Health Research and Educational Trust logo

Health Research and Educational Trust

Public charity · Grantmaker Chicago, IL EIN: 36-2203931 Website

HRET is principally organized to assist health care organizations and the communities they serve to improve the efficiency, quality & accessibility of health care services by conducting applied research and demonstration projects & disseminating results through education, publications, & other media.

Health Research and Educational Trust at a glance

In short: Health Research and Educational Trust gave $120K across 3 grants in 2024 (avg $40K), mostly in Massachusetts. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$120,000
-7.7% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
3
-25.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$40,000
+23.1% vs 2023
Median grant
$10,000
Total assets
$15,211,006
-4.8% vs 2023
Primary geography
Massachusetts (83% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Health Research and Educational Trust funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 3 recipients in 2024

Boston Medical Center: $100KBoston Medical Center$100KEnglewood Health: $10KEnglewood Health$10KNew York Presbyterian Hospital: $10KNew York Presbyterian Hospital$10K

The largest 2024 recipient was Boston Medical Center ($100K). Together the top 3 received $120K.

Grant Size Distribution

34 grants across all recorded years

28<$50K1$50–100K5$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 28 grants of 34 (82%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

18states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.

Cities

New YorkOrlandoWorcesterArlingtonBostonBuffaloCharlestonChillicotheColdwaterColumbiaConcordEnglewoodFort WorthHagerstownHelenaHollywoodHoustonJoplinLos AngelesNew Haven

How Health Research and Educational Trust gives

  • Giving fell 55% from 2021 to 2024. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K5 grants2020 17 grants2021 5 grants2022 4 grants2023 3 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $120K (2024) to $264K (2021). In 2024 it made 3 grants totaling $120K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Boston Medical Center Boston, MAFoster McGaw Prize Finalist$100,000
Englewood Health Englewood, NJFoster McGaw Prize Finalist$10,000
New York Presbyterian Hospital New York, NYFoster McGaw Prize Finalist$10,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Health Research and Educational Trust?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$15,211,006$6,636,124$9,106,022$120,0003$236,587
2023$15,980,943$10,196,871$12,176,262$130,0004$519,248
2022$19,822,762$11,413,974$12,763,842$135,2005$242,268
2021$22,413,132$10,710,852$11,969,906$264,31217$282,852
2020$21,010,178$10,760,012$13,056,736$249,9405$172,599

About Health Research and Educational Trust

Based on IRS filings

Health Research and Educational Trust is a public charity focused on Health, based in Chicago, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $15.2M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 3 grants totaling $120K. Net investment income was $237K.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Health Research and Educational Trust is led by Christopher M. Derienzo, President on every filing since 2023; 5 of 8 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Christopher M. Derienzo

    President

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Heidi Duncan

    Chair

    On filings since 2021

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Daniel J Delgado

    Senior Director of Finance & Compliance

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $191K (2020) → $211K (2024)

  • Andrew J. Jager

    Senior Director & Pop Health

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $139K (2022) → $184K (2024)

  • Kristin L. Preihs

    Senior Director Clinical Quality

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $170K (2024)

  • Marie Cleary-Fishman

    Vice President Clinical Quality

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $245K (2020) → $267K (2024)

  • Nancy A Myers PhD

    Vice President Leadership & System Innovation

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $250K (2020) → $272K (2024)

  • Russell R. Gronewold

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (9)
  • Former: Louella Hung (2020–2023) — Director Clinc Qual
  • Former: M Michelle Hood (2020–2023) — President
  • Former: Russ Gronewald (2021–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Andrew J Shin (2020–2021) — COO
  • Former: Kristen Hayes (2021) — Director & Clinical Quality
  • Former: Gregory Poulsen (2020) — Chair
  • Former: Jay Bhatt (2020) — President
  • Former: Mary A. Andrawis (2020) — General Management
  • Former: Matt Hanley (2020) — Board Member

