Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc

Private foundation · Grantmaker Gaffney, SC EIN: 57-6024261

Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc is a private foundation based in Gaffney, South Carolina. It supports charitable organizations, with its 2024 grants going to recipients in South Carolina.

Key facts about Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc

In short: Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc gave $92K across 16 grants in 2024 (avg $6K), mostly in South Carolina. 7% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
57-6024261
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$92,300
Grants made (2024)
16
Average grant
$5,769
Median grant
$4,045
New grantees (estimate)
7% first-time grantees (1 of 15, 2024)
Total assets
$1,421,166
Primary geography
South Carolina (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$1.4M

-0.2% YoY

Annual Giving

$92K

+30.3% YoY

Grant Count

16

+0.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$6K

+30.3% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $68K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc open to new grantees?

7%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 1 of 15 grantees (7%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $4K; repeat grants $6K. How we count

Medians: $4K first-time, $5K repeat.

  • 93% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving grew 33% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 164% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 grants supported organizations addressing homelessness, meals for homebound older adults and people with disabilities, youth care, emergency assistance, and other community needs. For example, Miracle Hill Ministries describes its mission as transforming the lives of children and adults experiencing homelessness; Cherokee County Meals on Wheels says it provides hot meals to homebound elderly and disabled people; and Cherokee Children’s Home says it provides long-term and emergency care to youth in the care of the South Carolina Department of Social Services.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2024, the foundation awarded 16 grants totaling $92,300. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $13,700, with a median grant of $4,045. Larger awards included $13,700 to Miracle Hill Ministries for general operating support, $13,550 to The Salvation Army for assistance and a soup kitchen, $11,990 each to Iron City Ministries and Peach Center Ministries for financial assistance, and $7,500 to Cherokee County Meals on Wheels for new kitchen equipment.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

All grant dollars reported for 2024 went to recipients in South Carolina.

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 16 itemized grants.

Cities

GaffneySpartanburgGreenvilleBlacksburg

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$25K$50K$75K$100K15 grants2020 14 grants2021 17 grants2022 16 grants2023 16 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $67K (2020) to $92K (2024). In 2024 it made 16 grants totaling $92K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Miracle Hill Ministries: $14KMiracle Hill Ministries$14KThe Salvation Army: $14KThe Salvation Army$14KIron City Ministries: $12KIron City Ministries$12KPeach Center Ministries: $12KPeach Center Ministries$12KCherokee County Meals on Wheels: $8KCherokee County Meals onWheels$8KCherokee Childrens Home: $6KCherokee Childrens Home$6KGrassy Pond Baptist Church: $5KGrassy Pond Baptist Church$5KBoys Girls Clubs Kids Clubs: $4KBoys Girls Clubs Kids Clubs$4KJerusalem Project: $4KJerusalem Project$4KCherokee Historical Preservation: $3KCherokee HistoricalPreservation$3K

The largest 2024 recipient was Miracle Hill Ministries ($14K). Together the top 10 received $81K.

Grant Size Distribution

78 grants across all recorded years

78<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 78 grants of 78 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Miracle Hill Ministries Gaffney, SCGeneral Op Support$13,700
The Salvation Army Gaffney, SCAsst & Soup Kitchen$13,550
Iron City Ministries Blacksburg, SCFinancial Assistance$11,990
Peach Center Ministries Gaffney, SCFinancial Assistance$11,990
Cherokee County Meals on Wheels Gaffney, SCNew Kitchen Equipment$7,500
Cherokee Childrens Home Gaffney, SCGeneral Op Support$6,140
Grassy Pond Baptist Church Gaffney, SCWinShape Camp$5,000
Boys Girls Clubs Kids Clubs Gaffney, SCGeneral Op Support$4,420
Jerusalem Project Gaffney, SCJerusalem Project 2025$3,670
Cherokee Historical Preservation Gaffney, SCEvent Hall Tech Update$2,720

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2024 $1,421,166 $154,751 $124,516 $92,300 (16)
2023 $1,423,821 $38,735 $79,166 $70,858 (16)
2022 $1,354,854 $72,931 $90,735 $78,285 (17)
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$50K$100K$150K$200K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$1,421,166$1,423,821$1,354,854
Revenue$154,751$38,735$72,931
Expenses$124,516$79,166$90,735
Qualifying Distributions$111,964$72,170$81,824
Net Investment Income$38,149$37,236$67,034
Distributable Amount$68,184$68,407$70,731

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists Charles F Hamrick II, Wardlaw Hamrick, Lyman Hamrick, Carlisle Hamrick, and David Dorman as directors. David Dorman is also listed as treasurer. Cameron Hamrick is listed as chair and director.

Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc is led by Cameron Hamrick, Chair & Director on every filing since 2021; none of the 6 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Cameron Hamrick

    Chair & Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Carlisle Hamrick

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Charles F Hamrick II

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Dorman

    Treasurer & Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lyman Hamrick

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Wardlaw Hamrick

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (8)
  • Former: Chris Steed (2021–2022) — Executive Director
  • Former: A W Hamrick (2020) — Director
  • Former: C F Hamrick II (2020) — Director
  • Former: C M Steed (2020) — Executive Director
  • Former: C W Hamrick (2020) — Chair & Director
  • Former: D E Dorman (2020) — Treasurer & Director
  • Former: L W Hamrick (2020) — Director
  • Former: W C Hamrick (2020) — Secretary & Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: PO Box 48, Gaffney, SC 29342-0048
Phone: (864) 487-6254

Frequently asked questions about Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc

How much does Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc give each year?

Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc gave $92K across 16 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $71K across 16 grants.

What is Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc's typical grant size?

Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc's median grant in 2024 was $4,045, and its average grant was $5,769, across 16 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc that year got $4K on average.

Where does Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc give grants?

Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc gives mostly in South Carolina: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Gaffney, SC (12 grants) and Spartanburg, SC (2 grants).

Does Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc give general operating support?

Yes: 25% of Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (4 of 16) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc's largest grantees?

Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc's largest 2024 grantees include Miracle Hill Ministries ($13,700), The Salvation Army ($13,550) and Iron City Ministries ($11,990), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 43% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc?

Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc reported $1.4M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $112K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $68K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 grants supported organizations addressing homelessness, meals for homebound older adults and people with disabilities, youth care, emergency assistance, and other community needs. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc?

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc's EIN?

Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 57-6024261. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Does Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

The Fullerton Foundation

Gaffney, SC

The Fullerton Foundation funds medical research and care, education and clinical training, youth services, and recovery programs, primarily in South Carolina, with additional support in North Carolina and smaller amounts in Florida and Alabama. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $100,000, with a median of $10,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$35.8M

Grants

54

Total Given

$1.5M

Duke Energy Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce development, local economic development and recovery, disaster resilience, conservation, and economic opportunity in communities across North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. It reports more than $30 million in annual charitable grants; awards vary widely, with a 2024 median of $25,000, and applications of $20,000 or less are accepted on a rolling basis. Applicants should contact their local Foundation representative before applying.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$25.6M

United Way of the Piedmont Inc

Spartanburg, SC

United Way of the Piedmont funds nonprofit programs addressing economic mobility, basic needs, education, health, and safe environments in Cherokee, Spartanburg, and Union counties, South Carolina. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,123 to $163,220, with a median of $25,504. It accepts applications through its community investment process when open; the 2026–2028 process is closed.

Assets

$3.5M

Grants

40

Total Given

$1.6M

Arkwright Foundation

Spartanburg, SC

The Arkwright Foundation supports charitable organizations working in education, health and dental services, community assistance, arts and culture, and food access, primarily in South Carolina. Its 2024 grants ranged from $50 to $273,700, with a median of $2,000; charitable organizations may contact the foundation by letter, personal visit, or phone call, and no deadline is listed.

Assets

$16.8M

Grants

101

Total Given

$970K

Waite C Hamrick Jr Foundation

Atlanta, GA

Assets

$258K

Grants

6

Total Given

$5K

Foundation for the Carolinas

Charlotte, NC

Foundation For The Carolinas funds nonprofits and other eligible organizations working in areas such as education, health and human services, the environment, youth development, and animal welfare, primarily across 13 counties in North and South Carolina. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely; most grants are donor-recommended and have no application process, while some competitive programs accept applications under program-specific rules.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.9B

Grants

1,605

Total Given

$609.1M

Timken Foundation of Canton

Canton, OH

The Timken Foundation of Canton makes capital grants for charitable and educational projects, including arts, higher education, housing, social services, and community facilities; most 2025 funding went to Ohio, with awards also reaching other states and India. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,026 to $2.5 million, with a median of $65,000. It accepts submissions without a required form or deadline; contact Robert R. Timken and include proof of 501(c)(3) status.

Assets

$145.2M

Grants

111

Total Given

$19.5M

WR & Eh Floyd Foundation

Drayton, SC

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$249K

Grants

22

Total Given

$16K

South Carolina Christian Foundation

Spartanburg, SC

The foundation funds Christian ministries, churches, and quality-of-life organizations, with particular attention through its Community Trust Grants to Christian nonprofits in five South Carolina counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $15,000, though awards varied widely; most grant dollars went to South Carolina, with additional funding in other states. Community Trust applicants must submit a Ministry Introduction Form and be invited to apply; the profile does not state whether other requests are unsolicited.

Assets

$45.4M

Grants

285

Total Given

$11.6M

Central Carolina Community Foundation

Columbia, SC

Central Carolina Community funds education, human services, health, arts and culture, community development, disaster relief, and nonprofit capacity-building, primarily in the 11-county Midlands region of South Carolina, with some statewide and national grantmaking. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000; eligible nonprofits may apply through the online portal during published grant periods, though some opportunities are invitation-only.

Assets

$264.3M

Grants

488

Total Given

$26.5M

Coastal Community Foundation of South Carolina Inc

N Charleston, SC

The Coastal Community Foundation of South Carolina funds nonprofits through competitive grants for areas including education, health, community development, arts, and human needs. Its 2024 grants had a median of $16,500, with awards ranging from $5,057 to $2.3 million, across nine coastal South Carolina counties. It accepts applications only for listed competitive programs, through its online portal.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$435.6M

Grants

459

Total Given

$26.0M

Community Foundation of Greenville Inc

Greenville, SC

Community Foundation of Greenville funds nonprofits and projects in arts, education, environment, health, and human services, with a focus on Greenville County, South Carolina. Its 2026 Capacity Building Grants award $5,000–$12,500; 2024 grants had a median of $23,900. It accepts unsolicited requests through its Capacity Building Grants program.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$118.8M

Grants

346

Total Given

$26.4M

More Funders in South Carolina

Hamrick Mills Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?