KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First
KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First is a private foundation based in Raleigh, North Carolina. Its 2025 filing reports grants to charitable organizations in several states, including organizations working with youth, education, and other charitable purposes.
KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First at a glance
In short: KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First gave $333K across 10 grants in 2025 (avg $33K), top state Illinois. 0% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $333,104
- +7.3% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 10
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $33,310
- +7.3% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $27,500
- Total assets
- $5,992,102
- +0.4% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 0% first-time grantees (0 of 10, 2025; small sample)
- Primary geography
- Illinois (35% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to Apply
-
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.
- Contact
Mailing address: PO Box 29522, Raleigh, NC 27626
Phone: (704) 338-4396
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Juvenile Protection Association ($70K). Together the top 10 received $333K.
Grant Size Distribution
50 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 39 grants of 50 (78%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2025 grants went to organizations in Illinois, Nebraska, North Carolina, Colorado, Georgia, and Michigan. Illinois received 35% of grant dollars, Nebraska 21%, North Carolina 15%, Colorado 13%, and Georgia 9%; the remaining share went to Michigan.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 10 itemized grants.
Cities
Is KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First open to new grantees?
0%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 0 of 10 grantees (0%) were first-time recipients. With only 10 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 10 points. How we count
- 90% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−7%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 93% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $292K (2020) to $360K (2022). In 2025 it made 10 grants totaling $333K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Juvenile Protection Association Chicago, IL | General Funding | $70,000 |
| Abccm Asheville, NC | General Funding | $50,000 |
| The Hope Center Inc Omaha, NE | General Funding | $50,000 |
| Compassion International Colorado Springs, CO | General Funding | $43,104 |
| Chalmers Center Lookout Mountain, GA | General Purpose | $30,000 |
| Chicago Lights Chicago, IL | General Funding | $25,000 |
| Calvin University Grand Rapids, MI | General Purpose | $25,000 |
| Omaha Street School Omaha, NE | General Funding | $20,000 |
| Tutoring Chicago Chicago, IL | General Funding | $15,000 |
| Math Circles of Chicago Chicago, IL | General Purpose | $5,000 |
Ready to take the next step with KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $5,992,102 | $423,051 | $395,321 | $333,104 | 10 | $333,104 | $367,120 | $358,011 |
| 2024 | $5,968,687 | $519,577 | $368,018 | $310,435 | 10 | $310,435 | $463,673 | $335,987 |
| 2023 | $5,806,833 | $209,989 | $369,138 | $319,505 | 10 | $319,505 | $149,745 | $307,160 |
| 2022 | $5,965,105 | $189,270 | $429,602 | $360,000 | 10 | $360,000 | $136,266 | $319,708 |
| 2021 | $6,224,577 | $815,714 | $374,423 | $310,505 | 10 | $310,505 | $758,180 | $359,797 |
| 2020 | $5,776,763 | $340,671 | $342,519 | $291,989 | 9 | — | $287,918 | $310,505 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First reported a distributable amount of $358K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for organizations whose missions include youth services and education. For example, Chicago Lights says it builds brighter futures for Chicago’s youth and adults through supportive relationships and programs; Omaha Street School says it serves at-risk youth with personalized education and tools for self-sufficiency; and Tutoring Chicago says it provides one-to-one tutoring. Calvin University describes its mission as equipping students to think deeply, act justly, and live wholeheartedly as Christ’s agents of renewal.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2025, the foundation gave $333,104 through 10 grants. Grant amounts ranged from $5,000 to $70,000, with a median grant of $27,500. The largest grants included $70,000 to Juvenile Protection Association, $50,000 each to ABCCM and The Hope Center Inc, and $43,104 to Compassion International. Other grants included $30,000 to Chalmers Center, $25,000 each to Chicago Lights and Calvin University, $20,000 to Omaha Street School, $15,000 to Tutoring Chicago, and $5,000 to Math Circles of Chicago. The filing lists the purposes as general funding or general purpose.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Karen H Hollingsworth as a director.
KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First is led by Karen H. Hollingsworth, Director on every filing since 2020 — the only officer listed, and uncompensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Karen H. Hollingsworth
Director
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First
How much does KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First give each year?
KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First gave $333K across 10 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $310K across 10 grants.
What is KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First's typical grant size?
KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First's median grant in 2025 was $27,500, and its average grant was $33,310, across 10 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First give grants?
KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First's top state is Illinois, with 35% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Nebraska (21%) and North Carolina (15%). The most frequent recipient cities were Chicago, IL (4 grants) and Omaha, NE (2 grants).
Does KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (10 of 10) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First's largest grantees?
KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First's largest 2025 grantees include Juvenile Protection Association ($70,000), Abccm ($50,000) and The Hope Center Inc ($50,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 51% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First?
KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First reported $6.0M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $333K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $358K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for organizations whose missions include youth services and education. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First?
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First's EIN?
KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-5831657. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 4, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 9, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS July 25, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 10, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS June 6, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 11, 2026)
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in North Carolina
AbbVie Foundation
North Chicago, IL
The AbbVie Foundation funds health equity, access to care, cancer care, community health, and related community-led programs through partnerships and employee initiatives. Its 2025 grants ranged from $8,000 to $15 million, with a median of $25,000; it supports work worldwide, with the largest share of recent grants going to Illinois. It makes grants only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$265.6M
Grants
65
Total Given
$47.1M
The Hawks Foundation
Omaha, NE
The Hawks Foundation’s stated focus is higher education and ethical business practices, with recent grants also supporting education, mental health, arts, healthcare, legal aid, and community programs. In 2024, its median grant was $40,000, with awards ranging from $1,000 to nearly $6.95 million; 76% of grant dollars went to Nebraska and 22% to New York. The filing describes application procedures for scholarship and medical program applicants but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.
Assets
$413.1M
Grants
141
Total Given
$32.6M
Lohengrin Foundation Inc
Chicago, IL
The foundation funds educational equity, social justice, systems change, and Chicago youth and community centers, with a typical grant of about $50,000 (its 2024 median). It prioritizes Chicago, the Boston metropolitan area, and Boston Gateway Cities; other regions are considered by invitation only. It does not accept unsolicited requests and considers applications through active RFPs.
Assets
$18.1M
Grants
73
Total Given
$6.5M
Christian Community Foundation Inc
Colorado Springs, CO
WaterStone supports domestic and international nonprofits, including Christian ministries and charitable and educational organizations, through donor-directed grants; eligible organizations must be IRS-recognized 501(c)(3)s whose mission aligns with its Statement of Faith. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, with awards ranging from $5,028 to $11 million, and were concentrated in Texas and Colorado. Grant recommendations come from donor-advised fund holders; the profile does not state that it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$746.4M
Grants
1,651
Total Given
$161.8M
State Employees Credit Union Foundation
Raleigh, NC
The foundation funds capital projects, regional or statewide programs, and organizational capacity building that strengthen North Carolina communities; it favors projects with broad or replicable impact and does not fund operating budgets or shortfalls. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,250 to $1 million, with a median of $2,500. Applications are accepted at any time and typically reviewed semiannually.
Assets
$61.0M
Grants
1,806
Total Given
$17.4M
Foundation for the Carolinas
Charlotte, NC
Foundation For The Carolinas funds education and youth development, environmental and wildlife work, health and human services, and animal welfare, with a reported median grant of $25,000 in 2024. Its competitive programs focus on Charlotte-Mecklenburg, the Carolinas, and specific local communities, while donor-advised funds may support eligible nonprofits more broadly; it accepts applications for some competitive grants, but most grants are recommended by fund advisors and have no application process.
Assets
$3.9B
Grants
1,605
Total Given
$609.1M
More similar funders
More Funders in North Carolina
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 13, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/kla-samaritan-foundation-inc-co-first-morg_b5a76fa5b6944be7b5eb7774243f0463
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_205831657_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/kla-samaritan-foundation-inc-co-first-morg_b5a76fa5b6944be7b5eb7774243f0463},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-13. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
KLA Samaritan Foundation Inc Co First down — hundreds of funders to go?