Herbert a Templeton Foundation
Herbert a Templeton Foundation is a private foundation, based in Portland, OR. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $18.5M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $1.2M. Net investment income was $1.2M.
Herbert a Templeton Foundation at a glance
In short: Herbert a Templeton Foundation gave $1.2M across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $1.2M), mostly in Oregon. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $1,230,805
- -0.1% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 1
- +0.0% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $1,230,805
- -0.1% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $1,230,805
- Total assets
- $18,543,586
- +2.5% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- Oregon (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.
How to apply to Herbert a Templeton Foundation
Open Grants
1 open opportunity from Herbert a Templeton Foundation
Who Herbert a Templeton Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
5 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $1–5M range: 5 grants of 5 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2024 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
How Herbert a Templeton Foundation gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−5%). Method
- In 2024 it paid out 126% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $1.2M (2024) to $1.4M (2020). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $1.2M.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| See Attached Schedule Portland, OR | Enviro/Humanities/Social Svc | $1,230,805 |
Ready to take the next step with Herbert a Templeton Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $18,543,586 | $1,384,974 | $1,524,520 | $1,230,805 | 1 | $1,350,301 | $1,220,997 | $1,072,921 |
| 2023 | $18,083,152 | $575,927 | $1,489,230 | $1,232,339 | 1 | $1,359,236 | $572,661 | $988,868 |
| 2022 | $19,147,003 | $582,666 | $1,571,608 | $1,269,574 | 1 | $1,383,934 | $446,164 | $1,054,767 |
| 2021 | $19,978,142 | $2,275,910 | $1,591,806 | $1,302,202 | 1 | $1,418,020 | $2,128,011 | $1,129,969 |
| 2020 | $19,294,846 | $1,087,560 | $1,670,872 | $1,410,121 | 1 | — | $953,297 | $989,174 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Herbert a Templeton Foundation reported a distributable amount of $1.1M for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Herbert a Templeton Foundation is led by Christian Richmond, President since 2021 (on filings since 2020); 1 of 7 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Christian Richmond
President
Trustee → President, 2021
On filings since 2020
10 hrs/week
$32K (2021) → $38K (2024)
Ruth B. Richmond
Trustee
President → Trustee, 2021
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
$38K (2020) → $0 (2024)
Peyton Chapman
Trustee
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Homaira Wolper
Trustee
New on the 2024 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jimme Perkins
Treasurer
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Linda M. Girard
Secretary
Assistant Secretary → Secretary, 2024
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Harold Goldstein
Vice President
Trustee → Vice President, 2024
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (5)
- Former: Margaret Eickmann (2020–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Sophia Skaar (2020–2022) — Vice President
- Former: Terrence R. Pancoast (2020–2022) — Secretary & Assistant Treasurer
- Former: Henry R. Richmond (2020) — Vice President
- Former: Peyton Russell (2020) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $38K, to Christian Richmond (President).
Frequently asked questions about Herbert a Templeton Foundation
How much does Herbert a Templeton Foundation give each year?
Herbert a Templeton Foundation gave $1.2M across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $1.2M across 1 grant.
How large is Herbert a Templeton Foundation?
Herbert a Templeton Foundation reported $18.5M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.4M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.1M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
Where does Herbert a Templeton Foundation operate?
Herbert a Templeton Foundation has awarded grants in Oregon.
What is Herbert a Templeton Foundation's EIN?
Herbert a Templeton Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 93-0505586. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Herbert a Templeton Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Oregon
The Oregon Community Foundation
Portland, OR
The Oregon Community Foundation funds Oregon nonprofits and community-serving projects across education, health, arts and culture, housing, economic and community vitality, and the environment. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to nearly $8 million; applications are accepted through specific grant programs and cycles, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
2,149
Total Given
$171.4M
Marie Lamfrom Charitable Foundation
Wilsonville, OR
The Marie Lamfrom Charitable Foundation supports Oregon nonprofits working in education, community, arts and creativity, health, and well-being, often through unrestricted operating grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,000, though awards ranged widely; it also has a Washington Fund for organizations serving Washington and/or Oregon. Its primary grant programs open in January and June; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$374.9M
Grants
663
Total Given
$20.5M
The Roundhouse Foundation
Sisters, OR
The Roundhouse Foundation supports innovative arts and culture, environmental stewardship, social services, and education projects that benefit rural Oregon and Tribal communities. Its typical grant is around $10,000 overall; Open Call awards are usually about $2,501–$30,000, and Small Grants range from $500–$2,500.
Assets
$344.5M
Grants
621
Total Given
$15.6M
OCF Joseph E Weston Public Foundation
Portland, OR
The foundation supports nonprofits serving children, working-poor people, people with disabilities, seniors, and people experiencing homelessness, and also awards school scholarships. It primarily funds Oregon, with grants and scholarships also serving Southwest Washington; in 2024, grants ranged from $5,500 to $3,487,608, with a median of $21,500. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$637.5M
Grants
531
Total Given
$23.3M
Meyer Memorial Trust
Portland, OR
Meyer Memorial Trust funds community-led work advancing racial, social, and economic justice, including efforts in education, climate, community economies, and support for Black, Native, immigrant, and refugee communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, and 93% of grant dollars went to Oregon recipients. It offers open and invited opportunities, but says it will not open a general application call in 2026; check its website for current opportunities.
Assets
$901.2M
Grants
388
Total Given
$45.2M
Micro Enterprise Services of Oregon
Portland, OR
MESO supports under-resourced entrepreneurs through business development, education, and access to capital, including support for childcare businesses and providers. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,000 to $2.55 million, with a median of $72,560; reported grants went to Oregon recipients, while its services also reach the Portland metro area, Beaverton, and southwest Washington. The profile does not state whether MESO accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$17.4M
Grants
38
Total Given
$12.4M
More similar funders
More Funders in Oregon
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Herbert a Templeton Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Herbert a Templeton Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?