Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Reston, VA EIN: 87-4036038

The Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation is a private foundation based in Reston, Virginia. Its 2024 filing is marked as the organization’s final return, indicating that it appears to have wound down or stopped grantmaking.

Key facts about Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation

In short: Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation gave $1.1M across 15 grants in 2024 (avg $71K), mostly in Rhode Island. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
87-4036038
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$1,059,921
Grants made (2024)
15
Average grant
$70,661
Median grant
$3,500
Primary geography
Rhode Island (96% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation stated that it does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

—

-100.0% YoY

Annual Giving

$1.1M

+2617.7% YoY

Grant Count

15

+15.4% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$71K

+2255.4% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation reported a distributable amount of $46K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation gives

  • 73% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The foundation’s filing describes its program as “fair market value of securities donated in excess of book value”; it does not state a mission. Its grants went to organizations whose missions span several areas. For example, CUREPSP says it works to raise awareness, build community, improve care, and find a cure for PSP, CBD, and MSA. Placer Land Trust says it protects and cares for natural and agricultural lands in Placer County, while WEAVE says it supports survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence, and sex trafficking. Other 2024 recipients include a university, youth winter sports and band-support organizations, and an educational endowment fund.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2024, the foundation reported 15 grants totaling $1,059,921. Grant amounts ranged from $1,000 to $1,016,421, with a median of $3,500. Its largest listed grant was $1,016,421 to Vanguard Charitable Endowment Program for general support. Other listed grants included $4,000 each to CUREPSP, Placer County Food Bank, Placer Land Trust, The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, Truckee Donner Land Trust, and WEAVE; and $3,500 to Lawrence University of Wisconsin. The filing marks 2024 as the foundation’s final return.

How to Apply

or materials.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The 2024 grants were distributed among recipients in Rhode Island (96% of grant dollars), California (2%), Wisconsin (1%), New York (1%), and Nevada (0%, as reported). The largest grant went to an organization in Rhode Island.

Grant Distribution by State

6states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 15 itemized grants.

Cities

KielNew YorkSacramentoGranite BayAppletonAuburnRosevilleSoda SpringsTruckeeIncline VillageWarwickWashington

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M0 grants2021 0 grants2022 13 grants2023 15 grants2024

From 2023 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $39K (2023) to $1.1M (2024). In 2024 it made 15 grants totaling $1.1M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Vanguard Charitable Endowment Program: $1.0MVanguard Charitable EndowmentProgram$1.0MCurepsp: $4KCurepsp$4KPlacer County Food Bank: $4KPlacer County Food Bank$4KPlacer Land Trust: $4KPlacer Land Trust$4KThe Leukemia & Lymphoma Society: $4KThe Leukemia & LymphomaSociety$4KTruckee Donner Land Trust: $4KTruckee Donner Land Trust$4KWeave Inc: $4KWeave Inc$4KLawrence University of Wisconsin: $4KLawrence University ofWisconsin$4KAuburn Ski Club Associates Inc: $3KAuburn Ski Club Associates Inc$3KEmerald Brigade Support Organization: $3KEmerald Brigade SupportOrganization$3K

The largest 2024 recipient was Vanguard Charitable Endowment Program ($1.0M). Together the top 10 received $1.0M.

Grant Size Distribution

28 grants across all recorded years

27<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M1$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 27 grants of 28 (96%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Vanguard Charitable Endowment Program Warwick, RIGeneral Support$1,016,421
Curepsp New York, NYGeneral Support$4,000
Placer County Food Bank Roseville, CAGeneral Support$4,000
Placer Land Trust Auburn, CAGeneral Support$4,000
The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society New York, NYGeneral Support$4,000
Truckee Donner Land Trust Truckee, CAGeneral Support$4,000
Weave Inc Sacramento, CAGeneral Support$4,000
Lawrence University of Wisconsin Appleton, WIGeneral Support$3,500
Auburn Ski Club Associates Inc Soda Springs, CAGeneral Support$3,000
Emerald Brigade Support Organization Granite Bay, CAGeneral Support$3,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2024 Not stated $45,042 $1,075,994 $1,059,921 (15 grants)
2023 $1,007,075 $49,386 $51,480 $39,000 (13 grants)
2022 $1,009,169 $26,168 $17,000 0 grants

The 2024 filing reports a grant total of $1,059,921; the 2022 filing reports zero grants.

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$500K$1M$1.5M2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets—$1,007,075$1,009,169
Revenue$45,042$49,386$26,168
Expenses$1,075,994$51,480$17,000
Qualifying Distributions$1,066,566$45,514$6,500
Net Investment Income$42,082$46,986$14,768
Distributable Amount$45,639$49,168$48,960

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists David Klaeser as president, secretary, and director, and Lisa Futch as treasurer and director.

Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation is led by David Klaeser, President, Secretary & Director on every filing since 2021; none of the 2 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • David Klaeser

    President, Secretary & Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lisa Futch

    Treasurer & Director

    Treasury & Director → Treasurer & Director, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: 12030 Sunrise Valley Drive 450, Reston, VA 20191
Phone: (703) 437-9720

Frequently asked questions about Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation

How much does Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation give each year?

Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation gave $1.1M across 15 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $39K across 13 grants.

What is Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation's typical grant size?

Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $3,500, and its average grant was $70,661, across 15 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation give grants?

Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation gives mostly in Rhode Island: 96% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were New York, NY (2 grants), Granite Bay, CA (2 grants), Kiel, WI (2 grants) and Sacramento, CA (2 grants).

Does Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (15 of 15) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation's largest grantees?

Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Vanguard Charitable Endowment Program ($1,016,421), Curepsp ($4,000) and Placer County Food Bank ($4,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 97% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

What does Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation fund?

The foundation’s filing describes its program as “fair market value of securities donated in excess of book value”; it does not state a mission. Its grants went to organizations whose missions span several areas. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation?

The foundation stated that it does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

How much is Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation required to give away each year?

Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2024, Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation reported a distributable amount of $46K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

What is Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation's EIN?

Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 87-4036038. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2024.

Does Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Silicon Valley Community Foundation

Mountain View, CA

Silicon Valley Community Foundation funds work in areas such as housing, economic security, education, health, the environment, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with Community Action Grants supporting local, community-led organizations in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $51,716, though amounts varied widely; applications depend on the program, and SVCF states that it does not accept unsolicited proposals for advised funds.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.3B

Grants

3,576

Total Given

$3.2B

Sacramento Region Community Foundation

Sacramento, CA

The Sacramento Region Community Foundation supports nonprofits through grants and capacity-building, with priorities including health equity, food access, mental health, and education. It serves El Dorado, Placer, Sacramento, and Yolo counties; program-specific grants range from $500 to $10,000, though giving varies by fund. It lists funding opportunities through an online grants portal, but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$257.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$26.6M

Greater Horizons

Kansas City, MO

Greater Horizons is a donor-advised fund provider whose donor-directed grants support eligible U.S. public charities across a broad range of causes; international organizations may also qualify with additional review and fees. In 2024, grants had a median of $15,000, with itemized awards ranging from $5,001 to $10,073,050, and recipients were located across the United States, especially in California, Texas, Nebraska, New York, and Kansas. It describes a grant-request process for donors, not an application process for organizations, so unsolicited requests are not stated as accepted.

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

3,282

Total Given

$212.2M

Jack Kent Cooke Foundation

Lansdowne, VA

The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds education for exceptionally promising students with financial need, through student scholarships and grants to organizations serving them. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; 86% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients, with others across multiple states and Washington, D.C. The available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited organizational requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$940.1M

Grants

1,419

Total Given

$25.1M

Donors Trust Inc

Alexandria, VA

Donors Trust supports charities and programs in social welfare, health, the environment, economics, governance, foreign relations, and arts and culture, with a strong emphasis on conservative and libertarian policy and education groups. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, though awards ranged from $5,038 to $35 million, and recipients were concentrated in Washington, D.C., Virginia, New York, Texas, and California. It does not accept unsolicited requests; donor-advisors recommend grants through their accounts.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

919

Total Given

$282.1M

The Community Foundation Inc

Richmond, VA

The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, as well as other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from $5,100 to $1.795 million; most funding went to Virginia, especially the Richmond area. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$852.4M

Grants

917

Total Given

$61.8M

America's Charities

Chantilly, VA

America’s Charities distributes workplace-giving contributions to member nonprofits working in areas such as education, health, hunger, human rights, and disaster relief; it also manages emergency assistance for eligible employees. In 2024, reported grants ranged from $5,017 to $1,379,226, with a median of $9,674, and recipients were concentrated in California, Virginia, D.C., Maryland, and Pennsylvania. These disbursements are donor-directed contributions rather than competitive grants; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$36.2M

Grants

808

Total Given

$16.4M

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation

Richmond, VA

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within Dominion’s operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000. It accepts online applications during spring and fall grant cycles.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

—

Grants

773

Total Given

$16.4M

Foster Foundation

Brookneal, VA

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$18.6M

Grants

686

Total Given

$1.3M

JT-Minnie Maude Charitable Trust

Danville, VA

The J.T.–Minnie Maude Charitable Trust funds tax-exempt organizations and government agencies for a wide range of projects that improve quality of life for residents of Danville and/or Pittsylvania County, Virginia. Its 2025 grants had a median of $2,000 and ranged from $500 to $220,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through an online application, with an annual August 1 deadline.

Assets

$51.2M

Grants

678

Total Given

$2.3M

More Funders in Virginia

Lisa and David Klaeser Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?