Howard J and Emily J Bromberg
Howard J and Emily J Bromberg is a private foundation, based in Palm Beach Gardens, FL. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.8M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 15 grants totaling $117K. Net investment income was $261K.
Key facts about Howard J and Emily J Bromberg
In short: Howard J and Emily J Bromberg gave $117K across 15 grants in 2025 (avg $8K), top state Florida. 33% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 23-7957240
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $116,915
- Grants made (2025)
- 15
- Average grant
- $7,794
- Median grant
- $5,765
- New grantees (estimate)
- 33% first-time grantees (5 of 15, 2025)
- Total assets
- $1,835,765
- Primary geography
- Florida (45% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$1.8M
+6.6% YoY
Annual Giving
$117K
+60.2% YoY
Grant Count
15
+36.4% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$8K
+17.5% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Howard J and Emily J Bromberg reported a distributable amount of $120K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Howard J and Emily J Bromberg open to new grantees?
33%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 5 of 15 grantees (33%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $5K; repeat grants $9K. How we count
Medians: $5K first-time, $8K repeat.
- 60% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 173% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 99% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Ready to take the next step with Howard J and Emily J Bromberg?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 15 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $36K (2020) to $117K (2025). In 2025 it made 15 grants totaling $117K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was American Friends of Magen David Adom ($25K). Together the top 10 received $109K.
Grant Size Distribution
59 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 59 grants of 59 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| American Friends of Magen David Adom New York, NY | General Charitable Giving | $25,000 |
| Purdue Foundation West Lafayette, IN | General Charitable Giving | $20,000 |
| Temple Beth Am Jupiter, FL | General Charitable Giving | $12,000 |
| Jupiter Medical Center Foundation Jupiter, FL | General Charitable Giving | $10,000 |
| Maltz Jupiter Theater Jupiter, FL | General Charitable Giving | $10,000 |
| Central Fund of Israel Cedarhurst, NY | General Charitable Giving | $10,000 |
| Jewish Federation of Palm Beach County West Palm Beach, FL | General Charitable Giving | $6,000 |
| Temple Beth El West Palm Beach, FL | General Charitable Giving | $5,765 |
| Jewish Family Services Davie, FL | General Charitable Giving | $5,000 |
| Federation for Defense of Democracies Washington, DC | General Charitable Giving | $5,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,835,765 | $1,721,783 | $1,675,357 |
| Revenue | $266,247 | $41,514 | $532,786 |
| Expenses | $122,757 | $84,005 | $60,867 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $119,078 | $75,030 | $53,580 |
| Net Investment Income | $260,828 | $81,245 | $514,720 |
| Distributable Amount | $119,951 | $108,593 | $82,490 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 14, 2020)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Howard J and Emily J Bromberg's 2025 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Emily J. Bromberg
Officer & Director
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Howard J. Bromberg
Officer & Director
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Howard J and Emily J Bromberg
How much does Howard J and Emily J Bromberg give each year?
Howard J and Emily J Bromberg gave $117K across 15 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $73K across 11 grants.
What is Howard J and Emily J Bromberg's typical grant size?
Howard J and Emily J Bromberg's median grant in 2025 was $5,765, and its average grant was $7,794, across 15 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Howard J and Emily J Bromberg that year got $5K on average.
Where does Howard J and Emily J Bromberg give grants?
Howard J and Emily J Bromberg's top state is Florida, with 45% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were New York (32%) and Indiana (19%). The most frequent recipient cities were Jupiter, FL (3 grants), New York, NY (2 grants) and West Palm Beach, FL (2 grants).
Does Howard J and Emily J Bromberg give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Howard J and Emily J Bromberg's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (15 of 15) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Howard J and Emily J Bromberg's largest grantees?
Howard J and Emily J Bromberg's largest 2025 grantees include American Friends of Magen David Adom ($25,000), Purdue Foundation ($20,000) and Temple Beth Am ($12,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 49% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Howard J and Emily J Bromberg?
Howard J and Emily J Bromberg reported $1.8M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $119K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $120K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Howard J and Emily J Bromberg's EIN?
