International Brotherhood of Teamsters

Public charity · Grantmaker Mokena, IL EIN: 36-1460890

To organize all workers for the economic, moral and social advancement of their condition and status.

International Brotherhood of Teamsters at a glance

In short: International Brotherhood of Teamsters gave $47K across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $12K), mostly in District of Columbia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$47,205
-41.8% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
4
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$11,801
-41.8% vs 2024
Median grant
$8,103
Total assets
$11,847,114
+12.0% vs 2024
Primary geography
District of Columbia (53% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who International Brotherhood of Teamsters funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 4 recipients in 2025

Teamsters Scholarship Fund: $25KTeamsters Scholarship Fund$25KTeamsters Union Local No 710 Scholarship Fund: $10KTeamsters Union Local No 710Scholarship Fund$10KTeamsters National Black Caucus: $6KTeamsters National BlackCaucus$6KChicago Teamsters Hispanic Caucus: $6KChicago Teamsters HispanicCaucus$6K

The largest 2025 recipient was Teamsters Scholarship Fund ($25K). Together the top 4 received $47K.

Grant Size Distribution

17 grants across all recorded years

17<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 17 grants of 17 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.

Cities

MokenaWashingtonMemphisChicagoElmhurstNew YorkSpringfield

How International Brotherhood of Teamsters gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+5%). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$25K$50K$75K$100K1 grant2020 2 grants2021 2 grants2022 5 grants2023 4 grants2024 4 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $10K (2020) to $81K (2024). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $47K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Teamsters Scholarship Fund Washington, DCGeneral Support$25,000
Teamsters Union Local No 710 Scholarship Fund Mokena, ILGeneral Support$10,000
Teamsters National Black Caucus Memphis, TNGeneral Support$6,205
Chicago Teamsters Hispanic Caucus Elmhurst, ILGeneral Support$6,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with International Brotherhood of Teamsters?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$11,847,114$12,495,487$11,225,008$47,2054$336,513
2024$10,580,309$12,153,748$10,153,584$81,1004$318,827
2023$8,561,440$12,723,588$10,149,143$69,0505$120,433
2022$5,990,491$10,928,956$9,712,007$45,0002$6,454
2021$4,769,558$10,858,947$9,584,472$20,0002$2,172
2020$3,496,224$10,224,046$9,371,908$10,0001$6,399

About International Brotherhood of Teamsters

Based on IRS filings

International Brotherhood of Teamsters is a public charity, based in Mokena, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $11.8M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $47K. Net investment income was $337K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

International Brotherhood of Teamsters is led by Delmar Schaefer, President on every filing since 2020; all 12 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Delmar Schaefer

    President

    On filings since 2020

    45 hrs/week

    $149K (2020) → $191K (2025)

  • Philip Reams

    Trustee & Bus Agent

    On filings since 2020

    45 hrs/week

    $111K (2020) → $134K (2025)

  • Robert Downey

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    $21K (2020) → $33K (2025)

  • Jocelyn Turner Adams

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    5 hrs/week

    $36K (2022) → $36K (2025)

  • Michael Ramirez

    Recording Secretary

    Business Agent → Recording Secretary, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    45 hrs/week

    $123K (2020) → $167K (2025)

  • Neil McKinney

    Vice President

    Business Agent → Vice President, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    45 hrs/week

    $112K (2020) → $159K (2025)

  • Michael Cales

    Secretary-Treasurer

    On filings since 2021

    45 hrs/week

    $197K (2021) → $230K (2025)

  • Michael Halvorson

    Business Agent

    On filings since 2021

    45 hrs/week

    $115K (2021) → $142K (2025)

  • Craig Friedrich

    Business Agent

    On filings since 2022

    45 hrs/week

    $130K (2022) → $142K (2025)

  • Matt Hamilton

    Business Agent

    On filings since 2024

    45 hrs/week

    $127K (2024) → $128K (2025)

  • Gabriel Stephan

    Business Agent

    New on the 2025 filing

    45 hrs/week

    $132K (2025)

  • Michael Krause

    Business Agent

    New on the 2025 filing

    45 hrs/week

    $130K (2025)

