Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust

Private foundation · Grantmaker Alton, IL EIN: 43-6852256

Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust is a private foundation, based in Alton, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $225K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $10K. Net investment income was $14K.

Key facts about Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust

In short: Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust gave $10K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $10K), mostly in Illinois. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
43-6852256
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$9,984
Grants made (2025)
1
Average grant
$9,984
Median grant
$9,984
Total assets
$225,327
Primary geography
Illinois (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$225K

+0.2% YoY

Annual Giving

$10K

-13.1% YoY

Grant Count

1

+0.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$10K

-13.1% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust reported a distributable amount of $12K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−19%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 89% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Wood River

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$5K$10K$15K1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $9K (2021) to $12K (2022). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $10K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

The Alton Foundation: $10KThe Alton Foundation$10K

The largest 2025 recipient was The Alton Foundation ($10K).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

5<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 5 grants of 5 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
The Alton Foundation Wood River, ILEdna & emma sawyer fund the alton foundation which funds various local 501(c)(3) charities specified in the sawyer's last will and testament. Boy scouts $2,496girl scouts $2,496ywca $2,496alton police youth camp $2,496$9,984

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$25K$50K$75K$100K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$225,327$224,847$166,195
Revenue$15,376$72,773$12,711
Expenses$14,214$14,007$11,680
Qualifying Distributions$11,141$12,595$10,629
Net Investment Income$14,098$71,559$11,622
Distributable Amount$12,489$11,058$10,607

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 13, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 12, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 12, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 30, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 12, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 12, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust is led by Mark Kratschmer, Chairman on every filing since 2020; none of the 8 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Mark Kratschmer

    Chairman

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jason Harrison

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jim Schwartzkopf

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Hoelscher

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rene Bassett Butler

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matt Waters

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gary Osborne

    Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Patrick Heitzig

    Vice Chairman

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (3)
  • Former: Emert Wyss (2020–2024) — Director
  • Former: Jeannine Kelly (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Robert Walters (2020) — Secretary

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust

How much does Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust give each year?

Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust gave $10K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $11K across 1 grant.

How large is Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust?

Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust reported $225K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $11K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $12K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

Where does Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust operate?

Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust has awarded grants in Illinois.

What is Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust's EIN?

Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 43-6852256. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Louise K Barth Memorial Fund

Alton, IL

Assets

$3.2M

Grants

3

Total Given

$185K

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

The Allstate Foundation

Northbrook, IL

The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.

Assets

—

Grants

2,010

Total Given

$38.0M

Elks National Foundation Inc

Chicago, IL

The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans services, disaster relief, and community projects, primarily through Elks Lodges and state associations in communities across the United States where Elks live and work. Its 2025 grants had a median of $8,500, though amounts varied widely; the listed Beacon and Freedom Grants are limited to Elks Lodges. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$954.1M

Grants

1,536

Total Given

$36.5M

John D and Catherine T Macarthur

Chicago, IL

The foundation funds a broad range of work, including journalism, arts, Chicago communities, climate and clean energy, homelessness, human rights, and criminal justice reform. Its 2024 grants had a median of $160,000, with awards ranging from $450 to $21 million; funding is nationwide, with the largest shares going to New York, Illinois, and Washington, D.C. Application rules vary by program: some accept self-nominations or Letters of Inquiry, while others generally do not fund unsolicited proposals.

Assets

$9.3B

Grants

1,086

Total Given

$356.1M

Arie and Ida Crown Memorial

Chicago, IL

Arie and Ida Crown Memorial supports a broad range of organizations, including education, Jewish organizations, and community foundations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $55,000; 55% of grant dollars went to Illinois, with additional funding in New York, Washington, DC, California, and Minnesota. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

—

Grants

897

Total Given

$115.2M

Jewish Federation of Metropolitan

Chicago, IL

The Jewish Federation of Metropolitan funds human services, education, community programs, Jewish life, and crisis relief in the Chicago area, as well as support for Israel and Jewish communities worldwide. Its 2025 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $27.4 million, with a median of about $20,000. Unsolicited requests are not addressed for the Federation overall; its separate Jewish Women’s Foundation accepts letters of intent, with proposals by invitation only.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

896

Total Given

$166.6M

Polk Bros Foundation Inc

Chicago, IL

Polk Bros Foundation funds community-driven Chicago nonprofits working to close the life expectancy gap, build community wealth, and foster participatory, multiracial democracy. Recent grants ranged from $100 to $250,000, with a median of $25,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests during its transition period, which ends in fall 2026; it currently offers targeted RFPs.

Assets

$334.3M

Grants

568

Total Given

$19.3M

Circle of Service Foundation

Chicago, IL

Circle of Service Foundation funds community services, education, medical research, and Jewish causes, with nearly all grants going to organizations in Cook and Lake Counties, Illinois. Grants typically range from $100 to $500,000, with a median of $25,000. It accepts unsolicited pre-applications for community services and Jewish community needs; education and medical research grants are typically by invitation, and unsolicited capital proposals are not accepted.

Assets

—

Grants

637

Total Given

$37.0M

Ea Mellinger Educational

Monmouth, IL

The foundation primarily funds undergraduate scholarships and makes a small number of educational grants to charitable organizations; in 2025, awards ranged from $183 to $15,000, with a median of $2,100. Scholarships are limited to residents of six Illinois counties, and most grant dollars go to Illinois recipients. It provides an online scholarship application, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests for organizational grants is not stated.

Assets

$25.0M

Grants

582

Total Given

$1.2M

Greater Chicago Food Depository

Chicago, IL

The Greater Chicago Food Depository funds hunger-relief work, including food distribution and programs serving children, older adults, and other communities in need across Chicago and Cook County, Illinois. In 2025, its 119 grants ranged from $30 to $175,000, with a median of $3,760; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Food, Agriculture & Nutrition

Assets

$216.0M

Grants

677

Total Given

$191.2M

More Funders in Illinois

Edna & Emma O Sawyer Charitable Trust down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?