Della Martin Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Los Angeles, CA EIN: 23-7444954
HealthMental health care

Della Martin Foundation is a private foundation focused on Health, based in Los Angeles, CA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $7.9M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $250K. Net investment income was $369K.

Della Martin Foundation at a glance

In short: Della Martin Foundation gave $250K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $250K), mostly in California. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$250,000
-58.3% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$250,000
-58.3% vs 2024
Median grant
$250,000
Total assets
$7,925,655
+0.1% vs 2024
Primary geography
California (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Della Martin Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Univeristy of California Irvine: $250KUniveristy of CaliforniaIrvine$250K

The largest 2025 recipient was Univeristy of California Irvine ($250K).

Grant Size Distribution

6 grants across all recorded years

1<$50K$50–100K2$100–250K2$250–500K1$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 2 grants of 6 (33%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

PasadenaIrvineLos AngelesOrange

How Della Martin Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 25% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 66% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 2 grants2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $200K (2021) to $600K (2024). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $250K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Univeristy of California Irvine Orange, CACharitable distribution to add to existing endowment for the della martin uci postdoctoral fellowship in mental illness -- ii at the university of California, irvine.$250,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Della Martin Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$7,925,655$467,335$463,289$250,0001$349,480$368,587$531,843
2024$7,921,609$960,450$779,126$600,0001$675,310$865,389$527,481
2023$7,740,285$651,370$642,532$440,0002$542,159$557,924$486,981
2022$7,731,447$582,003$354,899$200,0001$258,968$489,692$491,452
2021$7,504,343$668,947$401,488$200,0001$276,928$564,477$524,045
2020$7,236,884$956,532$528,809$400,0001—$870,960$436,342

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Della Martin Foundation reported a distributable amount of $532K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Della Martin Foundation's 2025 filing lists 7 officers; 4 of 7 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Eileen D. Sheppard

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    $1K (2020) → $2K (2025)

  • Kelly Kinnon

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    $1K (2020) → $2K (2025)

  • Philip A. Swan

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    $1K (2020) → $2K (2025)

  • Carole M. Lewis

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    0.5 hrs/week

    $500 (2024) → $2K (2025)

  • James A. Lonergan

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Laurence K. Gould Jr.

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    2.8 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nancy B. Reimann

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Allen W. Mathies Jr. MD (2020–2023) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Eileen D Sheppard — Trustee: $2KEileen D SheppardTrustee$2KPhilip a Swan — Trustee: $2KPhilip a SwanTrustee$2KCarole M Lewis — Trustee: $2KCarole M LewisTrustee$2KKelly Kinnon — Trustee: $2KKelly KinnonTrustee$2K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $2K, to Eileen D Sheppard (Trustee). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Della Martin Foundation

How much does Della Martin Foundation give each year?

Della Martin Foundation gave $250K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $600K across 1 grant.

How large is Della Martin Foundation?

Della Martin Foundation reported $7.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $349K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $532K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is Della Martin Foundation?

Della Martin Foundation is a private foundation focused on Health, based in Los Angeles, CA. It holds $7.9M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Della Martin Foundation operate?

Della Martin Foundation has awarded grants in California.

What is Della Martin Foundation's EIN?

Della Martin Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7444954. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS April 8, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 7, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS March 8, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 6, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 15, 2025)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 23, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Della Martin Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in California

The James G Boswell Foundation

Pasadena, CA

The James G Boswell Foundation funds California organizations in areas including health care, medical research, agriculture, education, and legal advocacy. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $2 million, with a median grant of $100,000. It gives only to preselected charities and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$141.7M

Grants

21

Total Given

$7.6M

Warren & Katharine Schlinger Foundation

Laguna Niguel, CA

The Warren & Katharine Schlinger Foundation funds organizations in areas including education, human services, animal welfare, mental health, and culture, primarily in California. Its 2024 grants ranged from $3,000 to $3 million, with a median of $20,000. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$99.6M

Grants

42

Total Given

$9.3M

American Heart Association Inc

Dallas, TX

The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational and population research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular and brain health, along with research training and education programs. In 2025 it awarded 833 grants totaling about $198 million; amounts ranged from $5,000 to nearly $9.93 million, with a median of $20,000. Research awards are for eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions, and the profile describes a formal proposal process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

833

Total Given

$198.2M

California Community Foundation

Los Angeles, CA

The California Community Foundation supports nonprofits through discretionary and donor-directed grants, with discretionary priorities including education, health, housing and immigration, alongside other areas such as arts, civic engagement and economic opportunity. Its 2025 grants had a median of $50,000, and its work is focused on Los Angeles County; prospective discretionary applicants are asked to contact the relevant program officer before submitting a letter of intent.

Assets

$2.3B

Grants

2,174

Total Given

$326.6M

The Trustees of Columbia University in the City of New York

New York, NY

Columbia funds research, education and research, and capital projects, primarily through grants to universities and medical and research institutions across the United States, with the largest share going to New York recipients. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $109,000, though awards ranged from $5,350 to $15.1 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$26.0B

Grants

417

Total Given

$208.3M

The Otis Booth Foundation

Los Angeles, CA

The Otis Booth Foundation supports organizations in education, science, public safety, domestic-violence services, community outreach, and the arts, with most 2024 grant dollars going to California. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,200 to $5 million, with a median of $25,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$231.3M

Grants

140

Total Given

$14.4M

More similar funders

More Funders in California

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Della Martin Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Della Martin Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?