Harrigan Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Fulton, AL EIN: 63-1215795

The Harrigan Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Fulton, Alabama. In its 2025 filing, it reported grants to charitable organizations, including schools, health-related organizations, and community and cultural organizations.

Key facts about Harrigan Family Foundation

In short: Harrigan Family Foundation gave $205K across 21 grants in 2025 (avg $10K), mostly in Alabama. 10% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
63-1215795
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$205,000
Grants made (2025)
21
Average grant
$9,762
Median grant
$2,500
New grantees (estimate)
10% first-time grantees (2 of 21, 2025)
Total assets
$4,755,140
Primary geography
Alabama (87% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$4.8M

+8.4% YoY

Annual Giving

$205K

+7.9% YoY

Grant Count

21

+5.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$10K

+2.8% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Harrigan Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $217K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is Harrigan Family Foundation open to new grantees?

10%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 2 of 21 grantees (10%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $6K; repeat grants $10K. How we count

Medians: $6K first-time, $3K repeat.

  • 90% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+15%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 94% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for a range of organizations. Monroe Health Foundation describes its mission as promoting health through charitable, educational, and scientific purposes, primarily for the benefit of Monroe County, Alabama, and encouraging broad-based support of Monroe County Hospital. Pilots for Christ describes its mission as promoting the Gospel of Jesus Christ through aviation-related activities.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2025, the foundation reported 21 grants totaling $205,000. Grant amounts ranged from $1,000 to $78,000, with a median of $2,500.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Harrigan Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2025, 87% of grant dollars went to recipients in Alabama and 12% to recipients in Colorado. California accounted for 0%.

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 21 itemized grants.

Cities

MobileGrove HillMonroevilleColorado SpringsJacksonSan CarlosFultonBeatriceDurhamFrisco City

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K16 grants2020 16 grants2021 19 grants2022 20 grants2023 20 grants2024 21 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $150K (2020) to $205K (2025). In 2025 it made 21 grants totaling $205K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Community Foundation of South Alabama (GHMH): $78KCommunity Foundation of SouthAlabama (GHMH)$78KClarke County School Foundation Inc (General Fund): $30KClarke County SchoolFoundation Inc (General Fund)$30KUMS-Wright Preparatory School: $15KUMS-Wright Preparatory School$15KYwam Organic: $15KYwam Organic$15KLove for the Least (Samaritan Village): $10KLove for the Least (SamaritanVillage)$10KMonroe Health Foundation: $10KMonroe Health Foundation$10KClarke County School Foundation Inc (Middle School Lab): $10KClarke County SchoolFoundation Inc (Middle School…$10KPilots for Christ: $5KPilots for Christ$5KSybil Smith Family Village Endowment Fund: $5KSybil Smith Family VillageEndowment Fund$5KClarke County Historical Society (Museum): $3KClarke County HistoricalSociety (Museum)$3K

The largest 2025 recipient was Community Foundation of South Alabama (GHMH) ($78K). Together the top 10 received $181K.

Grant Size Distribution

96 grants across all recorded years

91<$50K5$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 91 grants of 96 (95%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Community Foundation of South Alabama (GHMH) Mobile, ALTo Satisfy Charitable Needs$78,000
Clarke County School Foundation Inc (General Fund) Grove Hill, ALTo Satisfy Charitable Needs$30,000
UMS-Wright Preparatory School Mobile, ALTo Satisfy Charitable Needs$15,000
Ywam Organic Colorado Springs, COTo Satisfy Charitable Needs$15,000
Love for the Least (Samaritan Village) Colorado Springs, COTo Satisfy Charitable Needs$10,000
Monroe Health Foundation Monroeville, ALTo Satisfy Charitable Needs$10,000
Clarke County School Foundation Inc (Middle School Lab) Grove Hill, ALTo Satisfy Charitable Needs$10,000
Pilots for Christ Monroeville, ALTo Satisfy Charitable Needs$5,000
Sybil Smith Family Village Endowment Fund Mobile, ALTo Satisfy Charitable Needs$5,000
Clarke County Historical Society (Museum) Grove Hill, ALTo Satisfy Charitable Needs$2,500

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grant sum Grant count
2025 $4,755,140 $391,297 $229,680 $205,000 21
2024 $4,385,230 $31,171 $215,723 $190,000 20
2023 $3,700,420 $357,014 $227,935 $195,000 20
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$500K$1M$1.5M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$4,755,140$4,385,230$3,700,420
Revenue$391,297$31,171$357,014
Expenses$229,680$215,723$227,935
Qualifying Distributions$205,000$190,000$195,000
Net Investment Income$391,297$104,657$307,014
Distributable Amount$217,373$204,155$189,531

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS January 26, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 29, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 13, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS January 15, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS January 21, 2025)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS January 27, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists William Dwight Harrigan III as director, and Jeffery Boyd Harrigan and John Patrick Harrigan as officers.

Harrigan Family Foundation's 2025 filing lists 3 officers; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • William Dwight Harrigan III

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeffery Boyd Harrigan

    Officer

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Patrick Harrigan

    Officer

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: P O Box 38, Fulton, AL 36446
Phone: (334) 636-4424

Frequently asked questions about Harrigan Family Foundation

How much does Harrigan Family Foundation give each year?

