Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio
GOOD SHEPHERD FDN OF OHIO is a private foundation located in Pennington, New Jersey. Its 2025 filing reports grants to charitable organizations in Ohio, including organizations serving people with disabilities and other community needs.
Key facts about Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio
In short: Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio gave $1.1M across 27 grants in 2025 (avg $39K), mostly in Ohio. 7% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 31-1190446
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $1,059,356
- Grants made (2025)
- 27
- Average grant
- $39,235
- Median grant
- $25,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 7% first-time grantees (2 of 27, 2025)
- Total assets
- $2,899,096
- Primary geography
- Ohio (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$2.9M
-18.1% YoY
Annual Giving
$1.1M
+12.9% YoY
Grant Count
27
-3.6% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$39K
+17.1% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio reported a distributable amount of $185K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio open to new grantees?
7%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 2 of 27 grantees (7%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $18K; repeat grants $41K. How we count
Medians: $18K first-time, $27K repeat.
- 85% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 38% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 588% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants include support for organizations whose own missions include serving people with disabilities. For example, I AM BOUNDLESS INC describes its mission as “building a world that realizes the boundless potential of all people,” while SPECIAL OLYMPICS OHIO INC provides year-round sports training and competition for Ohio children and adults with intellectual disabilities. BLOSSOM HILL INC says it enhances the daily lives of individuals with disabilities and their families through personalized care. Other 2025 grantees describe work in vocational opportunities, community inclusion, and services for people with developmental disabilities.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation made 27 grants totaling $1,059,356. Awards ranged from $5,000 to $185,000, with a median grant of $25,000. Notable grants included $185,000 to LIFETOWN COLUMBUS aka OSU CHABAD HOUSE, $130,000 to I AM BOUNDLESS INC, $100,000 to SPECIAL OLYMPICS OHIO INC, and $80,000 to BLOSSOM HILL INC. The listed purposes for these grants were unrestricted general support.
Ready to take the next step with Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
All grant dollars reported for 2025 went to recipients in Ohio.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 27 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $414K (2020) to $1.1M (2025). In 2025 it made 27 grants totaling $1.1M.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was LIFETOWN COLUMBUS aka OSU CHABAD HOUSE ($185K). Together the top 10 received $769K.
Grant Size Distribution
146 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 119 grants of 146 (82%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| LIFETOWN COLUMBUS aka OSU CHABAD HOUSE New Albany, OH | Unrestricted General | $185,000 |
| I Am Boundless Inc Worthington, OH | Unrestricted General | $130,000 |
| Special Olympics Ohio Inc Columbus, OH | Unrestricted General | $100,000 |
| Blossom Hill Inc Westlake, OH | Unrestricted General | $80,000 |
| University of Cincinnati Foundation Cincinnati, OH | Unrestricted General | $60,000 |
| Ucp of Greater Cleveland Cleveland, OH | Unrestricted General | $50,555 |
| Lott Industries Inc Toledo, OH | Unrestricted General | $50,000 |
| Heinzerling Community Columbus, OH | Unrestricted General | $48,188 |
| Graceworks Lutheran Services Dayton, OH | Unrestricted General | $35,000 |
| Stepping Stones Inc Cincinnati, OH | Unrestricted General | $30,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Grants | Grant count |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,059,356 | 27 |
| 2024 | $938,045 | 28 |
| 2023 | $799,268 | 29 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $2,899,096 | $3,540,187 | $3,990,461 |
| Revenue | $476,041 | $514,499 | $205,008 |
| Expenses | $1,118,709 | $990,702 | $850,496 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $1,087,146 | $966,288 | $826,518 |
| Net Investment Income | $455,868 | $490,181 | $175,726 |
| Distributable Amount | $184,760 | $210,431 | $226,435 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS April 29, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 28, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 10, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 24, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 12, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 30, 2026)
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists ROBERT L GRUNDEY as president and treasurer; SCOTT SHER as vice president; JOAN GRUNDEY as secretary; and DALE TARASCO, STEVE JUDGE, AUSTIN SHER, and ALEXA TARASCO as board members.
Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio is led by Robert L. Grundey, President & Treasurer on every filing since 2020; 1 of 7 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Robert L. Grundey
President & Treasurer
On filings since 2020
80 hrs/week
$9K (2020) → $14K (2025)
Dale Tarasco
Board Memeber
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joan Grundey
Secretary
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Scott Sher
Vice President
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Steve Judge
Board Memeber
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Austin Sher
Board Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Alexa Tarasco
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (2)
- Former: Linda Kammer (2020–2024) — Board Memeber
- Former: Robert Kammer (2020–2024) — Board Memeber
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $14K, to Robert L Grundey (President/Treasurer).
Contact
Mailing address: PO Box 1532 Aft, Pennington, NJ 08534
Phone: (888) 866-3275
Frequently asked questions about Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio
How much does Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio give each year?
Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio gave $1.1M across 27 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $938K across 28 grants.
What is Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio's typical grant size?
Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio's median grant in 2025 was $25,000, and its average grant was $39,235, across 27 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio that year got $18K on average.
Where does Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio give grants?
Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio gives mostly in Ohio: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Cleveland, OH (3 grants), Cincinnati, OH (3 grants), Columbus, OH (2 grants) and Euclid, OH (2 grants).
Does Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (27 of 27) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio's largest grantees?
Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio's largest 2025 grantees include LIFETOWN COLUMBUS aka OSU CHABAD HOUSE ($185,000), I Am Boundless Inc ($130,000) and Special Olympics Ohio Inc ($100,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 39% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio?
Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio reported $2.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.1M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $185K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants include support for organizations whose own missions include serving people with disabilities. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio's EIN?
Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 31-1190446. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Community Fund Management
Middleburg Heights, OH
Community Fund Management funds hardship and educational needs for individuals with disabilities, plus nonprofit programs that provide direct services or improve access for people with disabilities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $6,103 to $27,370, with a median of $10,032; it primarily funds Ohio, though some grants went to Maryland. Nonprofits may submit applications at any time, with completed applications reviewed in cycles ending June 30 and December 15.
Assets
$13.4M
Grants
24
Total Given
$325K
Toledo Community Foundation Inc
Toledo, OH
Greater Toledo Community Foundation funds a broad range of community programs, including education, health, social services, arts and culture, and environmental work, mainly in northwest Ohio and southeast Michigan. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $15,500, though amounts varied widely; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$246.9M
Grants
406
Total Given
$17.8M
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
The Dayton Foundation
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation supports nonprofit projects in areas such as education, arts and culture, health, human services and the environment that benefit Greater Dayton. Greenlight grants range from $500 to $7,500, discretionary grants are above $7,500 and up to $75,000, and its 2025 grant median was $14,550. Organizations can apply through its grants portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$771.2M
Grants
589
Total Given
$32.6M
Columbus Foundation
Columbus, OH
The Columbus Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including arts and culture, education, youth, neighborhoods, basic needs, and capacity building, with a median 2024 grant of about $21,500. Its focus is Central Ohio, though it also funds organizations elsewhere; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
1,747
Total Given
$242.7M
Ohio Community Pooled Annuity Trust
Dayton, OH
The trust funds supplemental services and accessibility-related projects for people with disabilities, including recreation, therapy, and facility improvements. Its 2025 grants were typically about $8,000, ranging from $5,836 to $10,000, and went to Ohio recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$14.8M
Grants
15
Total Given
$121K
The Cleveland Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The Cleveland Foundation funds nonprofits working on community needs and long-term priorities, including education, health, arts and culture, economic development, neighborhoods, and human services in Cuyahoga, Lake, and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $30,700, though amounts varied widely. Its general application is open year-round, so it accepts unsolicited requests through that process.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
1,016
Total Given
$184.2M
Licking County Foundation Inc
Newark, OH
The Licking County Foundation funds eligible nonprofits and public agencies for work in areas such as health and human services, education, arts and culture, parks, the environment, and community development in Licking County, Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $20,000; the Foundation describes application steps for its grant programs but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$163.6M
Grants
100
Total Given
$4.6M
The Swagelok Foundation
Solon, OH
The Swagelok Foundation supports a broad range of charitable, community, education, and public organizations in places where Swagelok associates live and work, primarily in Ohio. In 2025 it made 222 grants totaling about $1.37 million, ranging from $20 to $201,000, with a median grant of $1,905. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$10.4M
Grants
222
Total Given
$1.4M
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Princeton, NJ
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation funds work to improve health and health equity in the United States, including health policy, community health, prevention, and social justice. In 2024, its grants ranged from $125 to $12.15 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to recipients across multiple states. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$13.4B
Grants
3,093
Total Given
$622.6M
Community Foundation of New Jersey
Morristown, NJ
The Community Foundation of New Jersey supports nonprofits and projects across arts, education, environment, health and human services, and social welfare. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of about $19,800, though awards varied widely; funding went to organizations in multiple states, with 32% of itemized grant dollars going to New Jersey. It accepts applications for specific opportunities, and its FAQ encourages eligible New Jersey 501(c)(3) nonprofits to apply; requirements vary by opportunity.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,321
Total Given
$93.8M
Crane Fund for Widows and Children
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
The Crane Fund for Widows and Children supports local charities, agencies, and schools addressing needs such as food insecurity, housing, education, health, environmental protection, and animal welfare in communities where Crane Company operates or its associates have connections. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,000 to $45,000, with a median of $4,500; it funds organizations in multiple states. The fund contributes only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
—
Grants
985
Total Given
$4.5M
More Funders in New Jersey
Good Shepherd Fdn of Ohio down — hundreds of funders to go?