Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc
To prepare under-served new orleans students for college and career success through a rigorous school culture that emphasizes academic success and science and mathematics education.
Key facts about Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc
In short: Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc gave $163K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $163K), mostly in Louisiana. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 20-5197170
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $162,794
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- Average grant
- $162,794
- Median grant
- $162,794
- Total assets
- $906,618
- Primary geography
- Louisiana (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$907K
-19.7% YoY
Annual Giving
$163K
+2.4% YoY
Grant Count
1
+0.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$163K
+2.4% YoY
How Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−14%). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc
Based on IRS filings
Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in New Orleans, LA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $907K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $163K. Net investment income was $8K.
Focus Areas
Ready to take the next step with Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $159K (2024) to $332K (2021). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $163K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Advocates for Science & Mathematics Education Inc ($163K).
Grant Size Distribution
6 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 4 grants of 6 (67%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Advocates for Science & Mathematics Education Inc New Orleans, LA | Supplemental Funding | $162,794 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $906,618 | $1,128,338 | $1,207,238 |
| Revenue | $273,727 | $355,870 | $284,210 |
| Expenses | $415,020 | $411,123 | $481,054 |
| Net Investment Income | $7,805 | $10,067 | $249 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS June 9, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 13, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 11, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 7, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 13, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 7, 2020)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc is led by Andrea Williams, Executive Director on every filing since 2021; 1 of 12 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Andrea Williams
Executive Director
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$42K (2021) → $0 (2025)
Melvenia Martin PhD
Board President
1st Vice President → Board President, 2025
On filings since 2024
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Erica Durousseau
Former Executive Director
Executive Director → Former Executive Director, 2024
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$34K (2023) → $85K (2025)
Harrison Golden
Treasurer
Director → Co-Treasurer, 2021
Co-Treasurer → Treasurer, 2022
On filings since 2019
2.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Katherine Kleinpeter Raymond PhD
Board Member
Director → Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2020
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Carla L. Major Phr Shrm-Cp
Board Member
Director → Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2021
0.8 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Hermione Malone
Former Board President
Director → President, 2024
President → Former Board President, 2025
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Daphine Barnes
Board Member
Director → Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Tim Finn
Board Member
Director → Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2024
0.8 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Tishlinn Sims
Board Member
Director → Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Warren Atkins
1st Vice President
Director → 1st Vice President, 2025
On filings since 2024
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kennedy Christopher
Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
0.2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (49)
- Former: Curtis Pellerin (2019–2024) — Former President
- Former: Morgan Valerie (2019–2024) — Director
- Former: Norma Jean Mattei PhD (2019–2024) — Director
- Former: Sarah Martzolf (2019–2024) — Ex-Officio
- Former: Thomas Wiese PhD (2019–2024) — Ex-Officio
- Former: Valerie J. McGinley (2019–2024) — Director
- Former: Charlotte Jane Sawyer (2020–2024) — Secretary
- Former: Mary Munger (2021–2024) — Director
- Former: Christopher Kennedy (2024) — Director
- Former: Rebecca Keel (2024) — Director
- Former: Dedrick Sims PhD (2019–2023) — 2nd Vice President
- Former: Florence Andre (2019–2023) — Director
- Former: Katie Hand (2019–2023) — Director
- Former: Madalyn Schenk (2019–2023) — Ex-Officio
- Former: Darryl Holliday PhD (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Monica Sylvain PhD (2020–2023) — 1st Vice President
- Former: Ron Woods (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Treva Brown PhD (2021–2023) — Director
- Former: Austin Richards (2023) — Advocates Representative
- Former: Joe Caverly (2023) — Director
- Former: Brandon Armant (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Kimberly McClaine (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Kristen Ponthier Engeron (2019–2022) — Co-Treasurer
- Former: Merisa A. Pasternak (2019–2022) — Director
- Former: Nicholas Altiero (2019–2022) — 2nd Vice President
- Former: Grant Boucher (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Jennifer Fallon (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Kristen Nelson (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Maggie Richie (2020–2022) — Faculty Representative
- Former: Bennetta C. Horne (2021–2022) — Director
- Former: Christine Vinson (2021–2022) — Director
- Former: Julie Ellison Graham (2021–2022) — Director
- Former: Robert Sternhell PhD (2021–2022) — President
- Former: Rosemary Szilagi (2021–2022) — Parent Representative
- Former: Stephanie Davi-McNeely (2021–2022) — Advocates Representative
- Former: George Bernstein PhD (2019–2021) — Director
- Former: Barbara Beckman PhD (2019–2020) — 2nd Vice President
- Former: Karen Buck (2019–2020) — 1st Vice President
- Former: Melanie Boulet (2019–2020) — Faculty Representative
- Former: Nicolas Aziz (2019–2020) — Director
- Former: Robert Sternhell Ph D. (2019–2020) — President
- Former: S. Cat Wong Phd Pe Pmp (2019–2020) — Director
- Former: Stanton McNeely III EdD (2019–2020) — Director
- Former: Caroline Brickman (2020) — Parent Liaison
- Former: Arnold H. Zea PhD (2019) — Director
- Former: Bryan Lee (2019) — Director
- Former: Cedric Walker PhD (2019) — Director
- Former: Kevin Wilkins (2019) — Director
- Former: Mary Zervigon (2019) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $85K, to Erica Durousseau (Former Executive Director).
