Freedom Christian Academy Inc
To create a nurturing environment that encourages and equips its students to fully seek truth for their lives and produces citizen-leaders of excellence, wisdom, and christian faith.
Key facts about Freedom Christian Academy Inc
In short: Freedom Christian Academy Inc gave $5K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $5K), mostly in Texas. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 61-1585719
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $5,000
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- Average grant
- $5,000
- Median grant
- $5,000
- Total assets
- $9,840,534
- Primary geography
- Texas (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$9.8M
-6.4% YoY
Annual Giving
$5K
Grant Count
1
Avg Grant Size
$5K
About Freedom Christian Academy Inc
Based on IRS filings
Freedom Christian Academy Inc is a public charity, based in Fayetteville, NC. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $9.8M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $5K. Net investment income was $31K.
Ready to take the next step with Freedom Christian Academy Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $5K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Joshua Expeditions ($5K).
Grant Size Distribution
1 grant across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 1 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Joshua Expeditions McKinney, TX | Cost of home build materials for senior mission trip | $5,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $9,840,534 | $10,513,326 | $9,370,836 |
| Revenue | $5,927,246 | $6,553,892 | $6,040,666 |
| Expenses | $6,309,197 | $5,688,482 | $5,228,139 |
| Net Investment Income | $31,112 | $76,897 | $15,232 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 12, 2026)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS January 28, 2020)
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Freedom Christian Academy Inc is led by Mark Morse, President since 2025 (on filings since 2022); none of the 8 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Mark Morse
President
Board Member → Vice Chair, 2023
Vice Chair → President, 2025
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Albert E. Norton Jr.
Member
President - Corporate → Bod - Chair, 2020
Bod - Chair → Member, 2023
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kelvin Thompson
Secretary
Bod Vice Chair → Member, 2023
Member → Secretary, 2024
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Tremayne Thurman
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Anthony Howard
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Courtney Montgomery
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Phil Dean
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Sharon Finkler
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (14)
- Former: Rebecca Calhoun (2021–2024) — Board Chair
- Former: Shari Finkler (2024) — Member
- Former: Anna Wiggins (2021–2022) — Board Member
- Former: James Drury (2022) — Head of School
- Former: Tracy Pounders (2022) — Board Member
- Former: Michelle Stephenson (2019–2021) — Bod - Vice Chair
- Former: Breeden Blackwell (2020–2021) — Board Member
- Former: John Briggs (2021) — Bod - Secretary
- Former: Hall Powers (2019–2020) — Bod - Secretary
- Former: Tw Webb (2019–2020) — Bod - Executive Officio
- Former: Alan Mercaldo (2019) — Director - School Board
- Former: Casi Gilmer (2019) — Secretary - School Board
- Former: Cathy Blackwell (2019) — President - School Board
- Former: Jeremy Robinson (2019) — Director - School Board
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Freedom Christian Academy Inc
How much does Freedom Christian Academy Inc give each year?
Freedom Christian Academy Inc gave $5K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990.
How large is Freedom Christian Academy Inc?
Freedom Christian Academy Inc reported $9.8M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $5.9M.
Where does Freedom Christian Academy Inc operate?
Freedom Christian Academy Inc has awarded grants in Texas.
What is Freedom Christian Academy Inc's EIN?
Freedom Christian Academy Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 61-1585719. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Freedom Christian Academy Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Freedom Christian Academy Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in North Carolina
Yamagata Foundation
Westworth Village, TX
Assets
$467K
Grants
9
Total Given
$130K
State Employees Credit Union Foundation
Raleigh, NC
The foundation funds capital projects, regional or statewide programs, and organizational capacity building that strengthen North Carolina communities; it favors projects with broad or replicable impact and does not fund operating budgets or shortfalls. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,250 to $1 million, with a median of $2,500. Applications are accepted at any time and typically reviewed semiannually.
