Cooperative Development Fund of CDS logo

Cooperative Development Fund of CDS

Public charity · Grantmaker Eagan, MN EIN: 39-1540529 Website

To help start and grow cooperatively owned enterprises

Cooperative Development Fund of CDS at a glance

In short: Cooperative Development Fund of CDS gave $750K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $750K), mostly in Illinois. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$750,000
Grants made (2025)
1
Average grant
$750,000
Median grant
$750,000
Total assets
$667,754
+87.5% vs 2024
Primary geography
Illinois (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Cooperative Development Fund of CDS funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Prairie Food Co-Op: $750KPrairie Food Co-Op$750K

The largest 2025 recipient was Prairie Food Co-Op ($750K).

Grant Size Distribution

2 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K$100–250K1$250–500K1$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $250–500K range: 1 grant of 2 (50%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

Cities

LombardSt. Paul

How Cooperative Development Fund of CDS gives

  • Giving grew 54% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K$800K0 grants2019 0 grants2020 0 grants2021 1 grant2022 0 grants2023 0 grants2024 1 grant2025

From 2022 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $487K (2022) to $750K (2025). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $750K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Prairie Food Co-Op Lombard, ILConstruction of New Food Cooperative$750,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Cooperative Development Fund of CDS?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$667,754$1,757,696$1,522,252$750,0001$4,308
2024$356,066$788,567$1,676,119——$658
2023$1,236,003$1,309,497$949,260——$777
2022$866,724$1,248,799$983,643$486,6001$364
2021$600,636$653,895$154,809——$65
2020$101,597$75,067$101,033———
2019$132,963$190,015$216,267———

About Cooperative Development Fund of CDS

Based on IRS filings

Cooperative Development Fund of CDS is a public charity, based in Eagan, MN. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $668K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $750K. Net investment income was $4K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Cooperative Development Fund of CDS is led by Kevin Edberg, Previous Executive Director since 2025 (on filings since 2019); none of the 14 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Kevin Edberg

    Previous Executive Director

    Executive Director → Previous Executive Director, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Leslie Watson

    Executive Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Martin Walsh

    Chairman

    Treasurer → Chairman, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alison Deelstra

    Director

    Chairman → Director, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gary Sloan

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sadie Frericks

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Minnihan

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Daniel Ramos Haaz

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jack Huerter

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Renee Ledoux

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bobby Martens

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Amy Fields

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Collie Graddick

    Vice Chair

    Director → Vice Chair, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jen McCubbin

    Treasurer

    Treasurer → Director, 2023

    Director → Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (10)
  • Former: Dave Holm (2024) — Director
  • Former: Ann Fedorachak (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Dave Swanson (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Marty Walsh (2021–2023) — Treasurer
  • Former: Rick Kievits (2022–2023) — Director
  • Former: Char Vrieze (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Stacey Webster (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Darin Florenz (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Rachel Hanson (2019–2020) — Vice President
  • Former: Gail Graham (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Cooperative Development Fund of CDS

How much does Cooperative Development Fund of CDS give each year?

Cooperative Development Fund of CDS gave $750K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990.

How large is Cooperative Development Fund of CDS?

Cooperative Development Fund of CDS reported $668K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.8M.

Where does Cooperative Development Fund of CDS operate?

Cooperative Development Fund of CDS has awarded grants in Illinois, Minnesota.

What is Cooperative Development Fund of CDS's EIN?

Cooperative Development Fund of CDS's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 39-1540529. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(5)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-EZ for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS February 5, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990-EZ for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS March 10, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 2, 2023)
  4. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 6, 2026)
  5. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Cooperative Development Fund of CDS's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Minnesota

The Minneapolis Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Minneapolis Foundation funds civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education, health, the environment, arts, and human services, with most grant dollars going to Minnesota. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. It says no funding opportunities are currently open; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

1,565

Total Given

$121.7M

Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation

St. Paul, MN

The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic opportunity, health and human services, youth and education, housing, and organizational capacity. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000; listed programs offer up to $50,000 for eligible East Metro work and up to $15,000 for qualifying Minnesota organizations. It accepts applications through specific programs, including rolling application opportunities; the Community Solutions Grant Program serves Dakota, Ramsey, and Washington counties.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

1,473

Total Given

$107.2M

The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$218.3M

Grants

1,431

Total Given

$47.9M

First Children's Finance

Minneapolis, MN

First Children’s Finance supports child care businesses and communities through grants for projects such as facility improvements, feasibility studies, and provider support, as well as loans paired with technical assistance. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,283 to $50,000, with a median of $11,839; grant examples are in Minnesota, Vermont, and Wisconsin, while its loan fund serves 10 states.

Human Services

Assets

$7.0M

Grants

80

Total Given

$1.1M

C K Blandin Foundation

Grand Rapids, MN

The C K Blandin Foundation funds rural Minnesota projects that build community wealth, improve rural places, strengthen small communities, and support capacity-building, with a primary focus on the Grand Rapids area. Rural grants are typically $25,000–$150,000; it does not accept unsolicited requests, offering opportunities through invitations or competitive RFPs.

Assets

$506.3M

Grants

931

Total Given

$15.8M

Otto Bremer Trust

St. Paul, MN

The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

180

Total Given

$57.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Minnesota

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Cooperative Development Fund of CDS's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Cooperative Development Fund of CDS down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?