Howard J and Emily J Bromberg's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7957240. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Here's the math on researching Howard J and Emily J Bromberg by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Howard J and Emily J Bromberg's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Fuchs Family Foundation Inc
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
The Fuchs Family Foundation supports a varied group of charitable organizations, with 2025 grants spanning medical care, Israel-related education and services, and other causes. Its 17 grants totaled $826,200, ranging from $2,500 to $167,000, with a median of $50,000; recipients were based mainly in Florida, New York, California, and New Jersey. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$554K
Grants
17
Total Given
$826K
Jewish Community Foundation of Greater
Whippany, NJ
The Jewish Community Foundation of Greater MetroWest NJ supports Jewish and broader-community causes, including local Jewish education, older-adult services, synagogue engagement, and specified needs in Israel; it also makes grants nationally and internationally. Its 2025 grants had a median of $17,400, while its local program offers up to $15,000–$20,000 depending on category. It accepts applications from eligible agencies and synagogues for its local program during a stated application period, and from qualifying organizations for Israel grants each spring.
Assets
$648.3M
Grants
407
Total Given
$29.3M
Publix Super Markets Charities Inc
Lakeland, FL
Publix Super Markets Charities supports nonprofits addressing hunger, homelessness and housing, youth, education, and community needs in Florida, Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Kentucky. Its 2024 median grant was $2,500, though awards ranged widely; it accepts online requests from eligible organizations, with application periods varying by program.
Assets
$233.8M
Grants
3,269
Total Given
$52.5M
The Community Foundation
Jacksonville, FL
The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida supports nonprofits and civic work in Duval, St. Johns, Nassau, Baker, Clay, and Putnam counties, with interests including neighborhoods, education, aging adults, arts, women and girls, young children, and early literacy. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though amounts varied widely; most donor-advised grants are not open to applications, but eligible nonprofits can apply through competitive programs when application windows are open.
Assets
$708.7M
Grants
2,470
Total Given
$78.0M
The Miami Foundation Inc
Miami, FL
The Miami Foundation funds a broad range of work, including arts and culture, health and wellness, economic opportunity, youth and families, equity, and climate resilience; its Community Grants provide flexible two-year general operating support to nonprofits in Greater Miami. In 2023, grants had a median of $21,585, though awards varied widely; the current application cycle is closed, and applications are expected to open in 2027.
Assets
$525.0M
Grants
879
Total Given
$57.2M
Community Foundation of Tampa Bay Inc
Tampa, FL
The Community Foundation of Tampa Bay funds nonprofits addressing economic opportunity, environmental sustainability, health, education, and community vitality in Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Hernando, and Citrus counties. Its annual competitive grants are typically $10,000–$50,000; it also accepts year-round requests for urgent, unforeseen needs of up to $250,000. Apply through the relevant grant opportunity; the profile does not state whether general unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
698
Total Given
$54.3M
Gulf Coast Community Foundation Inc
Venice, FL
Gulf Coast Community Foundation funds arts and culture, civic and economic development, education, the environment, health and human services, and disaster response, with a focus on its Florida service area. Community grants provide up to $25,000 per organization per fiscal year; larger catalytic grants are available, and 2025 grants had a median of $16,251. It accepts unsolicited requests through scheduled Community Grant cycles; catalytic grants start with a letter of inquiry, and initiative grants are by invitation only.
Assets
$533.7M
Grants
651
Total Given
$45.0M
Early Learning Coalition of Broward
Fort Lauderdale, FL
The Early Learning Coalition of Broward funds child care reimbursement and early-learning providers, including programs supporting child care and preschool, primarily in Broward County, Florida. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,127 to $3,994,863, with a median of $158,921. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$15.9M
Grants
636
Total Given
$152.2M
Leslie L Alexander Foundation Inc
Delray Beach, FL
The Leslie L Alexander Foundation supports animal rescue, education, children’s services, and other charitable work. In 2024, grants ranged from $600 to $1 million, with a median of $35,000; giving was concentrated in Florida and Texas, with awards also made elsewhere. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$291.4M
Grants
622
Total Given
$28.4M
CSX Foundation Inc
Jacksonville, FL
Assets
$9.7M
Grants
607
Total Given
$13.7M
United Way Miami Inc
Miami, FL
United Way Miami funds education, economic mobility, health and wellbeing, and resilient-community programs, with its community focus in Miami-Dade County. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,082 to $1,693,432, with a median of $18,410; published opportunities include selected awards of up to $153,000. It publishes specific grant opportunities and application details; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$157.2M
Grants
562
Total Given
$32.6M
More Funders in Florida
Howard J and Emily J Bromberg down — hundreds of funders to go?