Lavelle Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Pittsburgh, PA EIN: 83-2435707

Lavelle Family Foundation is a private foundation, based in Pittsburgh, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $4.9M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 8 grants totaling $300K. Net investment income was $219K.

Lavelle Family Foundation at a glance

In short: Lavelle Family Foundation gave $300K across 8 grants in 2025 (avg $38K), mostly in Colorado. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$300,000
+0.2% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
8
-27.3% vs 2024
Average grant
$37,500
+37.7% vs 2024
Median grant
$10,000
Total assets
$4,911,301
-2.0% vs 2024
Primary geography
Colorado (63% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Lavelle Family Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 8 recipients in 2025

Craig Hospital Foundation: $188KCraig Hospital Foundation$188KCanine Companions for Independence: $50KCanine Companions forIndependence$50KRed Wiggler Foundation Inc: $32KRed Wiggler Foundation Inc$32KSanta Clara University: $10KSanta Clara University$10KUS Catholic Sisters Against Human Traffi: $10KUS Catholic Sisters AgainstHuman Traffi$10KGreen City Force: $8KGreen City Force$8KPittsburgh Mercy Health System: $3KPittsburgh Mercy Health System$3KCatholic Community Services of Utah: $500Catholic Community Services ofUtah$500

The largest 2025 recipient was Craig Hospital Foundation ($188K). Together the top 8 received $300K.

Grant Size Distribution

67 grants across all recorded years

56<$50K8$50–100K2$100–250K1$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 56 grants of 67 (84%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

12states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 8 itemized grants.

Cities

PittsburghBrooklynAustinClarksburgSanta ClaraSanta RosaEnglewoodExtonOgdenSaint LouisWashingtonBaltimoreChicagoBronxCraigFair OaksGermantownHomesteadLos AngelesMcKeesport

How Lavelle Family Foundation gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−1%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 105% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K6 grants2020 13 grants2021 19 grants2022 16 grants2023 11 grants2024 8 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $121K (2020) to $403K (2023). In 2025 it made 8 grants totaling $300K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Craig Hospital Foundation Englewood, COGeneral Operating$187,500
Canine Companions for Independence Santa Rosa, CAGeneral Operating$50,000
Red Wiggler Foundation Inc Clarksburg, MDGeneral Operating$32,000
Santa Clara University Santa Clara, CAGeneral Operating$10,000
US Catholic Sisters Against Human Traffi Saint Louis, MOGeneral Operating$10,000
Green City Force Brooklyn, NYGeneral Operating$7,500
Pittsburgh Mercy Health System Pittsburgh, PAGeneral Operating$2,500
Catholic Community Services of Utah Salt Lake City, UTGeneral Operating$500
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Lavelle Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$4,911,301$250,068$349,032$300,0008$315,602$219,089$301,619
2024$5,009,797$168,351$345,057$299,50011$314,436$138,663$288,797
2023$5,178,961$7,531$471,526$403,00016$440,869$100,819$268,355
2022$5,651,458$157,794$342,802$303,00019$314,663$134,537$274,362
2021$5,836,328$631,887$260,127$226,50013$238,405$526,625$307,924
2020$5,464,558$256,124$264,248$121,0006—$235,569$256,916

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Lavelle Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $302K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Lavelle Family Foundation is led by Amy J. Lavelle, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Amy J. Lavelle

    President

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Mark L. Lavelle

    Vice President

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Nancy L. Lavelle

    Secretary & Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Lavelle Family Foundation

How much does Lavelle Family Foundation give each year?

Lavelle Family Foundation gave $300K across 8 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $300K across 11 grants.

What is Lavelle Family Foundation's typical grant size?

Lavelle Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $10,000, and its average grant was $37,500, across 8 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Lavelle Family Foundation give grants?

Lavelle Family Foundation gives mostly in Colorado: 63% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were California (20%) and Maryland (11%).

Does Lavelle Family Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of Lavelle Family Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (8 of 8) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Lavelle Family Foundation's largest grantees?

Lavelle Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Craig Hospital Foundation ($187,500), Canine Companions for Independence ($50,000) and Red Wiggler Foundation Inc ($32,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 90% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Lavelle Family Foundation?

Lavelle Family Foundation reported $4.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $316K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $302K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Lavelle Family Foundation's EIN?

Lavelle Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 83-2435707. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 13, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 6, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 10, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 6, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 10, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 6, 2026)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Lavelle Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Duke Energy Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce and local economic development, disaster resilience, conservation, clean water, and economic opportunity in North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000; applications for grants of $20,000 or less are accepted year-round, after applicants discuss proposals with a state representative.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$25.6M

Aetna Foundation Inc

Hartford, CT

Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.

Assets

—

Grants

65

Total Given

$7.2M

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

United Way Worldwide

Alexandria, VA

United Way Worldwide funds community programs focused on youth opportunity, health, financial security, education, and disaster relief, with 2024 grants made across multiple U.S. states and internationally. Its 209 reported grants ranged from $5,100 to $736,333, with a median of $22,675. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$68.0M

Grants

209

Total Given

$11.4M

Synchrony Foundation

Stamford, CT

In 2024, Synchrony Foundation supported charitable organizations across workforce development, education, financial assistance, and giving, with grants ranging from $150 to $2.6 million and a median of $10,000. Its largest shares of grant funding went to Connecticut, New York, and South Carolina, followed by the District of Columbia and New Jersey; it does not accept unsolicited requests and funds preselected organizations only.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$72.3M

Grants

394

Total Given

$20.5M

More similar funders

More Funders in Pennsylvania

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Lavelle Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Lavelle Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?