Kansas Association of Local Health Departments
The Kansas Association of Local Health Departments (KALHD) is a public charity based in Topeka, Kansas. It is a statewide membership organization representing all 100 local health departments in Kansas and works to strengthen them in support of public health.
Key facts about Kansas Association of Local Health Departments
- EIN
- 48-0910226
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024
- Total assets
- $391,731
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$392K
+37.9% YoY
Revenue
$315K
+6.1% YoY
Net Investment Income
$10K
+205.8% YoY
Expenses
$207K
-20.2% YoY
Mission & Focus Areas
KALHD’s mission is to strengthen local health departments to improve and protect the health of all Kansans. Its stated objectives include representing the collective voice of local health departments, working with community and government partners to increase knowledge of and access to public health services, and serving as a liaison to the Kansas Department of Health and Environment.
KALHD’s 2025 policy statement calls for sustained state funding for laboratory courier services and increased state and federal financial support for local public health. Its 2025 Medicaid system priorities address opportunities for local health departments and partner organizations to improve Medicaid services and reimbursement.
Grantmaking
The available information does not identify grants made by KALHD, grant recipients, award amounts, or an application process.
Ready to take the next step with Kansas Association of Local Health Departments?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
KALHD represents local health departments across Kansas.
Grant Distribution by State
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2022, annual grant giving ranged from $1K (2022) to $185K (2021). In 2022 it reported $1K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.
Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
37 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 37 grants of 37 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
No grants recorded for 2024.
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $391,731 | $314,703 | $206,943 | 0 |
| 2023 | $283,971 | $296,536 | $259,407 | 0 |
| 2022 | $246,842 | $326,950 | $270,742 | 0 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $391,731 | $283,971 | $246,842 |
| Revenue | $314,703 | $296,536 | $326,950 |
| Expenses | $206,943 | $259,407 | $270,742 |
| Net Investment Income | $10,235 | $3,347 | $363 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 9, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 14, 2023)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Brie Greeson as president, Jennifer Cure as president-elect, Jason Tiller as past president, Shalei Shea as secretary-treasurer, and Angie Kahle, Paula Bitter, Cortney Murrow, Leslie Campbell, Crystal Vanhoutan, and Kendra Walsh as directors. The organization’s website identifies Randy Bowman as executive director.
Kansas Association of Local Health Departments is led by Brie Greeson, President since 2024 (on filings since 2021); 1 of 18 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Brie Greeson
President
President Elect → President-El, 2023
President-El → President, 2024
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jennifer Cure
President- E
Director → President- E, 2024
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Paula Bitter
Director
Board Member → Director, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Adrienne Byrne
Director
Board Member → Director, 2023
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lynnette Redington
Director
Board Member → Director, 2023
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Cortney Murrow
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Karla Nichols
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kendra Walsh
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Leslie Campbell
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lisa Scott
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Angie Kahle
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Charlie Hunt
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Crystal Vanhoutan
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Debra Anthony
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Denise James
Director
New on the 2024 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Randy Bowman
Executive Di
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$18K (2023) → $104K (2024)
Jason Tiller
Past President
President Elect → President, 2022
President → Past President, 2024
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Shalei Shea
Secretary- T
President → Secretary- T, 2024
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (15)
- Former: Arlene Doll (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Dennis Kriesel (2020–2023) — Executive Di
- Former: Karla Heble (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Julie Gibbs (2021–2023) — Secretary-Tr
- Former: Dana Rickley (2022–2023) — Past-Preside
- Former: Betha Elliott (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Juliann Vanliew (2022) — Board Member
- Former: Ruth Walker (2022) — Board Member
- Former: Aften Gardner (2020–2021) — Past President
- Former: Sanmi Areola (2021) — Board Member
- Former: Dan Partridge (2020) — Secretary & Treasurer
- Former: Destany Wheeler (2020) — President Elect
- Former: Diedre Serene (2020) — Board Member
- Former: Paula Rowden (2020) — Board Member
- Former: Tammy Von Busch (2020) — Board Member
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $104K, to Randy Bowman (Executive Di).
Contact
Mailing address: 715 Sw 10Th Avenue, Topeka, KS 66612
Phone: (785) 271-8391
Website: https://kalhd.org
Frequently asked questions about Kansas Association of Local Health Departments
How large is Kansas Association of Local Health Departments?
Kansas Association of Local Health Departments reported $392K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $315K.
What does Kansas Association of Local Health Departments fund?
KALHD’s mission is to strengthen local health departments to improve and protect the health of all Kansans. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Kansas Association of Local Health Departments?
Kansas Association of Local Health Departments has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check kalhd.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.
Where does Kansas Association of Local Health Departments make grants?
KALHD represents local health departments across Kansas.
