Georgian Court University
Georgian Court University (GCU), provides a comprehensive liberal arts education and is open to students of all faiths, delivers a curriculum that promotes scholarship, service, and personal development.
Georgian Court University at a glance
In short: Georgian Court University gave $111K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $55K), mostly in New Jersey. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $110,776
- -49.8% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 2
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $55,388
- -49.8% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $55,388
- Total assets
- $123,068,073
- +0.2% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- New Jersey (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Georgian Court University funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 2 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Bergen Community College ($66K). Together the top 2 received $111K.
Grant Size Distribution
4 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 2 grants of 4 (50%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $111K (2025) to $1.6M (2022). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $111K.
Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Bergen Community College Paramus, NJ | Support of General Operations | $66,191 |
| The College of New Jersey Ewing, NJ | Support of General Operations | $44,585 |
Ready to take the next step with Georgian Court University?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $123,068,073 | $72,367,490 | $68,039,978 | $110,776 | 2 | $6,838,833 |
| 2024 | $122,847,259 | $71,804,009 | $69,187,729 | $220,805 | 2 | $14,137,927 |
| 2023 | $119,755,993 | $58,760,311 | $68,281,870 | $1,496,879 | Total only | $5,832,420 |
| 2022 | $127,824,827 | $70,027,794 | $67,902,182 | $1,575,295 | Total only | $13,428,399 |
| 2021 | $136,690,213 | $66,436,020 | $62,671,293 | $1,290,626 | Total only | $4,020,831 |
| 2020 | $124,131,723 | $66,863,638 | $66,128,861 | $1,156,802 | Total only | $3,586,331 |
| 2019 | $130,282,700 | $68,401,375 | $68,771,389 | $1,170,332 | Total only | $5,558,645 |
"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
About Georgian Court University
Based on IRS filings
Georgian Court University is a public charity focused on Education, based in Lakewood, NJ. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $123.1M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $111K. Net investment income was $6.8M.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Georgian Court University is led by Joseph R. Marbach PhD, President on every filing since 2019; 10 of 30 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Joseph R. Marbach PhD
President
On filings since 2019
35 hrs/week
$348K (2019) → $369K (2025)
Michele Teresa Aronica Rsm
Ph.d. & Chair
Individual Trustee → Ph.d. & Chair, 2024
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Julia A. Upton Rsm PhD
Trustee
Board Vice Chair → Board Chair, 2023
Board Chair → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kerry Anne McGeary PhD
Trustee
Individual Trustee → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Alicia Cook
Trustee
Individual Trustee → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joyce A. Heckman
Trustee
Individual Trustee → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Robert H. Hutchins
Trustee
Individual Trustee → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Tammi C. Redd PhD
Trustee
Individual Trustee → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Elizabeth M. Schmalz
Trustee
Individual Trustee → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Marilyn E. Gonyo EdD
Trustee
Individual Trustee → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mary Ellen Fuhrman Rsm
Trustee
Individual Trustee → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rodrigo A. Colon Jr.
Trustee
Individual Trustee → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
George Destafney
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jennifer Macgregor Safeer CPA
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kenneth M. Esser Jr.
