Higher Education Cable Consortium
Higher Education Cable Consortium is a private foundation, based in Mequon, WI. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $54K. Net investment income was $12K.
Higher Education Cable Consortium at a glance
In short: Higher Education Cable Consortium gave $54K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $54K), mostly in Wisconsin. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $54,363
- +987.3% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $54,363
- +987.3% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $54,363
- Primary geography
- Wisconsin (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Higher Education Cable Consortium funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Milwaukee PBS ($54K).
Grant Size Distribution
5 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 4 grants of 5 (80%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
How Higher Education Cable Consortium gives
- Giving grew 1259% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $3K (2019) to $54K (2025). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $54K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Milwaukee PBS Milwaukee, WI | Donation | $54,363 |
Ready to take the next step with Higher Education Cable Consortium?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | — | $12,351 | $62,615 | $54,363 | 1 | $54,363 | $12,351 | $2,734 |
| 2024 | $63,139 | $3,252 | $6,643 | $5,000 | 1 | $5,000 | $3,252 | $3,073 |
| 2023 | $63,477 | $2,897 | $6,645 | $5,000 | 1 | $5,000 | $2,897 | $3,121 |
| 2022 | $64,885 | $2,758 | $5,798 | $4,000 | 1 | $4,000 | $2,758 | $3,398 |
| 2021 | $74,642 | $3,454 | $5,205 | $3,500 | 1 | $5,180 | $3,454 | $3,651 |
| 2020 | $75,553 | $1,805 | $5,209 | $3,400 | 1 | — | $1,805 | $3,716 |
| 2019 | $76,369 | $2,945 | $5,285 | $3,400 | 1 | — | $2,945 | $3,720 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Higher Education Cable Consortium reported a distributable amount of $3K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Higher Education Cable Consortium is led by Jon Pray, President on every filing since 2019 — the only officer listed, and uncompensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Jon Pray
President
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (6)
- Former: David Weinberg-Kinsey (2019–2023) — Delegate
- Former: Denise Spleas (2019–2023) — Secretary
- Former: Eloisa Gomez (2019–2023) — Delegate
- Former: Kent Peterson (2019–2023) — Vice President
- Former: Randall Coorough (2019–2023) — Delegate
- Former: Richard Busalacchi (2019–2023) — Delegate
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Higher Education Cable Consortium
How much does Higher Education Cable Consortium give each year?
Higher Education Cable Consortium gave $54K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $5K across 1 grant.
Where does Higher Education Cable Consortium operate?
Higher Education Cable Consortium has awarded grants in Wisconsin.
How much is Higher Education Cable Consortium required to give away each year?
Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2025, Higher Education Cable Consortium reported a distributable amount of $3K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
What is Higher Education Cable Consortium's EIN?
Higher Education Cable Consortium's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 93-0864757. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(3)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS August 28, 2020)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 17, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Higher Education Cable Consortium's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Wisconsin
Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing
Appleton, WI
Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing distributes donor-directed and program donations to a broad range of causes and organizations in local, national, and global communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $11,520 and ranged from $5,006 to $5 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$939.7M
Grants
2,565
Total Given
$84.6M
Alliant Energy Foundation Inc
Madison, WI
Assets
$28.5M
Grants
929
Total Given
$2.4M
Greater Milwaukee Foundation Inc
Milwaukee, WI
The Greater Milwaukee Foundation funds nonprofit programs, projects, general operations and capital needs, with priorities including early childhood education, housing, basic needs, health, arts and culture, and scientific research. Its competitive grants primarily serve Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Washington and Waukesha counties; in 2024, the median grant was about $27,800, though awards varied widely. It runs competitive grant cycles, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
838
Total Given
$66.8M
Give Back Foundation
Madison, WI
Give Back Foundation distributes donor-designated contributions through workplace giving and other giving platforms to selected 501(c)(3) charities, rather than setting its own cause areas. In 2025, grants had a median of $9,066, with recipient organizations concentrated in Virginia, California, and Washington, D.C.; it does not accept unsolicited requests or work directly with charities.
Assets
$31.3M
Grants
639
Total Given
$40.1M
United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County Inc
Milwaukee, WI
United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County funds local human services and community programs focused on housing stability, digital access, employment, teen mental wellness, and community resilience. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to about $2 million, with a median of about $34,000, and most funding went to Wisconsin, especially its four-county region. It requires a Letter of Intent before a full application; the listed 2026–27 Letter of Intent deadline has passed.
Assets
$50.8M
Grants
639
Total Given
$42.7M
Green Bay Packers Foundation
Green Bay, WI
The Green Bay Packers Foundation funds Wisconsin charities working in areas such as families, athletics, children’s safety and education, animal welfare, and other focus areas that vary by year. Its 2026 announcement describes typical awards of $3,000–$8,000, though some grants are larger; it accepts online applications during its stated cycle, February 2–April 1, 2026.
Assets
$57.2M
Grants
530
Total Given
$3.6M
More similar funders
More Funders in Wisconsin
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Higher Education Cable Consortium's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Higher Education Cable Consortium down — hundreds of funders to go?