John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable

Private foundation · Grantmaker Hinsdale, IL EIN: 04-3830802

John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable is a private foundation based in Hinsdale, Illinois. Its 2025 filing reports grants to charitable organizations, with most grant dollars going to recipients in Illinois.

John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable at a glance

In short: John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable gave $67K across 23 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), mostly in Illinois. 17% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$67,000
+15.5% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
23
+9.5% vs 2024
Average grant
$2,913
+5.5% vs 2024
Median grant
$3,000
Total assets
$1,452,319
+4.9% vs 2024
New grantees (estimate)
17% first-time grantees (4 of 23, 2025; small sample)
Primary geography
Illinois (90% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

How to apply to John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable

Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to Apply

The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations.

Contact

Mailing address: 231 E Sixth Street, Hinsdale, IL 60521
Phone: (708) 557-6123

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Butterfield Scholarship Fund: $5KButterfield Scholarship Fund$5KChicago Blackhawks Alumni Association: $5KChicago Blackhawks AlumniAssociation$5KNorthern Illinois Food Bank: $5KNorthern Illinois Food Bank$5KPeople's Resource Center: $4KPeople's Resource Center$4KRonald McDonald House Charities of Chicagoland & Northwest Indiana: $4KRonald McDonald HouseCharities of Chicagoland &…$4KAmerican Red Cross: $4KAmerican Red Cross$4KEasterseals of Dupage & Fox Valley Region: $4KEasterseals of Dupage & FoxValley Region$4KChicago Police Memorial Foundation: $3KChicago Police MemorialFoundation$3KEvans Scholars Foundation: $3KEvans Scholars Foundation$3KLoyola University Chicago: $3KLoyola University Chicago$3K

The largest 2025 recipient was Butterfield Scholarship Fund ($5K). Together the top 10 received $39K.

Grant Size Distribution

107 grants across all recorded years

107<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 107 grants of 107 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2025, 90% of grant dollars went to Illinois recipients. The remaining reported shares went to California (4%), Tennessee (3%), and Colorado (2%).

Grant Distribution by State

9states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 23 itemized grants.

Cities

ChicagoWheatonGenevaGolfLa GrangeRoselleMaywoodOak BrookOceansideWarrenvilleClarendon HillsElmhurstMemphisSmyrnaVilla ParkNorthbrookBurlingtonGrand JunctionWashingtonWayland

Is John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable open to new grantees?

17%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 4 of 23 grantees (17%) were first-time recipients. With only 23 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 4 points. First grants averaged $2K; repeat grants $3K. How we count

Medians: $2K first-time, $3K repeat.

  • 78% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+5%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 92% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K$80K18 grants2019 19 grants2020 20 grants2021 22 grants2022 21 grants2023 21 grants2024 23 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $53K (2019) to $67K (2025). In 2025 it made 23 grants totaling $67K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Butterfield Scholarship Fund Chicago, ILExempt Purpose of Organization$5,000
Chicago Blackhawks Alumni Association Roselle, ILExempt Purpose of Organization$5,000
Northern Illinois Food Bank Geneva, ILExempt Purpose of Organization$5,000
People's Resource Center Wheaton, ILExempt Purpose of Organization$4,000
Ronald McDonald House Charities of Chicagoland & Northwest Indiana Oak Brook, ILExempt Purpose of Organization$4,000
American Red Cross Chicago, ILExempt Purpose of Organization$3,500
Easterseals of Dupage & Fox Valley Region Villa Park, ILExempt Purpose of Organization$3,500
Chicago Police Memorial Foundation Chicago, ILExempt Purpose of Organization$3,000
Evans Scholars Foundation Golf, ILExempt Purpose of Organization$3,000
Loyola University Chicago Chicago, ILExempt Purpose of Organization$3,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$1,452,319$149,706$80,638$67,00023$67,025$71,493$72,639
2024$1,383,955$101,568$64,522$58,00021$59,025$59,071$66,837
2023$1,347,565$91,523$61,822$60,00021$60,775$67,326$59,965
2022$1,317,194$110,884$66,988$64,00022$64,775$88,970$60,847
2021$1,274,336$157,131$62,469$56,50020$58,415$135,176$65,871
2020$1,179,258$95,568$62,919$57,10019—$91,293$58,882
2019$1,147,830$70,222$53,779$52,75018—$51,942$57,396

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable reported a distributable amount of $73K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants show support for organizations working in areas including food access, education, health and social services, housing support, and assistance to families of fallen or catastrophically injured police officers. These descriptions reflect the grantees’ missions, not a stated focus-area list from the foundation.

For example, Northern Illinois Food Bank says it provides meals and access to nutritious food through a network of food pantries and programs. Bridge Communities says it helps transition homeless families to self-sufficiency through mentoring, housing, and supportive services. Evans Scholars Foundation says it provides scholarships and educational opportunities for caddies. Pillars Community Health says it provides health, social, and educational services.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2025, the foundation awarded 23 grants totaling $67,000. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $5,000, with a median grant of $3,000.