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Marianne Holler Do Facoi
Faahpm & Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael A. Noone
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mon R. Vincent Gartland
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Monsignor Joseph N. Rosie
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Regina Foley PhD MBA RN
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Janice I. Warner
Provost
Interim Provost → Provost, 2021
On filings since 2019
35 hrs/week
$141K (2019) → $184K (2025)
Mary Chinery
Dean, School of Art & Science
Dean, School of Arts & Sciences → Dean, School of Arts & Science, 2020
Dean, School of Arts & Science → Dean, School of Art & Science, 2025
On filings since 2019
35 hrs/week
$120K (2019) → $140K (2025)
Matthew R. Manfra
Vice President & Institutional Advancement
Vice President Institutional Advancement → Vice President & Institutional Advancement, 2024
On filings since 2020
35 hrs/week
$153K (2020) → $307K (2025)
Jennifer J. Edmonds
Dean, Sobm & Digital Media
Dean, Sch. of Bus. & Digital M → Dean Sobm & Digital Media, 2024
Dean Sobm & Digital Media → Dean, Sobm & Digital Media, 2025
On filings since 2021
35 hrs/week
$144K (2021) → $140K (2025)
Theresa J. Brown
Professor
On filings since 2022
35 hrs/week
$127K (2022) → $135K (2025)
Kenneth M. Karamichael
Associate Vice President & Professional Studies
Associate Vice President for Professional Stu → Associate Vice President Prof Studies, 2024
Associate Vice President Prof Studies → Associate Vice President & Professional Studies, 2025
On filings since 2023
35 hrs/week
$145K (2023) → $148K (2025)
Ketan N. Gandhi EdD
Senior Vice President, Finance, Administrator & CFO
On filings since 2024
35 hrs/week
$101K (2024) → $277K (2025)
Erika Davis
Vice President & Enrollment
New on the 2025 filing
35 hrs/week
$64K (2025)
Janet Thiel Sr Associate Vp
University Assessment
New on the 2025 filing
35 hrs/week
$149K (2025)
Deacon James J. Knipper
Vice Chair
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (60)
- Former: John Sommer CPA (2019–2024) — Interim CFO · Filing note: Ended 12718
- Former: Mary K. E. Maples Esq. (2019–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Megan E. Mulcahy Romano (2019–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Michael J. Laferrera (2019–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Janet Thiel Sr. (2020–2024) — Associate Vice President University Assessment
- Former: Chris Krzak (2021–2024) — Vice President, Enrollment & Retention
- Former: The Honorable Jeffrey S. Chiesa Esq. (2021–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Chris Domes EdD (2022–2024) — Trustee
- Former: James E. Andrews (2022–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Joy L. Smith (2024) — Asso Provost Student Support
- Former: Judith M. Persichilli Rn Bsn Ma (2024) — Trustee
- Former: Amelia A. McTamaney (2019–2023) — Trustee Emerita
- Former: Edward Smith (2019–2023) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Elizabeth Healey Mulvihill (2019–2023) — Trustee Emerita
- Former: Linda M. Orlando (2019–2023) — Trustee Emerita
- Former: M. Deborah Hanley Williams (2019–2023) — Trustee Emerita
- Former: Madeline Ferraro Esq. (2019–2023) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Msgr R. Vincent Gartland (2019–2023) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Nina Anuario (2019–2023) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Patricia E. Koch Esq. (2019–2023) — Trustee Emerita
- Former: Patricia Smith Heanue (2019–2023) — Trustee Emerita
- Former: Theresa M. Brodrick PhD (2021–2023) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Dawn Burdsall (2022–2023) — Associate Vice President for Finance & Administrator
- Former: Judith Persichilli Rnbsnma (2022–2023) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Reverend Msgr Joseph N. Rosie (2022–2023) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Claire B. Gallagher (2023) — Professor
- Former: Deacon James J. Kinpper (2023) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Heather Meier (2023) — Vice President Finance, Administration & CFO · Filing note: Thru 11/2022
- Former: Francis G Coleman (2019–2022) — Individual Trustee
- Former: James H Dickerson Jr. (2019–2022) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Mark N Ricca (2019–2022) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Patricia A Talone RSM PhD (2019–2022) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Robert E Mulcahy III (2019–2022) — Board Chair
- Former: Amy Bosio (2021–2022) — Vice President Finance, Administration & CFO
- Former: Joseph Michael Monahan (2022) — Professor
- Former: Evelyn Saul Quinn (2019–2021) — Vice President Mission Integration
- Former: James E. Trusdell (2019–2021) — Vice President for Finance, Administrator & CFO
- Former: John W Seazholtz (2019–2021) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Judith M Persichilli RN BS (2019–2021) — Board Vice Chair
- Former: Maureen Ryan-Hoffman (2019–2021) — Assistant Vice President for Finance & Controller
- Former: Monsignor Casimir Ladzinski (2020–2021) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Laura Liesman (2021) — Assistant Vice President of Athletics & Rec
- Former: David Kountz MD (2019–2020) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Judge Eugene D Serpentelli (2019–2020) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Kathleen Boody (2019–2020) — Interim Vice President for Enrollment
- Former: Kathleen Hickey (2019–2020) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Matthew McManness (2019–2020) — Spl. Consultant to President
- Former: Senator Jeffrey S Chiesa (2019–2020) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Thomas J Sykes AIA PP (2019–2020) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Christopher Campisano (2020) — Dean & School of Education
- Former: Michael Gross (2020) — Asso. Provost Academic Program
- Former: Fiah Kwesseu (2019) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Justin Roy (2019) — Vice President for Enrollment & Retention · Filing note: Began 712018
- Former: Lynn Decapua (2019) — Professor
- Former: Meghan Rehbein (2019) — Acting Vice President for Inst.advancement
- Former: Reverend Msgr Casimir H. Ladzinkski (2019) — Individual Trustee
- Former: Sr Janet Thiel (2019) — Ass. Vice President for Unv. Assessment
- Former: Steven George Carol (2019) — Chief Information Officer
- Former: Tessa M. Breslin (2019) — Individual Trustee
- Former: William John Behre (2019) — Provost
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $369K, to Joseph R Marbach PHD (President). 10 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Georgian Court University
How much does Georgian Court University give each year?
