Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust

Private foundation · Grantmaker West Mansfield, OH EIN: 34-7044702

Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust is a private foundation, based in West Mansfield, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.2M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 6 grants totaling $77K. Net investment income was $83K.

Key facts about Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust

In short: Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust gave $77K across 6 grants in 2025 (avg $13K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
34-7044702
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$77,000
Grants made (2025)
6
Average grant
$12,833
Median grant
$2,250
Total assets
$1,203,554
Primary geography
Ohio (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$1.2M

+0.5% YoY

Annual Giving

$77K

+32.0% YoY

Grant Count

6

-33.3% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$13K

+98.0% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust reported a distributable amount of $66K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust gives

  • Giving grew 46% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 116% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.

States

Cities

West MansfieldBellefontaineRushsylvaniaCincinnatiColumbusMarysvilleCirclevilleOxfordQuincySistersWest Liberty

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$25K$50K$75K$100K7 grants2020 8 grants2021 9 grants2022 5 grants2023 9 grants2024 6 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $46K (2021) to $82K (2023). In 2025 it made 6 grants totaling $77K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 6 recipients in 2025

Rush Church Community Growth Program: $60KRush Church Community GrowthProgram$60KPDPH Youth Equestrian Scholarship: $10KPDPH Youth EquestrianScholarship$10KOSU Bursar Ackley Scholarship: $3KOSU Bursar Ackley Scholarship$3KLogan County Education Foundation: $2KLogan County EducationFoundation$2KLogan County Land Trust: $2KLogan County Land Trust$2KBen Logan Athletic Boosters: $500Ben Logan Athletic Boosters$500

The largest 2025 recipient was Rush Church Community Growth Program ($60K). Together the top 6 received $77K.

Grant Size Distribution

37 grants across all recorded years

35<$50K2$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 35 grants of 37 (95%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Rush Church Community Growth Program Rushsylvania, OHFinancial Aid$60,000
PDPH Youth Equestrian Scholarship West Liberty, OHFinancial Aid$10,000
OSU Bursar Ackley Scholarship Columbus, OHFinancial Aid$2,500
Logan County Education Foundation Bellefontaine, OHFinancial Aid$2,000
Logan County Land Trust Bellefontaine, OHFinancial Aid$2,000
Ben Logan Athletic Boosters Bellefontaine, OHFinancial Aid$500

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$50K$100K$150K$200K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$1,203,554$1,197,810$1,190,427
Revenue$118,957$100,323$16,240
Expenses$113,213$92,940$116,706
Qualifying Distributions$77,000$58,320$82,200
Net Investment Income$82,744$65,703—
Distributable Amount$66,204$63,895$62,523

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust is led by Valerie Stanley, Trustee on every filing since 2020 — the only officer listed, and compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Valerie Stanley

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    $14K (2020) → $14K (2025)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Valerie Stanley — Trustee: $14KValerie StanleyTrustee$14K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $14K, to Valerie Stanley (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust

How much does Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust give each year?

Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust gave $77K across 6 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $58K across 9 grants.

What is Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust's typical grant size?

Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust's median grant in 2025 was $2,250, and its average grant was $12,833, across 6 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust give grants?

Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust gives mostly in Ohio: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Bellefontaine, OH (3 grants).

Does Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 6 grants with a stated purpose on Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Financial Aid" (6 grants).

Who are Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust's largest grantees?

Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust's largest 2025 grantees include Rush Church Community Growth Program ($60,000), PDPH Youth Equestrian Scholarship ($10,000) and OSU Bursar Ackley Scholarship ($2,500), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 94% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust?

Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust reported $1.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $77K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $66K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust's EIN?

Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-7044702. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Columbus Foundation

Columbus, OH

The Columbus Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including arts and culture, education, youth, neighborhoods, basic needs, and capacity building, with a median 2024 grant of about $21,500. Its focus is Central Ohio, though it also funds organizations elsewhere; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

1,747

Total Given

$242.7M

Berry Marie D FD H PFDN

Brooklyn, OH

The foundation primarily funds scholarships to educational institutions, with occasional general operating support; its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $28,450, with a median of $2,550. It gives mainly in Ohio, with smaller amounts in nearby states, and directs applicants to the Marie Berry Scholarship Form on the Hancock County Educational Service Center website; requests are due March 31.

