Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Springfield, IL EIN: 37-1126817

The DR ARTHUR & BONNIE ENNIS FOUNDATION is a private foundation based in Springfield, Illinois. Its 2025 filing lists grants to organizations in Hawaii, Texas and Indiana, including a school, a church, a YMCA and an animal-welfare organization.

Key facts about Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation

In short: Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation gave $30K across 5 grants in 2025 (avg $6K), mostly in Hawaii. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
37-1126817
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$30,000
Grants made (2025)
5
Average grant
$6,000
Median grant
$5,000
Total assets
$1,594,257
Primary geography
Hawaii (50% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
How to apply
The foundation does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$1.6M

+1.0% YoY

Annual Giving

$30K

-6.3% YoY

Grant Count

5

+25.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$6K

-25.0% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation reported a distributable amount of $77K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation gives

  • Giving fell 99% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 39% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No foundation mission is stated in the available information. Among its 2025 grantees, Punahou School describes its mission in terms of helping students discover their purpose and responsibilities to Hawai‘i and the world. Hawaiian Humane Society says it works to improve animal welfare on Oahu through care, education, legislation and prevention, and to promote the human-animal bond and humane treatment of animals.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation gave $30,000 through five grants. Awards ranged from $1,000 to $12,000, with a median of $5,000. Its largest grants were $12,000 to Punahou School in Honolulu, Hawaii, and $10,000 to Apostolic Church Dallas in Dallas, Texas. Other grants went to Apostolic World Christian Fellowship in Evansville, Indiana ($5,000), YMCA of Honolulu ($2,000) and Hawaiian Humane Society ($1,000).

Review Cycle

or award restrictions, and the filing names Kathryn Hirota as the application contact.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The foundation’s 2025 grant dollars went to recipients in Hawaii (50%), Texas (33%) and Indiana (17%).

Grant Distribution by State

11states

Share of all 5 itemized 2025 grant dollars.

Cities

HonoluluDallasCarsonChicagoGreensboroMariettaLebanonCrazy HorseEvansvilleEwa BeachFresnoKaneoheLexingtonLouisvillePeoriaPeoria HeightsSan BenitoShawneeWashingtonWest Lafayette

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$1M$2M$3M23 grants202019 grants202114 grants20224 grants20234 grants20245 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $22K (2023) to $2.5M (2022). In 2025 it made 5 grants totaling $30K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2025

Punahou School: $12KPunahou School$12KApostolic Church Dallas: $10KApostolic Church Dallas$10KApostolic World Christianfellowship: $5KApostolic WorldChristianfellowship$5KYMCA of Honolulu: $2KYMCA of Honolulu$2KHawaiian Humane Society: $1KHawaiian Humane Society$1K

The largest 2025 recipient was Punahou School ($12K). Together the top 5 received $30K.

Grant Size Distribution

46 grants across all recorded years

39<$50K1$50–100K3$100–250K2$250–500K$500K–1M1$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 39 grants of 46 (85%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Punahou School Honolulu, HICharitable$12,000
Apostolic Church Dallas Dallas, TXCharitable$10,000
Apostolic World Christianfellowship Evansville, INCharitable$5,000
YMCA of Honolulu Honolulu, HICharitable$2,000
Hawaiian Humane Society Honolulu, HICharitable$1,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Grants given Number of grants
2025 $30,000 5
2024 $32,000 4
2023 $22,000 4
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$1M$2M$3M$4M202020212022202320242025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$1,594,257$1,578,648$1,553,197
Revenue$71,367$79,868$74,818
Expenses$55,758$54,417$40,739
Qualifying Distributions$30,100$32,115$22,015
Net Investment Income$45,709$57,566$56,094
Distributable Amount$77,425$76,197$74,688

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 13, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 13, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 15, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 15, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 14, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Kathryn L Hirota as president and Dennis Hirota, Thomas R Cox III and Apipa Cox as directors.

Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation is led by Kathryn L. Hirota, President on every filing since 2020; all 4 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Kathryn L. Hirota

    President

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $600 (2020) → $600 (2025)

  • Apipa Cox

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $600 (2020) → $600 (2025)

  • Dennis Hirota

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $600 (2020) → $600 (2025)

  • Thomas R. Cox III

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $600 (2020) → $600 (2025)

Former officers (7)
  • Former: Arthur Cox (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Bonnie E. Cox (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Dan Hirota (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Jami Hirota (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Maile Hirota (2020–2022) — Secretary
  • Former: Michele Mazzei (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Ray Sandla (2020–2022) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Kathryn L Hirota — President: $600Kathryn L HirotaPresident$600Dennis Hirota — Director: $600Dennis HirotaDirector$600Thomas R Cox III — Director: $600Thomas R Cox IIIDirector$600Apipa Cox — Director: $600Apipa CoxDirector$600

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $600, to Kathryn L Hirota (President). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Contact

Application contact: Kathryn Hirota
Mailing address: 706 Puuikena Drive, Honolulu, HI 96821
Phone: (217) 329-1601

Frequently asked questions about Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation

How much does Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation give each year?

Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation gave $30K across 5 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $32K across 4 grants.

What is Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation's typical grant size?

Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $5,000, and its average grant was $6,000, across 5 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation give grants?

Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation gives mostly in Hawaii: 50% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Texas (33%) and Indiana (17%). The most frequent recipient cities were Honolulu, HI (3 grants).

Does Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 5 grants with a stated purpose on Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charitable" (5 grants).

Who are Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation's largest grantees?

Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Punahou School ($12,000), Apostolic Church Dallas ($10,000) and Apostolic World Christianfellowship ($5,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 90% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation?

Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation reported $1.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $30K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $77K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation fund?

No foundation mission is stated in the available information. Among its 2025 grantees, Punahou School describes its mission in terms of helping students discover their purpose and responsibilities to Hawai‘i and the world. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation?

The foundation does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation's EIN?

Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 37-1126817. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Bank of Hawaii Charitable Fdn

Honolulu, HI

The foundation supports community development, education, human services, and arts integration, with an emphasis on strengthening low- and moderate-income communities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $297,500, with a median of $25,000; 95% of funding went to organizations in Hawaii. Grant requests may be submitted at any time.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.7M

Grants

40

Total Given

$1.4M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Aloha United Way Inc

Honolulu, HI

Aloha United Way funds Hawaiʻi community organizations working on health, education, financial stability, housing, basic needs, family support, and related services, with most funding focused on Oʻahu. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,852 to $1,858,647, with a median of $24,421; it offers specific application cycles, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$23.5M

Grants

175

Total Given

$14.0M

Atherton Family Foundation

Honolulu, HI

The Atherton Family Foundation funds Hawai‘i-serving nonprofits in arts and culture, community development, education, environment, health, human services, spiritual development, and youth development, with an emphasis on collaborative systems change. Its stated average awards for 2026 are about $13,500 for program grants and $41,500 for capital grants. It accepts applications through its online process at scheduled deadlines.

Assets

$82.9M

Grants

1

Total Given

$5.6M

Tradewind Group Foundation

Honolulu, HI

The Tradewind Group Foundation supports education, workforce development, housing, health, arts, youth, culture, and other community needs in Hawai‘i. Its 2025 grants ranged from $86 to $100,510, with a median of $5,000. It accepts requests by letter stating the request and the organization’s purpose; the filing says giving is not limited to preselected organizations.

Assets

$45.1M

Grants

146

Total Given

$1.5M

J Watumull Fund

Honolulu, HI

J Watumull Fund supports public charities and schools across areas including arts, education, health, community services, and child welfare; most of its 2024 grant dollars went to Hawaii. Its grants ranged from $500 to $50,000, with a median of $2,000. It accepts applications anytime.

Assets

$12.1M

Grants

275

Total Given

$684K

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

The Allstate Foundation

Northbrook, IL

The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.

Assets

—

Grants

2,010

Total Given

$38.0M

Elks National Foundation Inc

Chicago, IL

The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans services, disaster relief, and community projects, primarily through Elks Lodges and state associations in communities across the United States where Elks live and work. Its 2025 grants had a median of $8,500, though amounts varied widely; the listed Beacon and Freedom Grants are limited to Elks Lodges. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$954.1M

Grants

1,536

Total Given

$36.5M

John D and Catherine T Macarthur

Chicago, IL

The foundation funds a broad range of work, including journalism, arts, Chicago communities, climate and clean energy, homelessness, human rights, and criminal justice reform. Its 2024 grants had a median of $160,000, with awards ranging from $450 to $21 million; funding is nationwide, with the largest shares going to New York, Illinois, and Washington, D.C. Application rules vary by program: some accept self-nominations or Letters of Inquiry, while others generally do not fund unsolicited proposals.

Assets

$9.3B

Grants

1,086

Total Given

$356.1M

More Funders in Illinois

Dr Arthur & Bonnie Ennis Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?