Georgian Court University gave $111K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $221K across 2 grants.
How large is Georgian Court University?
Georgian Court University reported $123.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $72.4M.
What is Georgian Court University?
Georgian Court University is a public charity focused on Education, based in Lakewood, NJ. It holds $123.1M in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Georgian Court University operate?
Georgian Court University has awarded grants in New Jersey.
What is Georgian Court University's EIN?
Georgian Court University's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 21-0634981. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(8)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 6, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 30, 2026)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 11, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 12, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 9, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 11, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 2, 2024)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Georgian Court University's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in New Jersey
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Princeton, NJ
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation funds efforts to improve health and health equity in the United States, including systems change addressing structural barriers to health. In 2024, its grants ranged from $125 to $12.15 million, with a median of $40,000. It typically funds through targeted programs and partnerships; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$13.4B
Grants
3,093
Total Given
$622.6M
Community Foundation of New Jersey
Morristown, NJ
The Community Foundation of New Jersey supports a broad range of causes, including arts, education, health, human services, and the environment, through donor-directed and other charitable funds. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of $19,759, with awards ranging widely; its current health grant opportunity serves Morris and Somerset counties. Eligible New Jersey nonprofits may apply to specific grant opportunities, subject to each opportunity’s guidelines.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,321
Total Given
$93.8M
Crane Fund for Widows and Children
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
The Crane Fund for Widows and Children supports charitable organizations, including those working in healthcare and social services, children’s services, recreation, and basic needs, with grants across multiple states. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $45,000, with a median of $4,500; it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.6M
Grants
985
Total Given
$4.5M
Oceanfirst Foundation
Toms River, NJ
OceanFirst Foundation funds nonprofits working in health and wellness, housing, youth development and education, economic stability, quality of life, and higher education in communities served by OceanFirst Bank. In 2025 it awarded grants of $50 to $55,000, with a median of $2,200. It does not limit giving to preselected organizations; prospective applicants are directed to contact the foundation to discuss fit before applying through its online portal.
Assets
$6.1M
Grants
425
Total Given
$1.6M
The Hyde and Watson Foundation
Warren Township, NJ
The Hyde and Watson Foundation funds capital projects in human services, education, health, arts and culture, and the environment. Most awards are $5,000–$20,000, with a 2024 median of $10,000, for eligible nonprofits in New York City and Essex, Morris, and Union counties in New Jersey. It accepts applications through an online portal during its stated application periods; the profile does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$88.2M
Grants
611
Total Given
$6.1M
Princeton Area Community Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The foundation supports nonprofits and community programs in areas such as basic needs, education, health, housing, arts, and the environment, with competitive grants focused on under-resourced communities and women and girls. Its 2024 grants had a median of $15,000, and its discretionary grantmaking primarily serves Mercer County and nearby parts of New Jersey and eastern Bucks County, Pennsylvania. The profile describes competitive programs but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$279.6M
Grants
515
Total Given
$31.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in New Jersey
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Georgian Court University's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Georgian Court University down — hundreds of funders to go?