Assets

$2.6M

Grants

25

Total Given

$119K

Oscar & Hildegard Thiele Scholarship Fund

Columbus, OH

The fund supported college scholarships, primarily in Ohio, with 91% of its 2025 grant dollars going to Ohio recipients. Its 18 final-year grants totaled $44,500, ranging from $500 to $9,500; the foundation reported a final distribution and termination, so it does not appear to be accepting requests.

Assets

—

Grants

18

Total Given

$45K

The Dayton Foundation

Dayton, OH

The Dayton Foundation supports nonprofit projects in areas such as education, arts and culture, health, human services and the environment that benefit Greater Dayton. Greenlight grants range from $500 to $7,500, discretionary grants are above $7,500 and up to $75,000, and its 2025 grant median was $14,550. Organizations can apply through its grants portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$771.2M

Grants

589

Total Given

$32.6M

Eberly Da & TB Scholarship Ta

Brooklyn, OH

The foundation funds scholarships for deserving graduates of Canton City or North Canton City public high schools who attend colleges or technical schools. In 2025, it awarded 15 grants totaling $70,800, ranging from $2,500 to $11,975; most funding went to Ohio recipients. The filing lists an application and contact but does not say whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$1.2M

Grants

15

Total Given

$71K

Ohio Child Care Resource and Referral Association

Columbus, OH

OCCRRA funds Ohio organizations serving child care, early learning, and youth development, including through program-specific stabilization and access grants. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,960 to $50,970, with a median of $30,060. Organizations apply for assistance and are reviewed against program criteria; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the information provided.

Assets

$6.3M

Grants

4

Total Given

$118K

Community Foundations Inc

Columbus, OH

Community Foundations Inc funds organizations improving community quality of life, with 2024 grants spanning social services, conservation, neighborhood development, education, and health. Its grants ranged from $5,446 to $250,000, with a median of $10,000; most funding went to Ohio, though it also supported recipients in Missouri, Virginia, Kansas, and Florida. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$77.6M

Grants

106

Total Given

$2.6M

The Foundation of the Catholic Diocese of Columbus

Columbus, OH

The Catholic Foundation of Ohio funds religious, educational, and charitable work supporting Catholic parishes, education, vocations, and ministries, primarily within the 23-county Diocese of Columbus. In 2025, its median grant was $20,000, with awards ranging from $5,132 to $1,717,576. It accepts online responsive grant applications in September from eligible parishes, schools, and certain invited organizations; it does not make grants to individuals.

Assets

$289.0M

Grants

235

Total Given

$12.6M

Garciajs Scholarship Trust

Columbus, OH

Assets

$137K

Grants

3

Total Given

$2K

The Troy Foundation

Troy, OH

The Troy Foundation funds arts and culture, education, health and human services, youth development, environmental protection, community beautification, and emergency assistance for nonprofits. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,310 to $2,438,051, with a median of $22,806; its giving includes Troy and nearby communities, as well as recipients elsewhere in Ohio. Unsolicited requests are not addressed generally, though some specific programs invite eligible organizations to inquire or apply.

Assets

$159.1M

Grants

141

Total Given

$9.1M

Ella Weiss Educational Fund

Columbus, OH

The Ella Weiss Educational Fund provides scholarships to Ohio residents under 23 who attend an Ohio educational institution. In 2025, it awarded 16 grants totaling $7,175, ranging from $175 to $2,450. Applicants are instructed to request a printed application; the fund does not restrict giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$621K

Grants

16

Total Given

$7K

Culver's Foundation Inc

Prairie Du Sac, WI

The foundation funds community needs, youth and families, local initiatives, and scholarships for Culver’s team members, with a strong local focus in Wisconsin and grants also reaching other states. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,500 to $250,000, with a median of $10,000. It accepts applications through an online process and does not restrict giving to preselected organizations.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$8.1M

Grants

83

Total Given

$1.3M

More Funders in Ohio

Lewis and Dorothy Tamplin Trust down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?