Innovate Public Schools
Build the parent and community demand for world-class public schools, and to accelerate the growth of these schools, particularly for low-income students, students of colors, and students with special needs.
Innovate Public Schools at a glance
- Total assets
- $4,795,248
- -25.4% vs 2024
- Revenue (2025)
- $3,362,425
- -8.8% vs 2024
- Net investment income (2025)
- $136,614
- -7.7% vs 2024
- Expenses (2025)
- $4,736,721
- -21.5% vs 2024
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Innovate Public Schools funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
7 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 6 grants of 7 (86%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Cities
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2022, annual grant giving ranged from $19K (2020) to $156K (2022). In 2022 it made 4 grants totaling $156K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Urban League of Greater Southwestern Ohio Cincinnati, OH | To develop a parent-centered organizing strategy & execute an actionable change in education policy. | $50,000 |
| Jacksonville Urban League Jacksonville, FL | To develop a parent-centered organizing strategy & execute an actionable change in education policy. | $50,000 |
| Charleston Urban League Charleston, SC | To develop a parent-centered organizing strategy & execute an actionable change in education policy. | $50,000 |
| California School-Age Consortium El Sobrante, CA | To Support Power Building | $6,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Innovate Public Schools?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $4,795,248 | $3,362,425 | $4,736,721 | — | — | $136,614 |
| 2024 | $6,429,725 | $3,685,203 | $6,030,648 | — | — | $147,959 |
| 2023 | $8,687,484 | $6,940,086 | $7,565,819 | — | — | $146,058 |
| 2022 | $9,500,964 | $7,956,314 | $7,691,501 | $156,000 | 4 | $26,647 |
| 2021 | $10,096,835 | $9,088,776 | $7,790,517 | $150,000 | 3 | $2,309 |
| 2020 | $8,504,028 | $7,990,134 | $6,695,047 | $19,000 | 3 | $39,928 |
About Innovate Public Schools
Based on IRS filings
Innovate Public Schools is a public charity, based in Menlo Park, CA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $4.8M in total assets. Net investment income was $137K.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Innovate Public Schools is led by Michelle Vilchez, CEO since 2023 (on filings since 2020); 6 of 13 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Michelle Vilchez
CEO
Board Chair Co-Ceo → Co-Ceo & CEO, 2022
Co-Ceo & CEO → CEO, 2023
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$159K (2022) → $201K (2025)
Antonio Gutierrez
Chair
Director → Chair, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kathy Dominguez
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Orson Aguilar
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Pastor Peter Watts
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Vincent Quan
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Emma Hiza
Director
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jose Arenas
High Comptroller
Vice President & Community Organizing → Vice President & Organizing, 2022
Vice President & Organizing → High Comptroller, 2024
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$134K (2020) → $166K (2025)
Hannah Gravette
High Comptroller
Regional Vice President → High Comptroller, 2024
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$141K (2021) → $155K (2025)
Celia Benavides
High Comptroller
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$136K (2024) → $144K (2025)
Terrance Watson
High Comptroller
On filings since 2024
40 hrs/week
$136K (2024) → $146K (2025)
Sean Michael Hardy
High Comptroller
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$130K (2025)
Jon Dean
Treasurer
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (22)
- Former: Alex Cortez (2020–2024) — Secretary
- Former: Rocsana Enriquez (2020–2024) — Vice Chair
- Former: Jamilah Prince-Stewart (2021–2024) — Director
- Former: Arleen Vargas (2024) — High Comptroller
- Former: Alicia Gallegos Fambrini (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Eric Scroggins (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Geraldine Anderson (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Greg Gallo (2020–2022) — Board Treasurer
- Former: Leon Beauchman (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Marc Tarpenning (2020–2022) — Board Treasurer
- Former: Matthew Hammer (2020–2022) — Founder & Co-Ceo
- Former: Thu Anh Tran (2020–2022) — Vice President & Schools
- Former: Cedric Nelms (2021–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Claire Fisher (2021–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Krystle Onibokun (2021–2022) — Vice President, Finance & Strategy
- Former: Marchelle Moten (2022) — Rvp Peninsula
- Former: Miguel Rodriguez (2022) — Regional Vice President
- Former: Annalise Waterman Roy (2020–2021) — Vice President, Partnerships & Finance
- Former: Betsabe Castro (2020–2021) — Director & Finance
- Former: Carol Hedgspeth (2020–2021) — Vice President, Talent & Operations
- Former: Corey Timpson (2020) — Director & National Organizing
- Former: Jorge Titinger (2020) — Board Member
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $201K, to Michelle Vilchez (CEO). 6 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Innovate Public Schools
How large is Innovate Public Schools?
Innovate Public Schools reported $4.8M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $3.4M.
Where does Innovate Public Schools operate?
Innovate Public Schools has awarded grants in California, Florida, Ohio, South Carolina.
What is Innovate Public Schools's EIN?
Innovate Public Schools's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-2155826. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(4)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS February 11, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 23, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 15, 2023)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Live grants for the work Innovate Public Schools funds
Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Innovate Public Schools's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
New Schools Fund
Oakland, CA
NewSchools funds early-stage K–12 education organizations and initiatives focused on innovative schools, learning solutions, teaching, learning differences, and diverse leaders and racial equity, with its general opportunity open to applicants nationwide. General grants are typically $150,000–$250,000 for one year; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$70.9M
Grants
102
Total Given
$19.4M
Walton Family Foundation Inc
Bentonville, AR
The Walton Family Foundation funds K–12 education, river and ocean conservation, and quality-of-life initiatives in Northwest Arkansas and the Arkansas-Mississippi Delta; its grants also support organizations and projects elsewhere in the U.S. Its 2024 grants had a median of $200,000, with awards ranging from $1,000 to $35.6 million. It does not accept unsolicited requests except from eligible public charter school developers applying to its startup grant program; other organizations must first submit a letter of inquiry and await an invitation.
Assets
$6.1B
Grants
1,020
Total Given
$562.3M
Adecco Group US Charities Inc
Jacksonville, FL
ADECCO GROUP US CHARITIES INC supports women’s economic advancement and leadership, girls’ access to STEM, and community services. In 2024, its 15 grants ranged from $500 to $162,000, with a median of $10,000; most funding went to organizations in New York, followed by Washington, DC, North Carolina, Florida, and Massachusetts. The filing points applicants to “Statements” for application details, but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$250K
Grants
15
Total Given
$501K
The Heal Foundation Inc
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
The Heal Foundation funds autism-related education, therapy, recreation, camps, and family support, primarily through Florida organizations and community programs. In 2025, its 42 grants ranged from $1,000 to $7,776, with a median of $2,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$639K
Grants
42
Total Given
$122K
Charles and Helen Schwab Foundation
San Francisco, CA
The Charles and Helen Schwab Foundation funds education nationally and housing and homelessness in the Bay Area, with an emphasis on racial equity and historically marginalized communities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $3 million, with a median award of $250,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected charitable organizations.
Assets
$542.3M
Grants
96
Total Given
$34.8M
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
More similar funders
More Funders in California
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Innovate Public Schools's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Innovate Public Schools down — hundreds of funders to go?