Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind

Private foundation · Grantmaker Hamilton, OH EIN: 35-6311150

Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind is a private foundation based in Hamilton, Ohio. Its 2020 filing reports grants to charitable organizations and educational institutions, including scholarship grants. The filing is marked as the organization’s final return, so the foundation appears to have wound down or stopped grantmaking.

Key facts about Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind

In short: Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind gave $60K across 14 grants in 2020 (avg $4K), mostly in Indiana. Source: 2020 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
35-6311150
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2020
Annual giving (2020)
$59,955
Grants made (2020)
14
Average grant
$4,283
Median grant
$250
Primary geography
Indiana (100% of itemized 2020 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The filing states that the foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2020; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2020 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

—

Annual Giving

$60K

Grant Count

14

Avg Grant Size

$4K

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind reported a distributable amount of $3K for 2020 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2020 grants included educational scholarships and a grant for charitable purposes. The Portland Foundation described its mission as enhancing quality of life in Jay County, Indiana, through community endowment, grantmaking, and leadership on community issues. The University of Indianapolis described its mission as championing lifelong learning through relevant and innovative education. Indiana Wesleyan University described itself as a Christ-centered academic community focused on developing students in character, scholarship, and leadership.

Grantmaking

In 2020, the foundation reported 14 grants totaling $59,955. Grant amounts ranged from $22 to $54,933, with a median of $250. The largest grant was $54,933 to The Portland Foundation. Other listed grants included $1,000 to IUPUI Indianapolis and $750 to Ball State University. The University of Saint Francis, University of Indianapolis, and Indiana University East each received $500.

How to Apply

The filing states that the foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The 2020 filing reports that 100% of grant dollars went to Indiana and less than 1% to Kentucky. However, its listed grants include a $250 scholarship grant to Asbury University in Wilmore, Kentucky.

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2020 grant dollars across all 14 itemized grants.

Cities

IndianapolisMunciePortlandAngolaFort WayneMarionRichmondWest LafayetteWilmore

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K0 grants2019 14 grants2020

In 2020 it made 14 grants totaling $60K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2020

The Portland Foundation: $55K across 2 grantsThe Portland Foundation$55K · 2 grantsIupui Indianapolis: $1KIupui Indianapolis$1KBall State University: $750Ball State University$750University of Saint Francis: $500University of Saint Francis$500University of Indianapolis: $500University of Indianapolis$500Indiana University East: $500Indiana University East$500Indiana Wesleyan University: $250Indiana Wesleyan University$250Asbury University: $250Asbury University$250Ambers Beauty School: $250Ambers Beauty School$250Indiana University: $250Indiana University$250

The largest 2020 recipient was The Portland Foundation ($55K across 2 grants). Together the top 10 received $59K.

Organizations only. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($250), which are not listed by name.

Grant Size Distribution

14 grants across all recorded years

13<$50K1$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 13 grants of 14 (93%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
The Portland Foundation Portland, INCharitable Purposes$54,933
Iupui Indianapolis Indianapolis, INEducational Scholarships$1,000
Ball State University Muncie, INEducational Scholarships$750
University of Saint Francis Fort Wayne, INEducational Scholarships$500
University of Indianapolis Indianapolis, INEducational Scholarships$500
Indiana University East Richmond, INEducational Scholarships$500
Indiana Wesleyan University Marion, INEducational Scholarships$250
1 individual scholarship Recipients not named —$250
Asbury University Wilmore, KYEducational Scholarships$250
Ambers Beauty School Muncie, INEducational Scholarships$250

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Revenue Expenses Grants Grant count
2020 -$249 $62,994 $59,955 14
Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$20K$40K$60K$80K2019 2020
Metric20202019
Total Assets—$57,581
Revenue$-249$1,460
Expenses$62,994$4,295
Net Investment Income$146$889
Distributable Amount$2,814$2,925

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 4, 2020)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2020

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind's only listed officer is First Financial Bank, Trustee on every filing since 2019 (compensated).

Officers on the 2020 filing

  • First Financial Bank

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    $951 (2019) → $728 (2020)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2020. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2020 IRS filing

First Financial Bank — Trustee: $728First Financial BankTrustee$728

The highest reported compensation on the 2020 filing was $728, to First Financial Bank (Trustee).

Contact

Mailing address: 300 High Street, Hamilton, OH 45011

Frequently asked questions about Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind

How much does Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind give each year?

Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind gave $60K across 14 grants in 2020, according to its 2020 IRS Form 990-PF.

