Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund
Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund is a private foundation, based in Dallas, TX. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $192K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 5 grants totaling $7K. Net investment income was $19K.
Key facts about Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund
In short: Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund gave $7K across 5 grants in 2025 (avg $1K), mostly in California. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 95-3820054
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $7,100
- Grants made (2025)
- 5
- Average grant
- $1,420
- Median grant
- $775
- Total assets
- $191,729
- Primary geography
- California (73% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$192K
+2.5% YoY
Annual Giving
$7K
+18.3% YoY
Grant Count
5
-28.6% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$1K
+65.7% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund reported a distributable amount of $11K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund gives
- Giving fell 21% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 128% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Ready to take the next step with Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2023) to $9K (2022). In 2025 it made 5 grants totaling $7K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 5 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was College of the Sequoias ($4K). Together the top 5 received $7K.
Grant Size Distribution
34 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 34 grants of 34 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| College of the Sequoias Visalia, CA | Scholarships for Books & | $3,800 |
| California Polytechnic State San Luis Obispo, CA | Scholarships for Books & | $1,350 |
| Washington State University Pullman, WA | Scholarships for Books & | $775 |
| Texas Tech University Lubbock, TX | Scholarships for Books & | $675 |
| Georgetown Univeristy Washington, DC | Unrestricted General | $500 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $191,729 | $187,095 | $183,040 |
| Revenue | $22,482 | $7,433 | $-789 |
| Expenses | $16,934 | $10,519 | $11,333 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $14,604 | $8,464 | $7,937 |
| Net Investment Income | $18,784 | $3,174 | $866 |
| Distributable Amount | $11,418 | $10,799 | $9,823 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund's only listed officer is Bank Of America, Trustee on every filing since 2022 (compensated).
Officers on the 2025 filing
Bank Of America
Trustee
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
$4K (2022) → $3K (2025)
Former officers (1)
- Former: Bank Of America N A (2020–2021) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $3K, to Bank of America (Trustee).
Frequently asked questions about Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund
How much does Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund give each year?
Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund gave $7K across 5 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $6K across 7 grants.
What is Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund's typical grant size?
Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund's median grant in 2025 was $775, and its average grant was $1,420, across 5 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund give grants?
Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund gives mostly in California: 73% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Washington (11%) and Texas (10%).
Does Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund give general operating support?
Yes: 20% of Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (1 of 5) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Recurring purposes include "Scholarships for Books &" (4 grants).
Who are Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund's largest grantees?
Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund's largest 2025 grantees include College of the Sequoias ($3,800), California Polytechnic State ($1,350) and Washington State University ($775), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 83% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund?
Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund reported $192K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $15K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $11K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund's EIN?
Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 95-3820054. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Here's the math on researching Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Project Apis M Inc
Torrey, UT
Project Apis m. funds applied research and initiatives to improve honey bee health, pollination, and forage, primarily through North American research institutions; overseas proposals may be considered if they benefit North American beekeeping. Recent grants ranged from $12,926 to $127,204, with a median of $50,000. Researchers may submit proposals at any time for review by the stated annual deadlines; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the profile.
Assets
$2.0M
Grants
13
Total Given
$747K
IBM International Foundation
Armonk, NY
The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$357.7M
Grants
16
Total Given
$11.7M
Morris Animal Foundation
Denver, CO
Morris Animal Foundation funds international research to improve animal health, including studies involving dogs, cats, horses and wildlife; it does not fund human-health or agricultural-animal-health research. In 2025, grants ranged from $10,000 to $1,849,339, with a median award of $129,125. Researchers apply through specific requests for proposals, but whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.
Assets
$123.3M
Grants
24
Total Given
$4.7M
Donald Danforth Plant Science Center
Saint Louis, MO
The Donald Danforth Plant Science Center funds research and related scientific activities in plant science, including crop improvement, sustainable agriculture, and environmental applications. In 2024, grants ranged from $14,130 to $881,742, with a median of about $163,000, supporting organizations in multiple states, especially Kansas, California, Illinois, Missouri, and Michigan. No application process or policy on unsolicited requests is specified.
Assets
$625.7M
Grants
28
Total Given
$6.4M
LSST Inc
Tucson, AZ
LSST Inc. funds research and training connected to the Rubin Observatory’s LSST, including postdoctoral fellowships, data-analysis tools, collaborative research, and inclusive scientific engagement. Its 2024 grants had a median of $24,000 and ranged from $6,000 to $269,911, with awards to U.S. universities and research organizations; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.8M
Grants
29
Total Given
$1.8M
SAE International
Warrendale, PA
SAE International’s foundation funds scholarships, mobility-technology awards, and PreK–12 STEM education, though its 2024 reported grants were all for scholarships. Its 33 grants ranged from $5,500 to $25,000, with a median of $8,600, and went to schools in multiple U.S. states. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$110.7M
Grants
33
Total Given
$352K
The Camille and Henry Dreyfus
New York, NY
The foundation funds chemical-sciences research and education, including awards for early-career faculty and programs at undergraduate institutions. In 2024, it made 41 grants of $10,000–$100,000, with a median of $75,000, to institutions across the United States. Requests are program-based: the listed awards require institutional nominations, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$111.8M
Grants
41
Total Given
$2.9M
Extension Foundation
Kansas City, MO
Extension Foundation funds Cooperative Extension programs, including pesticide safety education, multi-state initiatives addressing societal priorities, and professional resources, through universities and university-connected organizations nationwide. In 2024, its 51 grants ranged from $5,483 to $507,481, with a median of $69,553. Grants are awarded based on applications received; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$4.1M
Grants
51
Total Given
$4.0M
Alzheimer's Disease & Related Disorders Association Inc
Chicago, IL
The fund supports Alzheimer’s disease and dementia research, including scientific, clinical, social, and behavioral research, as well as related policy work. It awards grants to U.S. and international researchers; the profile does not state a typical giving level or whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$523.7M
Grants
79
Total Given
$73.3M
National 4-H Council
Washington, DC
National 4-H Council funds youth development programs delivered through 4-H and Extension, including academic and career readiness, youth leadership, and community action, through land-grant universities and their local and state programs across the United States. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,971 to $647,151, with a median of $45,661. It accepts applications from eligible 4-H/Extension professionals, state program leaders, or land-grant university administrators through its WebGrants process; state leader approval is required.
Assets
$140.7M
Grants
89
Total Given
$7.4M
Simplot Company Foundation Inc
Boise, ID
The foundation supports U.S. nonprofits working in arts, education, food and agriculture, community, youth, health care, and human services, with most recent grant dollars going to Idaho. In 2026, grants ranged from $500 to $494,613, with a median of $2,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$147.9M
Grants
134
Total Given
$3.8M
Trustees of Tufts College
Medford, MA
Trustees of Tufts College supports university instruction, research, student services, and related organizations; its 2025 grants had a median of $76,881, though many large awards were subcontract grants. Giving is concentrated in Massachusetts, and its Tufts Community Grants offer $5,000 for eligible nonprofit projects in Boston, Grafton, Medford, and Somerville; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.9B
Grants
149
Total Given
$38.3M
More Funders in Texas
Hefflefinger Scholarship Fund down — hundreds of funders to go?