Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family
Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family is a private foundation based in Columbus, Ohio. In 2025, it made 14 grants totaling $296,605, with 99% of grant dollars going to recipients in Ohio.
Key facts about Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family
In short: Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family gave $297K across 14 grants in 2025 (avg $21K), mostly in Ohio. 14% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 34-1947750
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $296,605
- Grants made (2025)
- 14
- Average grant
- $21,186
- Median grant
- $490
- New grantees (estimate)
- 14% first-time grantees (2 of 14, 2025)
- Total assets
- $6,252,603
- Primary geography
- Ohio (99% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- How to apply
- Submit a written application stating the purpose of the request; awards are restricted to charitable organizations. Full details ↓
- Deadline
- None.
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$6.3M
+2.5% YoY
Annual Giving
$297K
-37.2% YoY
Grant Count
14
-22.2% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$21K
-19.3% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family reported a distributable amount of $402K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family open to new grantees?
14%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 2 of 14 grantees (14%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $265; repeat grants $25K. How we count
Medians: $265 first-time, $750 repeat.
- 57% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−20%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 81% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants show support for varied charitable organizations. For example, Youngstown State University Foundation describes its work as supporting student scholarships, student development, and career opportunities. Ohio Osteopathic Foundation says it supports education and research in Ohio through scholarships and grants to osteopathic colleges and institutions, and promotes the osteopathic profession through public education programs. Butler Institute of American Art describes its mission as promoting appreciation of art through collections, exhibits, and education.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation awarded 14 grants totaling $296,605. Grant amounts ranged from $50 to $256,000, with a median grant of $490.
The largest grant was $256,000 to Northeast Ohio Medical University Foundation for general operating support. Other notable awards included $30,100 to Youngstown State University Foundation for general support and $5,475 to St Anthony Church for general operating support. Akron Children’s Hospital Foundation and the American Heart Association each received $1,000 for general operating support.
Applications should be submitted in writing and state the purpose of the request. Awards are restricted to charitable organizations. The filing says the foundation does not restrict giving to preselected organizations.
Review Cycle
None.
How to Apply
Submit a written application stating the purpose of the request; awards are restricted to charitable organizations. The filing lists David Sabine Co Huntington Natl B as the contact.
Ready to take the next step with Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 99% of grant dollars went to recipients in Ohio. The filing also lists recipients in Texas, Virginia, Missouri, and Illinois, each representing 0% of grant dollars in the reported state shares.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 14 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $266K (2021) to $473K (2024). In 2025 it made 14 grants totaling $297K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Northeast Ohio Medical Univ Fdn ($256K). Together the top 10 received $296K.
Grant Size Distribution
108 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 101 grants of 108 (94%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Northeast Ohio Medical Univ Fdn Rootstown, OH | General Operating | $256,000 |
| Youngstown State University Foundation Youngstown, OH | General Support | $30,100 |
| St Anthony Church Youngstown, OH | General Operating | $5,475 |
| American Heart Association Dallas, TX | General Operating | $1,000 |
| Akron Childrens Hospital Foundation Akron, OH | General Operating | $1,000 |
| Childrens Free Care Fund Williamsburg, VA | General Operating | $1,000 |
| Ohio Osteopathic Foundation Columbus, OH | General Operating | $500 |
| Our Lady of Mt Carmel Youngstown, OH | General Operating | $480 |
| Butler Institute of American Art Youngstown, OH | General Operating | $300 |
| Wolves Scholarship Charitable Trust Canfield, OH | General Operating | $300 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $6,252,603 | $521,664 | $365,572 | $296,605 | 14 |
| 2024 | $6,097,879 | $486,722 | $530,595 | $472,561 | 18 |
| 2023 | $6,139,952 | $281,611 | $343,278 | $284,925 | 22 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $6,252,603 | $6,097,879 | $6,139,952 |
| Revenue | $521,664 | $486,722 | $281,611 |
| Expenses | $365,572 | $530,595 | $343,278 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $326,103 | $500,741 | $311,002 |
| Net Investment Income | $491,298 | $454,848 | $254,711 |
| Distributable Amount | $401,527 | $375,546 | $354,846 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 27, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 9, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 11, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 6, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 7, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 5, 2026)
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists A Gary Bitonte MD, David A Bitonte MD, and Simon P Werle as directors, and Huntington National Bank as trustee.
Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family's 2025 filing lists 4 officers; 1 of 4 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Huntington National Bank
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
$48K (2020) → $56K (2025)
A. Gary Bitonte MD
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David A. Bitonte MD
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Simon P. Werle
Director
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (2)
- Former: Dianne Bitonte Miladore MD (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Michael J. Miladore MD (2020–2021) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $56K, to Huntington National Bank (Trustee).
