Illinois Business Education

Private foundation · Grantmaker Sherman, IL EIN: 37-6057589

Illinois Business Education is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Sherman, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.3M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $11K. Net investment income was $86K.

Illinois Business Education at a glance

In short: Illinois Business Education gave $11K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $11K), mostly in Illinois. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$11,000
-50.0% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
-85.7% vs 2024
Average grant
$11,000
+250.0% vs 2024
Median grant
$11,000
Total assets
$1,344,945
+4.5% vs 2024
Primary geography
Illinois (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Illinois Business Education funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

17 grants across all recorded years

17<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 17 grants of 17 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

CharlestonChicagoNormal

How Illinois Business Education gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+10%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 95% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10K$20K$30K8 grants2020 4 grants2021 3 grants2022 2 grants2023 7 grants2024 1 grant2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $7K (2023) to $22K (2020). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $11K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
1 individual scholarship Recipients not named —$11,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Illinois Business Education?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$1,344,945$128,646$73,445$11,0001$60,526$86,307$63,450
2024$1,286,783$94,683$80,551$22,0007$61,804$50,470$60,107
2023$1,204,169$62,418$91,345$6,5002$88,444$31,871$57,590
2022$1,200,179$110,161$38,229$10,0003$170,425$77,846$64,797
2021$1,379,048$78,737$33,239$11,2504—$47,747$63,309
2020$1,190,741$95,869$66,522$22,3508—$45,243$55,689

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Illinois Business Education reported a distributable amount of $63K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Illinois Business Education is led by Heather Borowiak, President since 2025 (on filings since 2020); 4 of 16 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Heather Borowiak

    President

    Member-At-La → President El, 2024

    President El → President, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Darcy Jeffries

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    $600 (2020) → $300 (2025)

  • David Calkins

    Webmaster

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    $300 (2020) → $300 (2025)

  • Gary Hutchinson

    Executive Di

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    $500 (2020) → $3K (2025)

  • Rod McQuality

    Executive Di

    New on the 2025 filing

    10 hrs/week

    $8K (2025)

  • Jodee Werkheiser

    Public Info

    Secretary → Public Info, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jon Lebold

    Eibea

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lacy Bugielski

    Past President

    President Elect → President, 2024

    President → Past President, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Allison Ferguson

    President Elect

    Pabea → President Elect, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jennifer Williams

    Mibea

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Christi McGee

    Sibea

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • April Suter

    Pabea & Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chris Merrill

    Iactel

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Elizabeth Terpstra

    Cbea

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jaime Stokes

    Secretary

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tori Hale

    Reports

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (30)
  • Former: Josh Ebbert (2020–2024) — Past President
  • Former: Karen Drage (2020–2024) — Public Info
  • Former: Paul Smith (2024) — Sabea
  • Former: Kye-Anne Wilborn (2020–2023) — Cbea
  • Former: Susan Timm (2020–2023) — Past President
  • Former: Brandan Oates (2020–2022) — Member-At-La
  • Former: Carol Brooks (2020–2022) — Immediate Pa
  • Former: Cathy Carruthers (2020–2022) — State Director Nc
  • Former: Cindy Stover (2020–2022) — Iacte Liaiso
  • Former: Deena Powell (2020–2022) — Member-At-La
  • Former: Kendra Wofford (2020–2022) — Sibea
  • Former: Ryan O'Shea (2020–2022) — Member-At-La
  • Former: Vicki Fuhrhop (2020–2022) — Swabea
  • Former: Kerri Largo (2021–2022) — Cabea
  • Former: Karen Lockhart (2022) — Il St Board of
  • Former: Amy Bailey (2020–2021) — Cibea
  • Former: Connie Campbell (2020–2021) — Nibea
  • Former: Gail Turner (2020–2021) — Member-At-La
  • Former: Patrice Boyles (2020–2021) — Immediate Past P
  • Former: Abby Barton (2021) — Mibea
  • Former: Betsy Westergreen (2021) — Ilcte
  • Former: Rob Zumbahlen (2021) — Student Representative
  • Former: Chloe Lombardi (2020) — Student Representative
  • Former: Diane Mahinda (2020) — Icrp Liaison
  • Former: Heidi Eaton (2020) — Ncbea
  • Former: Jessie Ervin (2020) — Mibea
  • Former: John Deweese (2020) — Isbe Liaison
  • Former: John Madden (2020) — Cabea
  • Former: Kathleen Daugherty (2020) — Immediate Past
  • Former: Melette Pearce (2020) — Wiabea

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Rod McQuality — Executive Di: $8KRod McQualityExecutive Di$8KGary Hutchinson — Executive Di: $3KGary HutchinsonExecutive Di$3KDarcy Jeffries — Treasurer: $300Darcy JeffriesTreasurer$300David Calkins — Webmaster: $300David CalkinsWebmaster$300

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $8K, to Rod McQuality (Executive Di). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Illinois Business Education

How much does Illinois Business Education give each year?

Illinois Business Education gave $11K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $22K across 7 grants.

How large is Illinois Business Education?

Illinois Business Education reported $1.3M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $61K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $63K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is Illinois Business Education?

Illinois Business Education is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Sherman, IL. It holds $1.3M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Illinois Business Education operate?

Illinois Business Education has awarded grants in Illinois.

What is Illinois Business Education's EIN?

Illinois Business Education's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 37-6057589. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Illinois Business Education's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Illinois

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

The Allstate Foundation

Northbrook, IL

The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.

Assets

$89.3M

Grants

2,010

Total Given

$38.0M

Elks National Foundation Inc

Chicago, IL

The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans’ services, and charitable projects through Elks Lodges and state associations across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median size of $10,000, though awards varied widely; the profile describes application routes for specific Lodge and scholarship programs but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$954.1M

Grants

1,536

Total Given

$36.5M

John D and Catherine T Macarthur Foundation

Chicago, IL

The MacArthur Foundation funds work advancing a more just, verdant, and peaceful world, including climate solutions, criminal justice, journalism, technology, and Chicago. In 2024, its grants had a median of $160,000, though awards ranged widely; it generally does not accept unsolicited requests, with possible exceptions for specific open calls or proposals that meet program guidelines.

Assets

$9.3B

Grants

1,086

Total Given

$356.1M

Arie and Ida Crown Memorial

Chicago, IL

Arie and Ida Crown Memorial supports education, the environment, health and human services, gun violence prevention, homelessness prevention, and Jewish community and Israel initiatives, with a strong focus on Chicago and giving across the U.S. and internationally. In 2024, its grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $55,000. It uses an invitation-only process and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

897

Total Given

$115.2M

Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago

Chicago, IL

The Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago funds human services, Jewish education and community programs, crisis response, and support for Israel and Jewish communities worldwide, primarily through Chicago-area agencies and initiatives. In 2025, its grants had a median of about $20,000, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

896

Total Given

$166.6M

More similar funders

More Funders in Illinois

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Illinois Business Education's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Illinois Business Education down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?