Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd
Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd is a private foundation, based in Madison, WI. IRS filing data is available for 2019. In 2019, it awarded 1 grant totaling $3K.
Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd at a glance
In short: Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd gave $3K across 1 grant in 2019 (avg $3K), mostly in Wisconsin. Source: 2019 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2019)
- $3,388
- Grants made (2019)
- 1
- Average grant
- $3,388
- Median grant
- $3,388
- Primary geography
- Wisconsin (100% of itemized 2019 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2019 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2019; updated September 2026.
Who Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2019
The largest 2019 recipient was Dale Leibowitz Legacy Foundation ($3K).
Grant Size Distribution
1 grant across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 1 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2019 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
In 2019 it made 1 grant totaling $3K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Dale Leibowitz Legacy Foundation Madison, WI | General | $3,388 |
Ready to take the next step with Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 | $5,605 | $10,679 | $3,388 | 1 | $242 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd reported a distributable amount of $242 for 2019 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd is led by Dale Leibowitz, President & Director on the 2019 filing; none of the 3 officers listed in 2019 report compensation.
Officers on the 2019 filing
Dale Leibowitz
President & Director
New on the 2019 filing
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Frances L. Nelson
Vice President & Director
New on the 2019 filing
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Sheri L. Kole
Secretary, Treasurer & Director
New on the 2019 filing
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd
How much does Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd give each year?
Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd gave $3K across 1 grant in 2019, according to its 2019 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd operate?
Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd has awarded grants in Wisconsin.
How much is Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd required to give away each year?
Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2019, Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd reported a distributable amount of $242 on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
What is Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd's EIN?
Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 39-2033920. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 8, 2020)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal year 2019
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Wisconsin
Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing
Appleton, WI
Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing distributes donor-directed and program donations to a broad range of causes and organizations in local, national, and global communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $11,520 and ranged from $5,006 to $5 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$939.7M
Grants
2,565
Total Given
$84.6M
Dane Buy Local Foundation Inc
Madison, WI
Dane Buy Local Foundation supports buy-local education, collaboration, and programs that strengthen locally owned businesses and communities in Dane County and South Central Wisconsin; it also offers scholarships to area high school seniors pursuing post-secondary business or entrepreneurship studies. No typical award amount is stated, and the information does not say whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$16K
Grants
1
Total Given
$136K
Alliant Energy Foundation Inc
Madison, WI
Assets
$28.5M
Grants
929
Total Given
$2.4M
Greater Milwaukee Foundation Inc
Milwaukee, WI
The Greater Milwaukee Foundation funds nonprofit programs, projects, general operations and capital needs, with priorities including early childhood education, housing, basic needs, health, arts and culture, and scientific research. Its competitive grants primarily serve Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Washington and Waukesha counties; in 2024, the median grant was about $27,800, though awards varied widely. It runs competitive grant cycles, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
838
Total Given
$66.8M
Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Inc
Milwaukee, WI
The foundation funds educational excellence in Wisconsin, including student scholarships and awards for teachers, principals, schools, and classrooms; its 2025 grants ranged from $290 to $15,000, with a median of $6,000. It directs applicants to its program applications for application details; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$14K
Grants
425
Total Given
$2.1M
Green Bay Packers Foundation
Green Bay, WI
The Green Bay Packers Foundation funds Wisconsin charities working in areas such as families, athletics, children’s safety and education, animal welfare, and other focus areas that vary by year. Its 2026 announcement describes typical awards of $3,000–$8,000, though some grants are larger; it accepts online applications during its stated cycle, February 2–April 1, 2026.
Assets
$57.2M
Grants
530
Total Given
$3.6M
More similar funders
More Funders in Wisconsin
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Frances L Nelson Foundation Ltd down — hundreds of funders to go?