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Nancy A Myers PhD — VP Leadership & System Innovation: $272KNancy A Myers PhDVP Leadership & System…$272KMarie Cleary-Fishman — VP Clinical Quality: $267KMarie Cleary-FishmanVP Clinical Quality$267KDaniel J Delgado — Senior Director of Finance and Compliance: $211KDaniel J DelgadoSenior Director of Finance and…$211KAndrew J Jager — Sr Director, Pop Health: $184KAndrew J JagerSr Director, Pop Health$184KKristin L Preihs — Sr Director Clinical Quality: $170KKristin L PreihsSr Director Clinical Quality$170K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $272K, to Nancy A Myers PhD (VP Leadership & System Innovation). 5 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Health Research and Educational Trust

How much does Health Research and Educational Trust give each year?

Health Research and Educational Trust gave $120K across 3 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $130K across 4 grants.

What is Health Research and Educational Trust's typical grant size?

Health Research and Educational Trust's median grant in 2024 was $10,000, and its average grant was $40,000, across 3 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.

Where does Health Research and Educational Trust give grants?

Health Research and Educational Trust gives mostly in Massachusetts: 83% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest states were New Jersey (8%) and New York (8%).

Does Health Research and Educational Trust give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 3 grants with a stated purpose on Health Research and Educational Trust's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Foster McGaw Prize Finalist" (3 grants).

How large is Health Research and Educational Trust?

Health Research and Educational Trust reported $15.2M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $6.6M.

What is Health Research and Educational Trust?

Health Research and Educational Trust is a public charity focused on Health, based in Chicago, IL. It holds $15.2M in total assets as of 2024.

What is Health Research and Educational Trust's EIN?

Health Research and Educational Trust's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-2203931. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 15, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 14, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 15, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 6, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 13, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Live grants for the work Health Research and Educational Trust funds

Health Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Health Research and Educational Trust's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

American Academy of Pediatrics

Itasca, IL

AAP funds child-health projects, including community-based care and access initiatives, pediatric chapter activities, and work on issues such as mental health, immunization, and disease prevention. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,400 to $127,327, with a median of $15,970; U.S. and Canadian projects may apply to CATCH through its application process, while International CATCH supports eligible low- and lower-middle-income countries.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$177.8M

Grants

82

Total Given

$1.9M

The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Philadelphia, PA

CHOP primarily funds pediatric research at universities, hospitals, and research organizations, and also supports employee-led health projects in communities served by CHOP and its Care Network in Pennsylvania and New Jersey. In 2025, it awarded 138 grants totaling about $50.3 million; the median grant was about $115,000, with awards ranging from about $5,800 to $14 million. The profile does not state whether CHOP accepts unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$9.1B

Grants

138

Total Given

$50.3M

American Cancer Society Inc

Atlanta, GA

The American Cancer Society funds cancer research, patient support, and advocacy, including grants to researchers, institutions, and related organizations. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,648 to $9.6 million, with a median of $15,000; research funding supports institutions across the United States. It accepts applications for specific research programs through ProposalCentral, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

509

Total Given

$23.1M

Rheumatology Research Foundation

Atlanta, GA

The Rheumatology Research Foundation funds research, career development, education, and training to improve health for people with rheumatic diseases, supporting applicants from early study through established careers. In 2025, its 170 grants ranged from $500 to $400,000, with a median of $50,000, and went to recipients across multiple U.S. states. Applications are submitted online through individual award programs; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.

Medical Research

Assets

$76.4M

Grants

170

Total Given

$11.6M

Washington University

Saint Louis, MO

Washington University’s reported grants primarily support research at universities, medical centers, and research institutes. In 2025, awards ranged from $5,100 to $6.23 million, with a median of $77,080, and went to recipients in multiple states; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$22.3B

Grants

359

Total Given

$120.7M

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Inc

Charlestown, MA

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center funds patient care, medical research, and health care education, with grants also supporting related community needs and infrastructure. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $132,000, though awards ranged widely; 79% of grant dollars went to Massachusetts recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$4.8B

Grants

148

Total Given

$91.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Illinois

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Health Research and Educational Trust's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Health Research and Educational Trust down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?