Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools logo

Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools

Public charity · Grantmaker Billings, MT EIN: 81-0452904 Website

We fuel student achievement by investing in the entire educational experience.

Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools at a glance

In short: Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools gave $425K across 7 grants in 2025 (avg $61K), mostly in Montana. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$425,176
-32.2% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
7
-22.2% vs 2024
Average grant
$60,739
-12.8% vs 2024
Median grant
$38,982
Total assets
$7,416,481
+7.3% vs 2024
Primary geography
Montana (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 2 recipients in 2025

Billings Public Schools: $354K across 5 grantsBillings Public Schools$354K · 5 grantsLaurel High School: $33KLaurel High School$33K

The largest 2025 recipient was Billings Public Schools ($354K across 5 grants). Together the top 2 received $386K.

Grant Size Distribution

51 grants across all recorded years

35<$50K9$50–100K7$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 35 grants of 51 (69%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 7 itemized grants.

States

Cities

BillingsLaurel

How Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−2%). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K$800K8 grants2019 13 grants2020 12 grants2021 13 grants2022 10 grants2023 9 grants2024 7 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $364K (2019) to $627K (2024). In 2025 it made 7 grants totaling $425K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Billings Public Schools Billings, MTEndowment Funds Grants$133,979
Billings Public Schools Billings, MTDonor Restricted Grants$108,664
Billings Public Schools Billings, MTClassroom Grants$74,661
Various Billings Schools and Clubs Billings, MTSUV Raffle Funds$38,982
Laurel High School Laurel, MTEndowment Funds Grants$32,673
Billings Public Schools Billings, MTSaturday Live Funds$23,717
Billings Public Schools Billings, MTOne Class at a Time Grants$12,500
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$7,416,481$1,753,460$1,510,026$425,1767$345,870
2024$6,913,981$3,071,273$1,282,893$626,7159$415,172
2023$5,047,658$1,114,753$922,613$535,97810$153,590
2022$4,570,365$1,068,447$809,127$434,47513$359,376
2021$5,339,940$1,206,335$798,366$472,46012$462,457
2020$4,282,262$869,676$687,483$444,76113$178,507
2019$4,176,165$793,933$627,922$364,2498$243,347

About Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools

Based on IRS filings

Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools is a public charity, based in Billings, MT. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $7.4M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 7 grants totaling $425K. Net investment income was $346K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools is led by Kelly McCandless, Executive Director since 2024 (on filings since 2023); 1 of 21 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Kelly McCandless

    Executive Director

    Executiver Director → Executive Director, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    29.2 hrs/week

    $58K (2023) → $70K (2025)

  • Shannon Christensen

    President

    Director → Vice President, 2021

    Vice President → President, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Todd McDonald

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeanne Manske

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cory Moore

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pete Bolenbaugh

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Julie Asher

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Aj Miller

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kim Theis

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kristin Wagner

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Linda Marrs-Morford

    Director

    Vice President → Director, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lornel Baker

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ross McLinden

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Scott Anderson

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sommer Reinhardt

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Danielle Meyer

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Erwin Garcia

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Greg Benjamin

    Past President

    Vice President → President, 2021

    President → Past President, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • April Keippel

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chris Dorr

    Vice President

    Director → Vice President, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Korrine Rice

    Treasurer

    Director → Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (25)
  • Former: Shane Richards (2019–2024) — Director
  • Former: Kelly Edwards (2020–2024) — Director
  • Former: Jennifer Smith (2023–2024) — Director
  • Former: Angie Gray (2019–2023) — Secretary
  • Former: Darrell Ehrlick (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Joel Chipmen (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Jordan Baker (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Karen Albrecht (2021–2023) — Director
  • Former: Tierani Brusett (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Mary Dyer (2022) — Director
  • Former: Alex Tyson (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Mary Dyre (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Julie Sullivan (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Brian Yates (2021) — Director
  • Former: Christine Klepps (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Dennis Sulser (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Heidi Knudson (2019–2020) — President
  • Former: Joseph Raffiani (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Robin Hanel (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Sarah Painter (2020) — Director
  • Former: Chuck Barthuly (2019) — Director
  • Former: Jill Quade (2019) — President
  • Former: McCall Linke (2019) — Director
  • Former: Rilla Hardgrove (2019) — Director
  • Former: Todd Preston (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Kelly McCandless — Executive Director: $70KKelly McCandlessExecutive Director$70K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $70K, to Kelly McCandless (Executive Director).

Frequently asked questions about Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools

How much does Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools give each year?

Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools gave $425K across 7 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $627K across 9 grants.

What is Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools's typical grant size?

Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools's median grant in 2025 was $38,982, and its average grant was $60,739, across 7 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools give grants?

Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools gives mostly in Montana: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Billings, MT (6 grants).

Does Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 7 grants with a stated purpose on Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.

How large is Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools?

Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools reported $7.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.8M.

What is Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools's EIN?

Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 81-0452904. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(3)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 12, 2020)
  2. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 1, 2026)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Montana

First Interstate BancSystem Foundation

Billings, MT

The First Interstate BancSystem Foundation funds poverty reduction, youth development, financial education, and community development, as well as civic, arts, education, health, human services, and sustainability efforts in communities served by First Interstate Bank across 10 states. Its 2025 grants had a median award of $2,500, though amounts varied widely; the stated minimum grant is $2,500. Organizations can submit grant requests online, which are traditionally reviewed monthly, but grants must be recommended by a local First Interstate branch.

Assets

$19.2M

Grants

767

Total Given

$5.0M

Town Pump Charitable Foundation

Butte, MT

The Town Pump Charitable Foundation supports Montana charitable and governmental organizations, with priority for basic needs and education, including food access, community programs, and schools. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $110,900, with a median of $1,000, and went to Montana recipients for work in Montana. It accepts written grant requests through its application portal; no general deadline is stated.

Assets

$78.4M

Grants

622

Total Given

$2.8M

Dennis & Phyllis Washington Foundation

Missoula, MT

The Foundation supports education, health and human services, arts and culture, and community service, with an emphasis on direct services for underserved people in Montana and areas where The Washington Companies operate. Its 2024 grants ranged from $242 to $5 million, with a median award of $10,000; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

547

Total Given

$50.0M

Hawkins Scholarship Foundation

Great Falls, MT

Assets

$4.1M

Grants

290

Total Given

$256K

Montana Community Foundation Inc

Helena, MT

Montana Community Foundation funds nonprofits and community projects in education, culture, economic vitality, land, resilience, and health, primarily benefiting Montana communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $12,500; amounts ranged from about $5,000 to $442,000, while its Community Investment Program offers grants up to $50,000 for eligible projects in three counties. Applicants can apply through listed opportunities, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$215.5M

Grants

316

Total Given

$7.7M

Gianforte Family Charitable Trust

Bozeman, MT

The trust funds Montana nonprofits focused on youth and disadvantaged people’s education, faith-based family strengthening, and recovery or restoration for people affected by substance abuse, trafficking, or incarceration. Its 2024 median grant was $10,000, though awards ranged widely; it also offers church and school outreach grants of up to $3,300. It does not accept unsolicited requests and funds work in Montana or that directly affects Montanans.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$231.1M

Grants

256

Total Given

$12.1M

More similar funders

More Funders in Montana

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Education Foundation for Billings Public Schools down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?