What is Kansas Association of Local Health Departments's EIN?
Kansas Association of Local Health Departments's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 48-0910226. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Kansas Association of Local Health Departments by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Kansas Association of Local Health Departments's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Kansas
Ima Foundation
Wichita, KS
Assets
$11.4M
Grants
602
Total Given
$831K
Jewish Community Foundation of Greater Kansas City
Overland Park, KS
The Foundation funds Jewish communal life, education, arts, safety-net services, community relations, and special-needs programs, primarily in Greater Kansas City; some funds support other purposes or locations. Its 2024 grants had a median of $11,000, though awards ranged from $5,100 to $2.5 million.
Assets
$318.3M
Grants
559
Total Given
$15.4M
Koch Family Foundation
Wichita, KS
The Koch Family Foundation supports arts and education, along with related work such as history education and restoration, primarily in Kansas. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $500,000, with a median award of $2,000. It accepts completed grant requests throughout the year, with proposals due by September 15 for consideration at its annual board meeting.
Assets
$19.8M
Grants
534
Total Given
$2.3M
Greater Salina Community Foundation
Salina, KS
The Greater Salina Community Foundation funds charitable projects and programs in areas including arts and culture, education, health and human services, community development, parks, and public safety, generally within the geographic areas it serves. Grants vary widely; its 2025 median grant was $14,350, and Responsive Grants consider requests up to $2,500. The Foundation describes application options for eligible organizations but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$318.9M
Grants
328
Total Given
$24.1M
Dane G Hansen Foundation
Logan, KS
The Dane G Hansen Foundation funds education, health care, economic development, social services, conservation, arts and culture, and community improvement, primarily in Northwest Kansas’s 26 most northwestern counties. Its typical grant was $20,000 in 2025, though awards varied widely; it accepts online applications year-round.
Assets
$367.5M
Grants
346
Total Given
$27.8M
Greater Manhattan Community Foundation
Manhattan, KS
Greater Manhattan Community Foundation supports nonprofits in the Greater Manhattan, Kansas area across basic needs, youth, arts and humanities, education, health, and community development, with some programs serving other regional communities. Its Greater Manhattan grants typically consider requests of $10,000 or less; its 2024 itemized grants had a median of $19,483. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$182.7M
Grants
304
Total Given
$19.9M
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas
Topeka, KS
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas funds Kansas 501(c)(3) organizations working on health improvement, access, education, prevention, healthy behaviors, and direct services for uninsured people. In 2024, grants ranged from $500 to $100,000, with a median of $2,000; it also offers schools grants of up to $2,000 for K–12 healthy-lifestyle projects. Its filing says giving is not restricted to preselected organizations, and lists a grant application and 501(c)(3) determination letter as required materials.
Assets
$13.2M
Grants
212
Total Given
$835K
O'Brate Foundation
Garden City, KS
The foundation supports disadvantaged Kansas youth with need-based college and dual-credit scholarships, as well as limited emergency help for food, shelter, utilities, and clothing. In 2024, grants ranged from $150 to $11,190, with a median of $4,000; applications are submitted online, so it accepts requests through its programs.
Assets
—
Grants
206
Total Given
$709K
Garvey Kansas Foundation
Wichita, KS
Assets
$1.2M
Grants
196
Total Given
$293K
Douglas County Community Foundation
Lawrence, KS
Douglas County Community Foundation funds nonprofits serving Douglas County, Kansas, across areas including arts and culture, education, health, housing, the environment, and human services; some specialized funds have broader geographic reach. Its Community Grants generally range from $1,000 to $10,000, though its 2024 grants ranged from $5,056 to $1,772,709. It accepts applications for Community Grants, but the 2026 cycle is closed; the Spring 2027 application is scheduled to open December 31, 2026.
Assets
$117.3M
Grants
170
Total Given
$9.4M
Kansas Health Foundation
Wichita, KS
The Kansas Health Foundation funds efforts to improve health and reduce health disparities, including community-led work, food security, policy and systems change, and stronger organizations. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, with awards ranging from $5,000 to $6 million; its work is focused on Kansas, where 91% of 2024 grant dollars went. It lists sponsorship requests and applications for specific programs, but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited general requests.
Assets
$432.0M
Grants
167
Total Given
$15.7M
Rudd Foundation
Wichita, KS
The Rudd Foundation supports scholarships and community programs, including youth, food policy and public health, education, and wine-industry training. In 2024, it made 155 grants ranging from $26 to $500,000, with a median of $7,085; giving focused mainly on Kansas, with substantial support also going to Virginia. Its filing does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$35.8M
Grants
155
Total Given
$2.0M
More Funders in Kansas
Kansas Association of Local Health Departments down — hundreds of funders to go?