
Total Given
$1.3M
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD
Johns Hopkins University funds education, research, clinical practice, and related programs, with many large awards listed as sub-awards; its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000. Grants went mainly to recipients in California and Maryland, among other states, but no geographic restriction or policy on unsolicited requests is stated.
Assets
$25.3B
Grants
813
Total Given
$594.1M
American Heart Association Inc
Dallas, TX
The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational, population, and other research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular, and brain health, mainly through research awards to eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,000 to $9.9 million, with a median award of $20,000. Applications are submitted through designated programs; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$2.0B
Grants
833
Total Given
$198.2M
The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$218.3M
Grants
1,431
Total Given
$47.9M
Lord Educational Fund
Eagan, MN
The Lord Educational Fund primarily supports colleges and universities, with many grants designated for scholarships; in 2025, grants ranged from $3,000 to $30,000, with a median of $5,500. Most funding went to Illinois, with additional grants in Missouri, Kansas, Alabama, and Indiana. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations; contact Deborah Jostes for application materials and deadlines.
Assets
$3.9M
Grants
23
Total Given
$188K
American Chemical Society
Washington, DC
The American Chemical Society funds chemical sciences research, education, students, educators, and chemistry-related projects, with grants to organizations across the United States and, through the Petroleum Research Fund, eligible institutions abroad. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,200 to $504,691, with a median of $31,252; specific programs offer awards from up to $3,500 to $80,000. The profile does not state whether ACS accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.2B
Grants
341
Total Given
$22.4M
The Simons Foundation Inc
New York, NY
The Simons Foundation funds research in mathematics and the basic sciences, as well as autism and other disease research, through grants to research centers, universities, and related organizations. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,480 to $20 million, with a median of $72,000; funding is concentrated in New York, California, and Massachusetts, with awards also made elsewhere in the U.S. and internationally. Whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$4.5B
Grants
1,727
Total Given
$272.0M
Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing
Appleton, WI
Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing distributes donor-directed and program donations to a broad range of causes and organizations in local, national, and global communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $11,520 and ranged from $5,006 to $5 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$939.7M
Grants
2,565
Total Given
$84.6M
Alliant Energy Foundation Inc
Madison, WI
Assets
$28.5M
Grants
929
Total Given
$2.4M
Greater Milwaukee Foundation Inc
Milwaukee, WI
The Greater Milwaukee Foundation funds nonprofits working on regional needs such as education, housing, basic needs, health, arts and culture, and small business, with an emphasis on racial equity. Most 2024 grants were relatively modest (median $27,778), though amounts ranged from $5,017 to $4.56 million; its competitive cycles serve organizations in Milwaukee, Waukesha, Ozaukee and Washington counties. It accepts applications through competitive grant cycles held three times a year.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
838
Total Given
$66.8M
More Funders in Wisconsin
Louis and Temple Marsch Charitable Trust down — hundreds of funders to go?