Former officers (10)
  • Former: John Rule (2020–2024) — Business Agent
  • Former: Keith Kazluski (2023–2024) — Business Agent
  • Former: Bernard Sherlock (2020–2023) — Business Agent
  • Former: Richard Bartolo (2020–2023) — Business Agent
  • Former: Mike Sanchez (2020–2022) — Former Trustee
  • Former: Ronald Dillon (2020–2022) — Business Agent
  • Former: Anthony Lamy (2021) — Business Agent
  • Former: Justin Vaughn (2021) — Business Agent
  • Former: Mike Cales (2020) — Secretary-Treasurer
  • Former: Ted Barnhart (2020) — Business Agent

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Michael Cales — Secretary-Treasurer: $230KMichael CalesSecretary-Treasurer$230KDelmar Schaefer — President: $191KDelmar SchaeferPresident$191KMichael Ramirez — Recording Secretary: $167KMichael RamirezRecording Secretary$167KNeil McKinney — Vice President: $159KNeil McKinneyVice President$159KMichael Halvorson — Business Agent: $142KMichael HalvorsonBusiness Agent$142KCraig Friedrich — Business Agent: $142KCraig FriedrichBusiness Agent$142KPhilip Reams — Trustee/Bus Agent: $134KPhilip ReamsTrustee/Bus Agent$134KGabriel Stephan — Business Agent: $132KGabriel StephanBusiness Agent$132KMichael Krause — Business Agent: $130KMichael KrauseBusiness Agent$130KMatt Hamilton — Business Agent: $128KMatt HamiltonBusiness Agent$128KJocelyn Turner Adams — Trustee: $36KJocelyn Turner AdamsTrustee$36KRobert Downey — Trustee: $33KRobert DowneyTrustee$33K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $230K, to Michael Cales (Secretary-Treasurer). 12 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about International Brotherhood of Teamsters

How much does International Brotherhood of Teamsters give each year?

International Brotherhood of Teamsters gave $47K across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $81K across 4 grants.

What is International Brotherhood of Teamsters's typical grant size?

International Brotherhood of Teamsters's median grant in 2025 was $8,103, and its average grant was $11,801, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does International Brotherhood of Teamsters give grants?

International Brotherhood of Teamsters gives mostly in District of Columbia: 53% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest states were Illinois (34%) and Tennessee (13%).

Does International Brotherhood of Teamsters give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of International Brotherhood of Teamsters's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (4 of 4) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990.

How large is International Brotherhood of Teamsters?

International Brotherhood of Teamsters reported $11.8M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $12.5M.

What is International Brotherhood of Teamsters's EIN?

International Brotherhood of Teamsters's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-1460890. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(2)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 8, 2026)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in International Brotherhood of Teamsters's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Illinois

Teamsters Joint Council No 25

Willow Springs, IL

To organize all workers for the advancement of their condition and status

Assets

$5.7M

Grants

3

Total Given

$33K

Teamsters Union Local No 1150

Stratford, CT

The union's mission is to secure improved wages, working conditions & other economic advantages for its members through organizing, negotiating & collective bargaining process through legal and economic means, and other lawful methods.

Assets

$6.5M

Grants

6

Total Given

$49K

International Brotherhood of Teamsters

Washington, DC

The International Brotherhood of Teamsters funds organizations supporting workers’ rights, labor education and leadership, and other charitable purposes. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,500 to $250,000, with a median of $10,000, and went to recipients in multiple states. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$609.3M

Grants

24

Total Given

$924K

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

The Allstate Foundation

Northbrook, IL

The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.

Assets

$89.3M

Grants

2,010

Total Given

$38.0M

Elks National Foundation Inc

Chicago, IL

The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans’ services, and charitable projects through Elks Lodges and state associations across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median size of $10,000, though awards varied widely; the profile describes application routes for specific Lodge and scholarship programs but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$954.1M

Grants

1,536

Total Given

$36.5M

More similar funders

More Funders in Illinois

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from International Brotherhood of Teamsters's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

International Brotherhood of Teamsters down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?