Frequently asked questions about Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc
How much does Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc give each year?
Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc gave $163K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $159K across 1 grant.
How large is Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc?
Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc reported $907K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $274K.
What is Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc?
Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in New Orleans, LA. It holds $907K in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc operate?
Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc has awarded grants in Louisiana.
What is Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc's EIN?
Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-5197170. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
Albert a Christ Scholarship Fund 1403
Wheeling, WV
The Albert A Christ Scholarship Fund supports scholarships, with reported giving of about $244,000 in 2025; its grant went to a recipient in Wheeling, West Virginia. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected charitable organizations.
Assets
$3.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$243K
Social Entrepreneurs of New Orleans
New Orleans, LA
Propeller grows and supports entrepreneurs to tackle social and environmental disparities. Our vision is an inclusive and thriving entrepreneurial ecosystem in new orleans that responds to community needs and creates the conditions for an equitable future.
Assets
$5.0M
Grants
3
Total Given
$526K
The FAF Foundation
Chicago, IL
Assets
$5K
Grants
3
Total Given
$15K
Robert S Heidt Sr Wellington Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The primary exempt purpose of robert s. Heidt, sr., wellington foundation is: to further enhance and support, by clinical study, laboratory research, publication, and teaching, the knowledge of orthopaedics and orthopaedic surgery and the application of such knowledge to the prevention and treatment of diseases, injuries, and conditions of the body structure and functioning; to furnish assistance in the training and education of physicians and other medical personnel in orthopaedics and orthopaedic surgery; to assist in the pursuit of medical research activities and to extend financial aid to support such activities; to assist in the provision of special facilities and equipment for the care and relief of the sick and injured where the need is deemed urgent and which would not otherwise ordinarily be provided; to assist in these activities in such other manners as may be decided upon from time to time; to extend financial and other aid or assistance to needy medical students.
Assets
—
Grants
4
Total Given
$261K
Hsiao Family Foundation Inc
Houston, TX
Assets
$413K
Grants
5
Total Given
$45K
Insight Network
Alexandria, VA
Assets
$13K
Grants
7
Total Given
$2K
Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation
Round Rock, TX
To develop and advance initiatives that grow individual economic mobility and expand community prosperity.
Assets
$620.8M
Grants
7
Total Given
$10.1M
James C and Delrose M Eigel Family
Cincinnati, OH
Assets
$1.5M
Grants
8
Total Given
$100K
Freestore Foodbank Inc
Cincinnati, OH
Freestore Foodbank funds food-distribution capacity and related efforts to improve access to nutritious food, primarily across a 20-county region in Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. In 2025, its 11 reported grants ranged from $7,199 to $69,150, with a median of $12,658. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$72.3M
Grants
11
Total Given
$348K
Sargent Family Foundation Inc
Cincinnati, OH
The Sargent Family Foundation supports a varied mix of charitable organizations, including education, health, food systems, and environmental causes. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $25,000, with a median of $5,000, and primarily went to organizations in Massachusetts, California, Ohio, Kentucky, and New York. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.5M
Grants
21
Total Given
$128K
The Bahl Family Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Bahl Family Foundation supports a range of charitable organizations, with grants primarily focused on Greater Cincinnati and Southern Florida. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $25,000, with a median of $1,500. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.1M
Grants
21
Total Given
$133K
Van Horne E for Educational FD
Pittsburgh, PA
The foundation funds scholarships for accepted high school seniors from Crawford County, with most grant dollars going to colleges and universities in Pennsylvania. In 2025, grants ranged from $1,200 to $10,400, with a median award of $2,000. The filing describes an application process with required materials, but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$1.3M
Grants
25
Total Given
$66K
More Funders in Louisiana
Foundation for Science and Mathematics Education Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?