HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc
HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc is a private foundation, based in Toledo, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $123K.
Key facts about HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc
In short: HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc gave $123K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $123K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 52-2031975
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $122,786
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- Average grant
- $122,786
- Median grant
- $122,786
- Primary geography
- Ohio (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
—
-100.0% YoY
Annual Giving
$123K
+2398.7% YoY
Grant Count
1
+0.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$123K
+2398.7% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $3K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc gives
- Giving grew 420% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Ready to take the next step with HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2024) to $425K (2023). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $123K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Ottawa Hills Schools Foundation ($123K).
Grant Size Distribution
9 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 6 grants of 9 (67%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Ottawa Hills Schools Foundation Toledo, OH | To Support Ottawa Hills School Foundation | $122,786 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | — | $122,886 | $179,159 |
| Revenue | $3,407 | $3,276 | $4,914 |
| Expenses | $126,293 | $9,549 | $477,135 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $126,293 | $9,549 | $427,135 |
| Distributable Amount | $3,276 | $7,763 | $21,901 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc is led by James Hoffman, Chair on every filing since 2022; none of the 10 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
James Hoffman
Chair
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Angela Brandt
Director
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Arturo Polizzi
Director
President → Director, 2023
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Christi Ansberg
Director
On filings since 2024
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Daniel McQuillen
Director
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Dawn Buskey
Director
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jim Bingle
Director
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kurt Darrow
Director
New on the 2025 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Steve Sadowski
Secretary
On filings since 2022
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Terrence Metzger
Treasurer
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (16)
- Former: Gary Cates (2021–2024) — Director
- Former: Louis Robichaux (2022–2024) — Director
- Former: Randy Oostra (2021–2023) — Director · Filing note: Thru 10/2022
- Former: Bob Laclair (2021–2022) — Director
- Former: David Parker (2021) — Director
- Former: Jeffrey Kuhn (2021) — Secretary
- Former: Leslie Chapman (2021) — Chair
- Former: Steve Cavanaugh (2021) — Treasurer
- Former: Andrew Defosses (2020) — Director
- Former: Daniel Kight (2020) — Vice President
- Former: Eric Talbert (2020) — Treasurer
- Former: Griffin Julius (2020) — Director
- Former: Julie Beckert (2020) — Director
- Former: Martin Allen (2020) — Director
- Former: Rick Rump (2020) — President
- Former: Ruth Hancock (2020) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc
How much does HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc give each year?
HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc gave $123K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $5K across 1 grant.
Where does HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc operate?
HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc has awarded grants in Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin.
How much is HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc required to give away each year?
Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2025, HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $3K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
What is HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc's EIN?
HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 52-2031975. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Here's the math on researching HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Toledo Community Foundation Inc
Toledo, OH
Greater Toledo Community Foundation funds a broad range of community programs, including education, health, social services, arts and culture, and environmental work, mainly in northwest Ohio and southeast Michigan. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $15,500, though amounts varied widely; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$246.9M
Grants
406
Total Given
$17.8M
Columbus Foundation
Columbus, OH
The Columbus Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including arts and culture, education, youth, neighborhoods, basic needs, and capacity building, with a median 2024 grant of about $21,500. Its focus is Central Ohio, though it also funds organizations elsewhere; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
1,747
Total Given
$242.7M
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation supports education, affordable housing, arts and culture, community well-being, neighborhood development, and basic needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, while specific opportunities range from small awards to grants of up to $450,000. It offers open RFP and LOI opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside those opportunities.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,408
Total Given
$184.4M
The Cleveland Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The Cleveland Foundation funds nonprofits working on community needs and long-term priorities, including education, health, arts and culture, economic development, neighborhoods, and human services in Cuyahoga, Lake, and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $30,700, though amounts varied widely. Its general application is open year-round, so it accepts unsolicited requests through that process.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
1,016
Total Given
$184.2M
The Scripps Howard Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Scripps Howard Foundation supports journalism education and related programs, including fellowships and investigative and open-source reporting, with 2024 grants concentrated in Maryland, Washington, D.C., Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. Its median 2024 grant was $1,250, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$69.4M
Grants
819
Total Given
$7.4M
Nisource Charitable Foundation
Columbus, OH
The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$43.0M
Grants
683
Total Given
$7.5M
Dayton Foundation Depository
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation supports eligible nonprofits working in arts and culture, health, education, human services and community building, including capacity building, capital projects and program expansions, primarily in Greater Dayton and nearby counties. Its 2025 itemized grants ranged from $5,020 to $1,792,990, with a median of $12,000. It accepts applications for its discretionary grant program through an online portal.
Assets
$42.3M
Grants
677
Total Given
$22.7M
The Dayton Foundation
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation supports nonprofit projects in areas such as education, arts and culture, health, human services and the environment that benefit Greater Dayton. Greenlight grants range from $500 to $7,500, discretionary grants are above $7,500 and up to $75,000, and its 2025 grant median was $14,550. Organizations can apply through its grants portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$771.2M
Grants
589
Total Given
$32.6M
Timken Co Charitable & Educational Fund
North Canton, OH
The Fund supports approved nonprofits delivering measurable, lasting improvements in communities where Timken operates, including community services, housing, food access, education, and workforce programs. Typical grants are $500–$10,000, with larger requests requiring board preapproval; eligible communities include locations in Ohio, North Carolina, Colorado, Illinois, and South Carolina. It says it gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.1M
Grants
436
Total Given
$2.5M
Jewish Federation of Cleveland
Cleveland, OH
The Jewish Federation of Cleveland funds social-welfare, religious, educational, security, and community programs, with a focus on Cleveland and Ohio as well as Jewish needs in Israel and around the world. Its 2025 grants had a median of $22,250, though amounts varied widely; the available information does not specify whether it accepts unsolicited institutional requests.
Assets
$680.2M
Grants
425
Total Given
$72.7M
More Funders in Ohio
HCR Manor Care Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?