Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz
Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz is a Form 990-PF private foundation based in Denver, Colorado. In filing year 2025, it reported 21 grants totaling $44,583.
Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz at a glance
In short: Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz gave $45K across 21 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in Colorado. 48% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $44,583
- +75.1% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 21
- +90.9% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $2,123
- -8.3% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $1,360
- Total assets
- $574,453
- -4.7% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 48% first-time grantees (10 of 21, 2025; small sample)
- Primary geography
- Colorado (70% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to Apply
-
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds; it states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations.
- Contact
Mailing address: 6825 E Tennessee Avenue 235, Denver, CO 80224
Phone: (303) 388-3782
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Jewish Colorado ($10K). Together the top 10 received $38K.
Grant Size Distribution
63 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 63 grants of 63 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 70% of grant dollars went to recipients in Colorado, 18% to New York, 6% to New Jersey, and 5% to Nevada.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 21 itemized grants.
Cities
Is Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz open to new grantees?
48%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 10 of 21 grantees (48%) were first-time recipients. With only 21 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 5 points. First grants averaged $2K; repeat grants $3K. How we count
Medians: $852 first-time, $2K repeat.
- 38% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 84% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 166% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2022–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2022 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $24K (2022) to $45K (2025). In 2025 it made 21 grants totaling $45K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Jewish Colorado Denver, CO | Charity | $10,000 |
| Denver Kehillah Denver, CO | Charity | $5,440 |
| Sloan Kettering New York, NY | Charity | $5,000 |
| BMH Denver, CO | Charity | $4,550 |
| Jewish Community Center Denver, CO | Charity | $4,000 |
| Mizel Institute Denver, CO | Charity | $2,500 |
| Darkhei Noam Fair Lawn, NJ | Charity | $2,000 |
| Jewish Nevada Las Vegas, NV | Charity | $1,800 |
| Jewish National Fund Rockville Centre, NY | Charity | $1,500 |
| Jewish Theological Society New York, NY | Charity | $1,500 |
Ready to take the next step with Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $574,453 | $17,383 | $45,948 | $44,583 | 21 | $44,583 | $18,952 | $26,882 |
| 2024 | $603,024 | $234,364 | $26,047 | $25,467 | 11 | $25,467 | $19,127 | $28,398 |
| 2023 | $394,723 | $12,318 | $33,152 | $32,795 | 14 | $32,795 | $13,028 | $26,261 |
| 2022 | $415,538 | $20,178 | $24,633 | $24,185 | 17 | $24,185 | $17,116 | $26,979 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz reported a distributable amount of $27K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for organizations whose stated work spans Jewish community and educational activities, healthcare, and higher education. For example, Denver Jewish Day School says its mission is to ensure a Jewish future through academic excellence and Jewish learning; Shalom Park describes providing healthcare and related services through a skilled nursing facility; and the University of Denver describes its mission as promoting learning and scholarly inquiry. Jewish National Fund-USA describes work across areas including forestry, water solutions, community building, education, and heritage preservation.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation gave $44,583 through 21 grants. Grant amounts ranged from $100 to $10,000, with a median grant of $1,360. Its largest grants included $10,000 to Jewish Colorado, $5,440 to Denver Kehillah, $5,000 to Sloan Kettering, $4,550 to BMH, and $4,000 to Jewish Community Center. Other listed grants included $2,500 to Mizel Institute, $2,000 to Darkhei Noam, and $1,800 to Jewish Nevada.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Ian D Gardenswartz, Hillary Gardenswartz, and Shana Jacobs as board members.
Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz's 2025 filing lists 3 officers; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Hillary Gardenswartz
Board Member
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Ian D. Gardenswartz
Board Member
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Shana Jacobs
Board Member
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2022–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz
How much does Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz give each year?
Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz gave $45K across 21 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $25K across 11 grants.
What is Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz's typical grant size?
Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz's median grant in 2025 was $1,360, and its average grant was $2,123, across 21 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz that year got $2K on average.
Where does Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz give grants?
Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz gives mostly in Colorado: 70% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were New York (18%) and New Jersey (6%). The most frequent recipient cities were Denver, CO (10 grants), New York, NY (3 grants) and Las Vegas, NV (2 grants).
Does Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 21 grants with a stated purpose on Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charity" (21 grants).
Who are Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz's largest grantees?
Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz's largest 2025 grantees include Jewish Colorado ($10,000), Denver Kehillah ($5,440) and Sloan Kettering ($5,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 46% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz?
Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz reported $574K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $45K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $27K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz fund?
No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for organizations whose stated work spans Jewish community and educational activities, healthcare, and higher education. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds; it states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz's EIN?
Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-1868023. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2022–2025.
Does Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2022–2025
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Striker Foundation
Denver, CO
The foundation’s grants have supported organizations working in Jewish education and community services, food assistance, domestic-violence services, children’s health, early literacy, and higher education. In 2024, it made 23 grants totaling $10,482, typically small (median $200), with 55% of grant dollars going to Colorado and others to Florida, Washington, DC, New York, and Michigan. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$337K
Grants
23
Total Given
$10K
The Dreiseszun Family Foundation
Overland Park, KS
The foundation funds education, health care and research, human services, religious organizations, and cultural and historical programs, with 2025 grants ranging from $650 to $1.1 million and a median of $26,250. Giving went primarily to Arizona, California, Colorado, and New York, with some support in Kansas and other states. Its 2024 filing describes a brief-letter application process for eligible 501(c)(3) organizations; it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$154.6M
Grants
68
Total Given
$7.2M
The Chotin Family Foundation
Centennial, CO
The Chotin Family Foundation funds Jewish causes, education, health and medical work, Israel-related programs, and arts and culture, with most 2025 grant dollars going to Colorado and nearly a third to New York. Its 2025 grants had a median of $2,500, though awards ranged from $36 to $289,940. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$6.0M
Grants
49
Total Given
$873K
JEWISHColorado
Denver, CO
JEWISHcolorado funds Jewish life and organizations, including work in outreach, education, human services, and mental health, primarily in Colorado and also in Israel and globally. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1,016,600, with a median of $13,000; the profile says grants have an application process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$84.3M
Grants
151
Total Given
$6.0M
Feiner Family Foundation Co Michae
Greenwood Village, CO
The foundation supports social welfare, health, cultural, religious, and educational causes, and also funds Holocaust education; its 2024 grants went mainly to organizations in California, Arizona, and Colorado. It made 46 grants in 2024, typically around $1,000 (median), with awards ranging from $100 to $75,707. The filing gives no application form or deadline and says it does not limit giving to preselected organizations, but does not explicitly state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$3.6M
Grants
46
Total Given
$260K
Rose Community Foundation
Denver, CO
Rose Community Foundation funds nonprofits in the seven-county Greater Denver region across Jewish life, education and economic opportunity, health, and community wellbeing, with some statewide initiatives. Its 2024 itemized grants ranged from $5,050 to $1,348,353, with a median of $25,000; it accepts inquiries for listed funding opportunities, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally is not stated.
Assets
$399.6M
Grants
531
Total Given
$27.8M
More similar funders
More Funders in Colorado
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Ian and Marsha Gardenswartz down — hundreds of funders to go?