Contact
Application contact: David Sabine Co Huntington Natl B
Mailing address: 23 Federal Plaza, Youngstown, OH 44503
Phone: (330) 742-7021
Email: dave.sabine@huntington.com
Frequently asked questions about Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family
How much does Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family give each year?
Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family gave $297K across 14 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $473K across 18 grants.
What is Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family's typical grant size?
Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family's median grant in 2025 was $490, and its average grant was $21,186, across 14 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family that year got $265 on average.
Where does Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family give grants?
Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family gives mostly in Ohio: 99% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Youngstown, OH (4 grants) and Columbus, OH (2 grants).
Does Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (14 of 14) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family's largest grantees?
Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family's largest 2025 grantees include Northeast Ohio Medical Univ Fdn ($256,000), Youngstown State University Foundation ($30,100) and St Anthony Church ($5,475), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 98% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family?
Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family reported $6.3M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $326K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $402K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants show support for varied charitable organizations. For example, Youngstown State University Foundation describes its work as supporting student scholarships, student development, and career opportunities. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family?
Submit a written application stating the purpose of the request; awards are restricted to charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family's EIN?
Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-1947750. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Ohio
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Premier Bank Foundation
Canfield, OH
The foundation supports qualified charitable organizations and community efforts, with 2025 grants spanning neighborhood development, social equity, entrepreneurship, revitalization, and local services. Grants ranged from $30 to $60,000, with a median of $1,682, and most funding went to Ohio, followed by Indiana, Michigan, and Pennsylvania. Its filing says it does not limit giving to preselected organizations; awards are determined by its Distribution Committee, and no application form or materials are listed.
Assets
$14.5M
Grants
388
Total Given
$1.4M
Columbus Foundation
Columbus, OH
The Columbus Foundation funds nonprofits across areas including education, arts and culture, health, basic needs, the environment, neighborhoods, and capacity building, with a focus on central Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,471, though amounts varied widely; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
1,747
Total Given
$242.7M
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation funds nonprofits working in education, housing, arts and culture, neighborhood development, health, basic needs, and related community priorities across its eight-county service area in Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though awards varied widely; it states that it responds to proposals from nonprofits in its service area.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,408
Total Given
$184.4M
The Cleveland Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The Cleveland Foundation funds nonprofits working in arts and culture, education, health, economic development, neighborhoods, the environment, and other community priorities across Cuyahoga, Lake, and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $30,700; it offers a year-round application, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
1,016
Total Given
$184.2M
The Scripps Howard Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Scripps Howard Foundation supports journalism education and related programs, including fellowships and investigative and open-source reporting, with 2024 grants concentrated in Maryland, Washington, D.C., Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. Its median 2024 grant was $1,250, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$69.4M
Grants
819
Total Given
$7.4M
Nisource Charitable Foundation
Columbus, OH
The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$43.0M
Grants
683
Total Given
$7.5M
Dayton Foundation Depository
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation Depository funds charitable, educational, civic, religious, and community activities, including arts and culture, health, education, and human services, primarily in the Greater Dayton region. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $12,000; the Foundation’s discretionary program accepts requests of more than $7,500 and up to $75,000, and Greenlight Grants offer $500 to $7,500.
Assets
$42.3M
Grants
677
Total Given
$22.7M
The Dayton Foundation
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation supports nonprofit projects in areas such as education, arts and culture, health, human services and the environment that benefit Greater Dayton. Greenlight grants range from $500 to $7,500, discretionary grants are above $7,500 and up to $75,000, and its 2025 grant median was $14,550. Organizations can apply through its grants portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$771.2M
Grants
589
Total Given
$32.6M
Timken Co Charitable & Educational Fund
North Canton, OH
The Fund supports approved nonprofits delivering measurable, lasting improvements in communities where Timken operates, including community services, housing, food access, education, and workforce programs. Typical grants are $500–$10,000, with larger requests requiring board preapproval; eligible communities include locations in Ohio, North Carolina, Colorado, Illinois, and South Carolina. It says it gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.1M
Grants
436
Total Given
$2.5M
Jewish Federation of Cleveland
Cleveland, OH
The Jewish Federation of Cleveland funds social-welfare, religious, educational, security, and community programs, with a focus on Cleveland and Ohio as well as Jewish needs in Israel and around the world. Its 2025 grants had a median of $22,250, though amounts varied widely; the available information does not specify whether it accepts unsolicited institutional requests.
Assets
$680.2M
Grants
425
Total Given
$72.7M
More Funders in Ohio
Dr Dominic & Helen Bitonte Family down — hundreds of funders to go?