Among its largest reported grants were $5,000 each to Butterfield Scholarship Fund, Chicago Blackhawks Alumni Association, and Northern Illinois Food Bank; $4,000 each to People’s Resource Center and Ronald McDonald House Charities of Chicagoland & Northwest Indiana; and $3,500 each to American Red Cross and Easterseals of DuPage & Fox Valley Region. Other recipients included Chicago Police Memorial Foundation ($3,000), Evans Scholars Foundation ($3,000), Loyola University Chicago ($3,000), National Alliance on Mental Illness ($3,000), and Semper Fi and America’s Fund ($3,000). The Chicago Police Memorial Foundation says it supports families of Chicago police officers killed or catastrophically injured in the line of duty. Big Shoulders Fund, which received $2,000, says it supports underserved schools providing quality, values-based education.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists William J. Mullins as president and director; Jeanne P. Gannon as treasurer and director; and Judy M. Lucas as secretary and director. Other directors listed are Michael J. Mullins, Edward J. Mullins, Marianne Vivirito, James H. Mullins, Thomas J. Mullins, Jacqueline J. Stent, and Kathryn E. Burke.

John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable is led by William J. Mullins, President & Director on every filing since 2019; none of the 11 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • William J. Mullins

    President & Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Edward J. Mullins

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jacqueline J. Stent

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • James H. Mullins

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeanne P. Gannon

    Treasurer & Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Judy M. Lucas

    Secretary & Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kathryn E. Burke

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marianne Vivirito

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael J. Mullins

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shannon T. Smith

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Thomas J. Mullins

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable

How much does John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable give each year?

John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable gave $67K across 23 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $58K across 21 grants.

What is John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable's typical grant size?

John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable's median grant in 2025 was $3,000, and its average grant was $2,913, across 23 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable that year got $2K on average.

Where does John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable give grants?

John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable gives mostly in Illinois: 90% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Chicago, IL (7 grants) and Wheaton, IL (2 grants).

Who are John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable's largest grantees?

John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable's largest 2025 grantees include Butterfield Scholarship Fund ($5,000), Chicago Blackhawks Alumni Association ($5,000) and Northern Illinois Food Bank ($5,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 22% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable?

John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable reported $1.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $67K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $73K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What does John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants show support for organizations working in areas including food access, education, health and social services, housing support, and assistance to families of fallen or catastrophically injured police officers. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable?

The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable's EIN?

John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 04-3830802. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Does John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(3)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 11, 2020)
  2. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 9, 2026)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Illinois

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

Motorola Solutions Foundation

Chicago, IL

The Motorola Solutions Foundation funds first-responder programs and technology and engineering education, especially for under-resourced communities; its 2025 grants had a median of $35,000. It supports organizations worldwide, with priority for communities where Motorola Solutions operates, and accepts unsolicited requests through an annual letter-of-inquiry process, with full applications by invitation.

Assets

$1.2M

Grants

213

Total Given

$12.6M

The Allstate Foundation

Northbrook, IL

The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.

Assets

$89.3M

Grants

2,010

Total Given

$38.0M

Elks National Foundation Inc

Chicago, IL

The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans’ services, and charitable projects through Elks Lodges and state associations across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median size of $10,000, though awards varied widely; the profile describes application routes for specific Lodge and scholarship programs but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$954.1M

Grants

1,536

Total Given

$36.5M

John D and Catherine T Macarthur Foundation

Chicago, IL

The MacArthur Foundation funds work advancing a more just, verdant, and peaceful world, including climate solutions, criminal justice, journalism, technology, and Chicago. In 2024, its grants had a median of $160,000, though awards ranged widely; it generally does not accept unsolicited requests, with possible exceptions for specific open calls or proposals that meet program guidelines.

Assets

$9.3B

Grants

1,086

Total Given

$356.1M

Arie and Ida Crown Memorial

Chicago, IL

Arie and Ida Crown Memorial supports education, the environment, health and human services, gun violence prevention, homelessness prevention, and Jewish community and Israel initiatives, with a strong focus on Chicago and giving across the U.S. and internationally. In 2024, its grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $55,000. It uses an invitation-only process and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

897

Total Given

$115.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Illinois

Cite this profile

Grantable. (2026). John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 20, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/john-f-and-joan-p-mullins-charitable-morg_f5e164891ef64b4a8e162056f22d3239

BibTeX
@misc{grantable_043830802_2026,
  author       = {{Grantable}},
  title        = {{John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable funder profile}},
  howpublished = {GrantGraph},
  year         = {2026},
  url          = {https://grantable.co/funders/john-f-and-joan-p-mullins-charitable-morg_f5e164891ef64b4a8e162056f22d3239},
  note         = {Accessed 2026-10-20. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
}

The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.

Figures come from John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

John F and Joan P Mullins Charitable down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?