Harrigan Family Foundation gave $205K across 21 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $190K across 20 grants.

What is Harrigan Family Foundation's typical grant size?

Harrigan Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $2,500, and its average grant was $9,762, across 21 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Harrigan Family Foundation that year got $6K on average.

Where does Harrigan Family Foundation give grants?

Harrigan Family Foundation gives mostly in Alabama: 87% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Colorado (12%). The most frequent recipient cities were Mobile, AL (7 grants), Grove Hill, AL (5 grants), Monroeville, AL (4 grants) and Colorado Springs, CO (2 grants).

Does Harrigan Family Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 21 grants with a stated purpose on Harrigan Family Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "To Satisfy Charitable Needs" (21 grants).

Who are Harrigan Family Foundation's largest grantees?

Harrigan Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Community Foundation of South Alabama (GHMH) ($78,000), Clarke County School Foundation Inc (General Fund) ($30,000) and UMS-Wright Preparatory School ($15,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 60% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Harrigan Family Foundation?

Harrigan Family Foundation reported $4.8M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $205K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $217K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What does Harrigan Family Foundation fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants included support for a range of organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Harrigan Family Foundation?

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Harrigan Family Foundation's EIN?

Harrigan Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 63-1215795. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Does Harrigan Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Harrigan Family Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Harrigan Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

MW Smith Jr Foundation

Mobile, AL

Assets

$3.5M

Grants

8

Total Given

$147K

The O'Melia Foundation

Birmingham, AL

The O’Melia Foundation supports healthcare, churches, schools, volunteer fire departments, and other charitable organizations, with nearly all recent grant dollars going to Alabama. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,000 to $230,000, with a median of $5,000; it gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.1M

Grants

20

Total Given

$361K

Henson and Kirkland Charitable

Chatom, AL

Henson and Kirkland Charitable funds general-purpose support, education and school projects, youth programs, scholarships, disaster relief, and services for people with disabilities or healthcare barriers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $106,500, with a median of $5,750; 91% of grant dollars went to Alabama recipients. It accepts requests without a prescribed form from eligible 501(c)(3) organizations, and no deadline is stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$9.6M

Grants

21

Total Given

$469K

United Bank Charitable Foundation

Atmore, AL

United Bank Charitable Foundation supports libraries, housing, children’s services, historical groups, and other community organizations, primarily in communities where the bank has offices; recent grants went to organizations in Alabama and Florida. In 2025, grants ranged from $10 to $5,000, with a median of $2,500. It accepts written applications describing the charity’s needs; the filing says they must arrive before the calendar year in which funding is made.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$817K

Grants

12

Total Given

$26K

J L Bedsole Foundation

Mobile, AL

The J L Bedsole Foundation funds education, arts and culture, health and human services, and economic and community development, with a focus on lasting benefits in Southwest Alabama’s Mobile, Baldwin, Clarke, Monroe, and Washington counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $500,000, with a median of $6,000. It accepts applications through an online portal; deadlines are posted there.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$55.0M

Grants

167

Total Given

$3.3M

The Stewart Family Charitable Foundation

El Paso, TX

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$370K

Grants

4

Total Given

$25K

Millsdavis Foundation

Saint Paul, MN

The Millsdavis Foundation supports youth programs and education, homelessness services, conservation, and community spaces. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $50,000, with a median of $25,000, and went to organizations in Oregon, California, Washington, and Hawaii. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$11.4M

Grants

29

Total Given

$693K

Restored

Stillwater, MN

RESTORED funds ministries and community organizations addressing tangible needs, including food and housing, support for exploited women, and other community and faith-based work. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,000 to $50,000, with a median of $12,000; recipients were mainly in Minnesota, with others in Wisconsin, Virginia, and Florida. It invites ministries and organizations to apply to become partners.

Human Services

Assets

$2.1M

Grants

27

Total Given

$511K

Thomas L Turner Charitable Trust

Mobile, AL

The Thomas L Turner Charitable Trust funds public charitable, scientific, and educational purposes that benefit Alabama residents, with a preference for southwest Alabama. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,000 to $20,000, with a median of $7,000. It accepts unsolicited written requests; applicants should include their legal name and address and, if applicable, an exemption determination letter.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$973K

Grants

13

Total Given

$114K

Appalachian Society of American Forester

Cloverdale, VA

Advance the science, technology, education, and practice of forestry ensure the continued health and use of forest ecosystems and the present and futre availability of forest resources to benefit society

Assets

$540K

Grants

0

Total Given

$6K

George Frederick Jewett Foundation East

St. Paul, MN

The foundation supports a varied range of projects, including education, health services, facilities, foster care, science, and arts programs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $100,000, with a median of $20,000, and most funding went to Massachusetts, with additional grants in California, the District of Columbia, Connecticut, and Maryland. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$21.5M

Grants

39

Total Given

$1.2M

Alabama Power Foundation Inc

Birmingham, AL

The Alabama Power Foundation funds education, community development, arts and culture, health and human services, and environmental projects in Alabama communities within Alabama Power’s service territory. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $500,000, with a median of $2,500; it offers online grant application cycles, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$117.9M

Grants

1,240

Total Given

$16.2M

More Funders in Alabama

Harrigan Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?