Investment Company Institute
To strengthen the foundation of the asset management industry for the ultimate benefit of the long-term individual investor. Members include mutual funds, exchange-traded funds (ETFS), closed-end funds, and unit investment trusts (UITS) in the united states, and similar funds offered to investors in europe, asia and other jurisdictions.
Investment Company Institute at a glance
- Total assets
- $150,425,314
- +2.7% vs 2024
- Revenue (2025)
- $85,551,495
- +2.9% vs 2024
- Net investment income (2025)
- $3,733,016
- -31.2% vs 2024
- Expenses (2025)
- $83,667,741
- -0.6% vs 2024
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Investment Company Institute funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
4 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 3 grants of 4 (75%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
States
Cities
How Investment Company Institute gives
- Giving grew 260% from 2021 to 2024. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $50K (2019) to $200K (2023). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $180K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| ICI Education Foundation NW Washington, DC | Related Organization | $180,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Investment Company Institute?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $150,425,314 | $85,551,495 | $83,667,741 | — | — | $3,733,016 |
| 2024 | $146,403,728 | $83,174,498 | $84,194,621 | $180,000 | 1 | $5,426,583 |
| 2023 | $148,674,197 | $84,136,163 | $77,130,848 | $200,000 | 1 | $3,424,885 |
| 2022 | $132,491,163 | $80,146,435 | $68,854,682 | $150,000 | 1 | $1,558,229 |
| 2021 | $76,230,571 | $72,478,404 | $67,975,698 | $50,000 | 1 | $442,484 |
| 2020 | $84,674,610 | $71,824,481 | $70,766,857 | $50,000 | 1 | $1,025,710 |
| 2019 | $81,067,434 | $79,650,345 | $75,166,953 | $50,000 | 1 | $2,182,934 |
About Investment Company Institute
Based on IRS filings
Investment Company Institute is a public charity, based in Washington, DC. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $150.4M in total assets. Net investment income was $3.7M.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Investment Company Institute is led by Eric J. Pan, President & CEO on every filing since 2021; 13 of 76 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Eric J. Pan
President & CEO
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$453K (2021) → $2.8M (2025)
George H. Walker
Chair
Member → Chair, 2024
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Thomas T. Kim
Managing Director - Idc
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$585K (2025)
Donald C. Auerbach
Chief Operating Officer
COO → Chief Operating Officer, 2020
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$656K (2019) → $962K (2025)
Mark A. Delcoco
CFO & Treasurer
Treasurer → CFO & Treasurer, 2022
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$300K (2019) → $414K (2025)
Sean S. Collins
Chief Economist
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$474K (2019) → $628K (2025)
Susan M. Olson
Former General Counsel
General Counsel → Former General Counsel, 2025
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$854K (2019) → $754K (2025)
Rachel H. Graham
Secretary
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$372K (2021) → $426K (2025)
Dorothy M. Donohue
Deputy General Counsel
On filings since 2022
40 hrs/week
$571K (2022) → $644K (2025)
John G. Emling
Chief Govt. Affairs Officer
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$619K (2023) → $817K (2025)
Michael N. Pedroni
Chief Global Affairs Officer
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$680K (2023) → $773K (2025)
Erica E. Richardson
Chief Strategic Committee Officer
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$614K (2024) → $643K (2025)
Paul Cellupica
General Counsel
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$568K (2025)
Rochelle L. Antoniewicz
Chief Economist
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$534K (2025)
Catherine L. Newell
Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Cynthia Hostetler
Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David L. Giunta
Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David Oestreicher
Member
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Dawn M. Vroegop
Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Douglas B. Sieg
Member
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Garrett Thornburg
Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
George C. W. Gatch
Member
Chairman → Vice Chairman, 2023
Vice Chairman → Member, 2024
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Gregory E. Johnson
Member
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
James A. McNamara
Member
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
James E. Davey
Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jonathan S. Thomas
Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joseph A. Sullivan
Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kristi L. Rowsell
Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lisa M. Jones
Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mark D. Nerud
Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mellody Hobson
Member
Chairman → Member, 2020
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ronald E. Toupin Jr.
Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Stuart S. Parker
Member
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
William F. Truscott
Member
Vice Chairman → Member, 2023
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Andrew G. Arnott
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
James L. Johnson Jr.