Assets
$61.0M
Grants
1,806
Total Given
$17.4M
Foundation for the Carolinas
Charlotte, NC
Foundation For The Carolinas funds education and youth development, environmental and wildlife work, health and human services, and animal welfare, with a reported median grant of $25,000 in 2024. Its competitive programs focus on Charlotte-Mecklenburg, the Carolinas, and specific local communities, while donor-advised funds may support eligible nonprofits more broadly; it accepts applications for some competitive grants, but most grants are recommended by fund advisors and have no application process.
Assets
$3.9B
Grants
1,605
Total Given
$609.1M
Dogwood Health Trust
Asheville, NC
Dogwood Health Trust funds work in housing, education, economic opportunity, and health and wellness that improves wellbeing in Western North Carolina, including its 18 counties and the Qualla Boundary. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $21 million, with a median of $37,500; application requirements vary by funding opportunity.
Assets
$2.0B
Grants
835
Total Given
$148.2M
The Winston-Salem Foundation
Winston-Salem, NC
The Winston-Salem Foundation funds charitable organizations serving Forsyth County, North Carolina, across areas including education, housing, economic opportunity, civic engagement, arts, health, and human services. Its 2024 median grant was $25,000; specific programs offer grants ranging from small grants of up to $2,000 to capital grants of up to $100,000. The profile describes application-based programs but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$630.1M
Grants
823
Total Given
$90.4M
The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina Inc
Asheville, NC
The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina funds nonprofits and public agencies serving 18 Western North Carolina counties, including the Qualla Boundary, in areas such as cultural resources, education, human services, and natural resources. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though award sizes varied widely; some local opportunities cap grants at $5,000 or $7,500. It provides an online application system, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$481.0M
Grants
793
Total Given
$59.4M
North Carolina Community Foundation Inc
Raleigh, NC
The North Carolina Community Foundation supports charitable organizations and community programs in areas such as human services, education, youth development, health, food and nutrition, and the arts. Its typical grant was $15,000 in 2025; it serves communities statewide, with an emphasis on rural North Carolina, and accepts applications through specific affiliate, giving-circle, and other grant programs.
Assets
$569.1M
Grants
732
Total Given
$30.6M
Triangle Community Foundation Inc
Durham, NC
The foundation supports nonprofits in cultural arts, education and youth, nonprofit capacity building, and sustainable communities, with grants also benefiting fields such as health, conservation, and human services. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000 and ranged from about $5,000 to $1.39 million; it primarily serves Durham, Orange, Wake, and Chatham Counties in North Carolina. It accepts applications for competitive discretionary programs during open grant cycles; donor-advised fund grants are also made.
Assets
$335.8M
Grants
599
Total Given
$26.7M
The Leon Levine Foundation
Charlotte, NC
The Leon Levine Foundation funds healthcare, human services, education, and Jewish community work, primarily benefiting people in North and South Carolina. Its 2025 grants ranged from $10,000 to $2.1 million, with a median of $60,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through an eligibility quiz and portal, starting with a letter of inquiry.
Assets
$1.9B
Grants
522
Total Given
$57.9M
NCHSAA Foundation Inc
Chapel Hill, NC
The NCHSAA Foundation supports NCHSAA member schools, mainly in North Carolina, with programs and resources for student-athletes’ wellness, safety, life skills, equipment, and scholarships. In 2025, grants ranged from $750 to $5,000, with a median of $1,845. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$25.9M
Grants
498
Total Given
$967K
The Duke Endowment
Charlotte, NC
The Duke Endowment funds child and family well-being, health care, higher education at four named colleges and universities, and rural churches, primarily in North Carolina and South Carolina. Its 2024 grants ranged from $7,000 to $6.8 million, with a median of $200,000. The application process varies by program; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$3.6B
Grants
480
Total Given
$251.2M
The Morehead-Cain Foundation
Chapel Hill, NC
The Morehead-Cain Foundation primarily funds scholarships and leadership-development experiences for UNC–Chapel Hill students, with additional support for North Carolina educators and selected organizations. Its 2025 grants ranged from $23 to $4.75 million, with a median of $27,004; reported giving was concentrated in North Carolina. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$225.0M
Grants
422
Total Given
$14.9M
More Funders in North Carolina
Freedom Christian Academy Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?