What is Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind's typical grant size?

Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind's median grant in 2020 was $250, and its average grant was $4,283, across 14 grants on its 2020 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind give grants?

Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind gives mostly in Indiana: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2020 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Indianapolis, IN (3 grants), Portland, IN (2 grants) and Muncie, IN (2 grants).

Does Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind give general operating support?

Not in 2020: none of the 14 grants with a stated purpose on Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind's 2020 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Educational Scholarships" (13 grants).

Who are Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind's largest grantees?

Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind's largest 2020 grantees include The Portland Foundation ($54,955 across 2 grants), Iupui Indianapolis ($1,000) and Ball State University ($750), according to its 2020 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($250), which are not listed by name. Together they received 95% of its itemized 2020 grant dollars.

What does Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2020 grants included educational scholarships and a grant for charitable purposes. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind?

The filing states that the foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

How much is Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind required to give away each year?

Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2020, Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind reported a distributable amount of $3K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

What is Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind's EIN?

Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 35-6311150. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2020.

Does Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Alfred & Amy Braddock Scholarship Fund

Hamilton, OH

Assets

—

Grants

14

Total Given

$71K

Edward E Meyer Trust

Cincinnati, OH

Education

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

1

Total Given

$104K

Marion a & Eva Peeples Foundation

Franklin, IN

Assets

—

Grants

2

Total Given

$21K

Robert L Dehority & Ruby Jean

Carmel, IN

Assets

$106K

Grants

4

Total Given

$7K

Elevate Ventures Inc

Indianapolis, IN

Elevate Ventures' mission is growing the state's economy, driving economic development, helping businesses launch, grow and locate in the State of Indiana. We increase the amount of capital available to Indiana startup and early stage innovation driven companies to spur economic development through growth, research and development. IEDC has contracted with Elevate Ventures since 2011 to carry out the required tasks associated with making direct investments in private Indiana companies and the associated programming and technical support required to build a sufficient pipeline of investable companies and to support Indiana's entrepreneurial ecosystem.

Community Improvement & Capacity Building

Assets

$28.2M

Grants

8

Total Given

$898K

Sellers Scholarship

Erie, PA

The Sellers Scholarship funds accredited post-secondary education for Taylor High School seniors and graduates, primarily in Indiana. Its 2025 awards ranged from $1,000 to $2,500, with a median of $1,000; applicants must submit a written application to the THS Guidance Office, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$751K

Grants

38

Total Given

$41K

Miller Jayne L Scholarship Tuw

Eagan, MN

The foundation funds scholarships for graduating seniors or graduates of the Nettle Creek School Corporation, with awards ranging from $4,000 to $13,000 in 2025 and a median award of $4,000. Most 2025 funding went to recipients in Indiana, with the rest in Ohio. The application form is available upon request from U.S. Bank; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the filing.

Education

Assets

$1.3M

Grants

12

Total Given

$65K

Duke Energy Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce and local economic development, disaster resilience, conservation, clean water, and economic opportunity in North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000; applications for grants of $20,000 or less are accepted year-round, after applicants discuss proposals with a state representative.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$25.6M

Niccum Educational Trust

Greenfield, IN

The NICCUM EDUCATIONAL TRUST supports higher education through grants to colleges and universities and financial assistance for eligible students from public high schools in six Indiana counties. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $3,000, with a median of $1,000. The 2024 filing describes a student application process, with applications available at Greenfield Banking Company and due April 15; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$425K

Grants

16

Total Given

$22K

IBM International Foundation

Armonk, NY

The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$357.7M

Grants

16

Total Given

$11.7M

Community Hospital Auxiliary Scholarship

Evansville, IN

The Community Hospital Auxiliary Scholarship funds scholarships for dependents of Community Hospital employees pursuing medical or healthcare careers, with awards typically around $1,000 and ranging from $1,000 to $16,000. Most grants go to Indiana students and institutions, though recipients in other states are also reported. Applicants must use the foundation’s standardized form; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Education

Assets

$499K

Grants

26

Total Given

$72K

Star Bright Fdn Trust

Saint Louis, MO

STAR BRIGHT FDN TRUST funds scholarships, primarily for colleges and universities in Indiana, with 93% of its 2025 grant dollars going to Indiana recipients. Its grants are typically $450–$1,000; it accepts applications through the Center for Scholarship Administration’s online form, with a January 8 deadline.

Education

Assets

$384K

Grants

34

Total Given

$20K

More Funders in Ohio

Farmers & Merchants Bank of Bryant-Ind down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?