Member
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jane K. Carten
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Shawn K. Lytle
Member
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Steven J. Paggioli
Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Yie-Hsin Hung
Vice Chair
Member → Chairman, 2022
Chairman → Vice Chair, 2024
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Andrew R. Schlossberg
Member
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Gary Tenkman
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kathleen T. Barr
Member
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Marijn P. Smit
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Peter G. Strelow
Member
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Peter J. Germain
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Seth P. Bernstein
Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Carol Geremia
Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Cynthia R. Plouche
Member
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
George Aylward
Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Heather E. Brilliant
Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joanna F. Jonsson
Member
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kristi Slavin
Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael A. Mendelson
Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Stephanie G. Braming
Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Thomas C. Kersting
Member
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Gale K. Caruso
Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Karla Rabusch
Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
William Ebsworth
Member
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ben Huneke
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Daniel Gamba
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David Dipetrillo
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kamal Bhatia
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kathyrn Koch
Member
On filings since 2024
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Martin Small
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mehdi Mahmud
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Naim Abou-Jaoude
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Omar Aguilar
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Pamela Carlton
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ryan Hicke
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Bill Huffman
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Bill Strickland
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Greg Davis
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Greg Frost
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jenny Johnson
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Martin Romo
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (49)
- Former: Diana P. Herrmann (2019–2024) — Member
- Former: Mortimer Tim J. Buckley (2019–2024) — Member
- Former: William W. Strickland Jr. (2019–2024) — Member
- Former: Sarah A. Bessin (2024) — Deputy General Counsel
- Former: Andrew N. Owen (2019–2023) — Member
- Former: David M. Abbey (2019–2023) — Deputy General Counsel
- Former: Keith D. Lawson (2019–2023) — Deputy General Counsel
- Former: Patrick G. Halter (2019–2023) — Member
- Former: Susan C. Livingston (2019–2023) — Member
- Former: Thomas E. Faust Jr. (2019–2023) — Member
- Former: Christine L. Hurtsellers (2020–2023) — Member
- Former: Garry L. Moody (2020–2023) — Member
- Former: Jonathan De St Paer (2021–2023) — Member
- Former: Jose Minaya (2021–2023) — Member
- Former: Salim Ramji (2021–2023) — Member
- Former: Dean R. Sackett III (2019–2022) — Chief Govt. Affairs Officer
- Former: Jennifer S. Choi (2019–2022) — Chief Counsel - Ici Global
- Former: Michelle Seitz (2022) — Member
- Former: Erik R. Sirri (2019–2021) — Member
- Former: Frances M. Stadler (2019–2021) — Secretary
- Former: Jonathan F. Zeschin (2019–2021) — Member
- Former: Marie L. Knowles (2019–2021) — Member
- Former: Michael D. McNamee (2019–2021) — Chief Public Commun. Officer
- Former: Paul Schott Stevens (2019–2021) — President & CEO
- Former: William J. Hackett (2019–2021) — Member
- Former: Cyrus Taraporevala (2020–2021) — Member
- Former: Michael Roberge (2020–2021) — Member
- Former: Mary Kramer (2021) — Chief Human Resource Officer
- Former: Shundrawn A. Thomas (2021) — Member
- Former: Bradley J. Vogt (2019–2020) — Member
- Former: Jon De St Paer (2019–2020) — Member
- Former: Kenneth C. Eich (2019–2020) — Member
- Former: Kyle Andersen (2019–2020) — Member
- Former: Martin L. Flanagan (2019–2020) — Member
- Former: Peter H. Gallary (2019–2020) — Former COO
- Former: Robert M. Keith (2019–2020) — Member
- Former: Thomas R. Donahue (2019–2020) — Member
- Former: Vijay C. Advani (2019–2020) — Member
- Former: Amy Lancellotta (2020) — Managing Director & Idc
- Former: Barbara Novick (2020) — Member
- Former: Brent R. Harris (2020) — Member
- Former: Robert G. Dorsey (2020) — Member
- Former: Brooks Englehardt (2019) — Member
- Former: Bruce W. Duncan (2019) — Member
- Former: Daniel Simkowitz (2019) — Member
- Former: James E. Ross (2019) — Member
- Former: Laura T. Starks (2019) — Member
- Former: Marco Hanig (2019) — Member
- Former: Marjin P. Smit (2019) — Member
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $2.8M, to Eric J Pan (President & CEO). 13 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Investment Company Institute
How large is Investment Company Institute?
Investment Company Institute reported $150.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $85.6M.
Where does Investment Company Institute operate?
Investment Company Institute has awarded grants in District of Columbia.
What is Investment Company Institute's EIN?
Investment Company Institute's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 13-5266605. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(8)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS August 5, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS August 12, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 11, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 13, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS August 14, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS August 11, 2020)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 12, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Investment Company Institute's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in District of Columbia
NCRC Community Development Fund Inc
Washington, DC
NCRC Community Development Fund supports affordable housing and homeownership, small businesses—especially minority-owned, women-owned, and low-income businesses—and certain nonprofit programs that provide capital or services to underserved communities. Its listed awards range from $5,000 to $50,000, though typical giving is not stated; it serves communities across the U.S., with some programs focused on Illinois. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$55.6M
Grants
2,666
Total Given
$149.3M
National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
Washington, DC
The National Fish and Wildlife Foundation makes competitive grants for science-based projects that conserve or restore fish, wildlife, plants, and habitats; it does not fund advocacy or litigation. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $106,500, and it supports projects across all 50 states and U.S. territories. Applications are competitive and program-specific; whether pre-proposals are required varies by program.
Assets
$3.6B
Grants
1,286
Total Given
$464.4M
Greater Washington Community Foundation
Washington, DC
The Greater Washington Community Foundation supports nonprofits working across areas such as economic opportunity, education, health, arts, and human services, with an emphasis on equity and economic justice. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, and it generally funds organizations serving DC, Montgomery County, Prince George’s County, and specified Northern Virginia communities; it offers scheduled open competitive grant rounds as well as invite-only opportunities.
Assets
$518.3M
Grants
1,417
Total Given
$116.9M
Corporation for Public Broadcasting
Washington, DC
The Corporation for Public Broadcasting supported public radio and television stations, programming, infrastructure, and related services across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median of $22,300, though awards ranged widely; CPB’s 2025 filing was marked as its final return, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
—
Grants
555
Total Given
$175.8M
AARP
Washington, DC
AARP funds nonprofits and other organizations working on aging-related issues, including caregiving, health, research, education, and community programs. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $15,000, with amounts ranging widely, and it supports work through offices across the states and territories; whether AARP accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$13.1B
Grants
688
Total Given
$35.8M
City First Enterprises Inc
Washington, DC
City First Enterprises supports affordable housing, small businesses, nonprofits, commercial real estate, clean energy, and homeownership through lending and some grant programs, primarily in the Washington, DC, Maryland, and Virginia region. Its typical grant size is not specified; one DC-administered program offers eligible businesses up to $500,000 in down-payment assistance. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$86.3M
Grants
2
Total Given
$769K
More similar funders
More Funders in District of Columbia
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Investment Company Institute's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Investment Company Institute down — hundreds of funders to go?