Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc

Private foundation · Grantmaker Wellesley, MA EIN: 11-6015471
Arts and cultureReligionSports and recreation

Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc is a private foundation based in Wellesley, Massachusetts. Its 2025 filing reports 26 grants totaling $69,176 to charitable organizations.

Key facts about Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc

In short: Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc gave $69K across 26 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), mostly in New York. 31% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
11-6015471
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$69,176
Grants made (2025)
26
Average grant
$2,661
Median grant
$430
New grantees (estimate)
31% first-time grantees (8 of 26, 2025)
Total assets
$91,031
Primary geography
New York (61% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$91K

-6.5% YoY

Annual Giving

$69K

+83.1% YoY

Grant Count

26

-13.3% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$3K

+111.2% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc reported a distributable amount of $70K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc open to new grantees?

31%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 8 of 26 grantees (31%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $480; repeat grants $4K. How we count

Medians: $275 first-time, $800 repeat.

  • 65% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving grew 50% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 109% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The available information does not state the fund’s own mission. Its 2025 grants included support for Jewish, Israel-related, community, and other charitable organizations. For example, Friends of United Hatzalah says it funds organizations providing medical and trauma-related first-responder services, while American Friends of Magen David Adom says it supports Magen David Adom’s lifesaving work in Israel. These are the grantees’ stated missions, not the fund’s.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the fund made 26 grants totaling $69,176. Grants ranged from $10 to $18,000, with a median of $430. Its largest awards were $18,000 each to American Friends of Magen David Adom and Friends of United Hatzalah, and $10,000 to Combined Jewish Philanthropies. Other notable grants included $5,241 to Temple Beth Elohim, $3,600 to Friends of the IDF, and $2,500 to the Anti-Defamation League.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2025, 61% of grant dollars went to recipients in New York and 38% to recipients in Massachusetts. California accounted for 1%; Illinois and Washington, DC, each accounted for 0%.

Grant Distribution by State

15states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 26 itemized grants.

Cities

New YorkBostonWellesleyNewtonNeedhamWalthamChicagoHighland ParkDenverWashingtonBrooklynFraminghamMedfordBeverly HillsArlingtonBeverlyBrooklineSeattleSilver SpringWayland

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K$80K31 grants2020 39 grants2021 32 grants2022 35 grants2023 30 grants2024 26 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $33K (2020) to $69K (2025). In 2025 it made 26 grants totaling $69K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

American Friends of Magen David Adom: $18KAmerican Friends of MagenDavid Adom$18KFriends of United Hatzalah: $18KFriends of United Hatzalah$18KCombined Jewish Philanthropies: $10KCombined Jewish Philanthropies$10KTemple Beth Elohim: $5KTemple Beth Elohim$5KFriends of the IDF: $4KFriends of the IDF$4KAnti Defamation League: $3KAnti Defamation League$3KTemple Emanuel: $2KTemple Emanuel$2KFriends of Wellesley Veterans: $2KFriends of Wellesley Veterans$2KBronfman Center New York University: $2KBronfman Center New YorkUniversity$2KTufts Hillel: $1KTufts Hillel$1K

The largest 2025 recipient was American Friends of Magen David Adom ($18K). Together the top 10 received $65K.

Grant Size Distribution

162 grants across all recorded years

162<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 162 grants of 162 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
American Friends of Magen David Adom New York, NYCharitable$18,000
Friends of United Hatzalah New York, NYCharitable$18,000
Combined Jewish Philanthropies Boston, MACharitable$10,000
Temple Beth Elohim Wellesley, MACharitable$5,241
Friends of the IDF New York, NYCharitable$3,600
Anti Defamation League Boston, MACharitable$2,500
Temple Emanuel Newton, MACharitable$2,397
Friends of Wellesley Veterans Wellesley, MACharitable$2,000
Bronfman Center New York University New York, NYCharitable$1,800
Tufts Hillel Medford, MACharitable$1,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants Grant count
2025 $91,031 $75,957 $76,976 $69,176 26
2024 $97,396 $37,030 $39,177 $37,789 30
2023 $102,443 $48,484 $55,074 $53,991 35
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$25K$50K$75K$100K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$91,031$97,396$102,443
Revenue$75,957$37,030$48,484
Expenses$76,976$39,177$55,074
Qualifying Distributions$76,426$38,203$55,074
Net Investment Income$75,957$37,030$47,401
Distributable Amount$70,247$56,948$50,588

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS July 21, 2026)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Michael A. Grossman as president, treasurer, and trustee; Louise F. Grossman as vice president, secretary, and trustee; Leslie A. Blau and Emily S. Grossman as assistant treasurers and trustees; and Fredrick M. Blau as assistant secretary and trustee.

Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc's 2025 filing lists 4 officers; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Emily S. Grossman

    Assistant Treasurer & Trustee

    Assistant Treasurer Trustee → Assistant Treasurer & Trustee, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Fredrick M. Blau

    Assistant Secretary & Trustee

    Assistant Secretary Trustee → Assistant Secretary & Trustee, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Leslie A. Blau

    Assistant Treasurer & Trustee

    Assistant Treasurer Trustee → Assistant Treasurer & Trustee, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Louise F. Grossman

    Vice President, Secretary & Trustee

    Vice President Secretary Trustee → Vice President, Secretary & Trustee, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Michael A. Grossman (2020–2025) — President, Treasurer & Trustee · Filing note: Thru 725

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: 9 Yarmouth Road, Wellesley, MA 02481-1233
Phone: (781) 910-6002

Frequently asked questions about Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc

How much does Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc give each year?

Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc gave $69K across 26 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $38K across 30 grants.

What is Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc's typical grant size?

Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc's median grant in 2025 was $430, and its average grant was $2,661, across 26 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc that year got $480 on average.

Where does Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc give grants?

Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc gives mostly in New York: 61% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Massachusetts (38%). The most frequent recipient cities were New York, NY (7 grants), Boston, MA (5 grants) and Wellesley, MA (4 grants).

Does Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 26 grants with a stated purpose on Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charitable" (26 grants).

Who are Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc's largest grantees?

Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc's largest 2025 grantees include American Friends of Magen David Adom ($18,000), Friends of United Hatzalah ($18,000) and Combined Jewish Philanthropies ($10,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 66% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc?

Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc reported $91K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $76K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $70K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc fund?

The available information does not state the fund’s own mission. Its 2025 grants included support for Jewish, Israel-related, community, and other charitable organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc?

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc's EIN?

Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 11-6015471. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Does Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Massachusetts

Jewish Community Federation of San Francisco the Peninsula Marin & Sonoma

San Francisco, CA

Jewish Federation Bay Area funds programs that strengthen Jewish life, combat antisemitism, respond to crises, support people in need, and advance justice and inclusion. Its work focuses on the Bay Area, Israel, and beyond; 2025 grants had a median of $22,750, though amounts varied widely. It frequently issues requests for proposals and welcomes inquiries about its process, but no current opportunities are listed.

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

1,032

Total Given

$94.5M

Joseph and RAE Gann Charitable

Bal Harbour, FL

Assets

$17.0M

Grants

237

Total Given

$1.8M

Boston Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

The Boston Foundation funds equity-focused work in child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer awards from up to $15,000 to $50,000; it accepts applications through some competitive initiatives, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally is not stated.

Assets

$2.1B

Grants

2,375

Total Given

$228.4M

Eastern Bank Foundation

Wakefield, MA

Eastern Bank Foundation funds systemic efforts to advance economic inclusion and mobility, including small-business equity, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its programs range from $1,000–$10,000 for Community Donations, up to $15,000 for CITC Grants, and $50,000–$150,000 for Impact Grants; it supports organizations primarily in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. The foundation accepts online applications, with no specific submission deadlines stated.

Assets

$266.7M

Grants

1,786

Total Given

$19.0M

Barr Foundation

Boston, MA

Barr Foundation funds arts and creativity, climate, education, and related initiatives, primarily supporting organizations and leaders in New England. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $3.275 million, with a median of $80,000. It welcomes inquiries through program pages and occasionally issues open requests for proposals; most grants go to returning partners.

Assets

$1.9B

Grants

903

Total Given

$123.2M

Liberty Mutual Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

Liberty Mutual Foundation funds nonprofits working on basic needs such as food and shelter, education and workforce development, and climate and community infrastructure, primarily in the Boston area, with grants also made in other states. Its 2024 grants had a median of $35,000 and ranged from $2,500 to $11 million; it accepts online applications on a rolling basis, with no stated deadlines.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$46.1M

Grants

706

Total Given

$50.6M

Cummings Foundation Grants Inc (FKA Oneworld Boston Inc)

Woburn, MA

The foundation supports nonprofits focused on human services, education, healthcare, fairness and justice, and environmental causes, primarily in greater Boston and eastern Massachusetts, with limited support for Rwanda’s recovery. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $3.5 million, with a median of $35,000; it accepts letters of inquiry through an online portal for its local grant program.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$258.2M

Grants

658

Total Given

$38.2M

American Tower Corporation Foundation

Boston, MA

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$15.4M

Grants

632

Total Given

$1.7M

Good Sports Inc

Braintree, MA

Good Sports provides free sports equipment, footwear, and apparel to established schools and community organizations running ongoing youth sports and physical-activity programs in high-need communities; it serves all 50 states and Puerto Rico. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,004 to $229,133, with a median of $12,781. Youth programs and schools can apply through its community-organization application process.

Assets

$13.8M

Grants

619

Total Given

$11.2M

The Stephen Phillips Memorial Scholarship Fund Inc

Boston, MA

The Stephen Phillips Memorial funds need- and merit-based scholarships for bachelor’s students, generally awarding $3,000–$17,000 (with typical annual awards of $6,000–$10,000). Applicants must be permanent residents of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont, but may attend college anywhere in the United States. Students apply through the online portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Education

Assets

$41.6M

Grants

520

Total Given

$5.1M

Berkshire Bank Foundation Inc

Pittsfield, MA

Berkshire Bank Foundation supports nonprofits working on small-business growth, financial inclusion, affordable housing, and additional needs including health, food access, youth, and the arts. Recent grants ranged from $50 to $33,333, with a median of $2,500; it serves communities in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont, though all 2024 grant dollars went to Massachusetts. It accepts written applications from eligible 501(c)(3) public charities, with quarterly deadlines on December 15, March 15, June 15, and September 15.

Assets

$17.1M

Grants

478

Total Given

$2.0M

More Funders in Massachusetts

Evelyn & Louis Grossman Fund Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?