Concordia University Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Mequon, WI EIN: 39-0833608

Post secondary education - Concordia University inc. Is a lutheran higher education community committed to helping students develop in mind, body, and spirit for service to christ in the church and the world.

Concordia University Inc at a glance

Total assets
$198,701,908
+6.3% vs 2024
Revenue (2025)
$166,327,647
-4.5% vs 2024
Net investment income (2025)
$374,369
+97.3% vs 2024
Expenses (2025)
$158,571,301
-8.2% vs 2024
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Concordia University Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

1 grant across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 1 grant of 1 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

States

Cities

Mequon

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K0 grants2020 0 grants2021 0 grants2022 1 grant2023 0 grants2024 0 grants2025

In 2023 it made 1 grant totaling $211K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Cuventures Inc Mequon, WISupport$210,744
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Concordia University Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$198,701,908$166,327,647$158,571,301——$374,369
2024$186,943,435$174,173,472$172,685,715——$189,772
2023$171,284,180$166,294,839$171,246,112$210,7441$27,355
2022$177,844,047$176,566,325$174,880,016——$4,731,519
2021$163,946,113$168,516,078$170,586,955——$914,135
2020$169,064,782$159,253,851$165,566,687——$674,730

About Concordia University Inc

Based on IRS filings

Concordia University Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Mequon, WI. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $198.7M in total assets. Net investment income was $374K.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Concordia University Inc is led by Erik Ankerberg, President on every filing since 2023; 8 of 25 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Erik Ankerberg

    President

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $112K (2024) → $94K (2025)

  • David Piehler

    Board Chair

    Board Member → Board Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Erik Jorvig

    Dean Sop

    Dean & School of Pharmacy → Dean Sop, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $210K (2022) → $247K (2025)

  • Matthew Hurtienne

    Dean Bsb & Hsb

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $245K (2023) → $184K (2025)

  • Leah Dvorak

    Assistant Vice President Academics

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $185K (2024) → $183K (2025)

  • Michael Litman

    Faculty Comp Sci

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $276K (2024) → $295K (2025)

  • Danielle Marsh

    Vice President Finance CFO

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $148K (2025)

  • Ernest Stremski

    Faculty Pa

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $177K (2025)

  • Steven Taylor

    Executive Vice President & Vice President Innovation

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $86K (2025)

  • David Fleming

    Board Member

    Board Member → Board Vice Chair, 2023

    Board Vice Chair → Board Member, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Henrichs

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Terry Donovan

    Board Member

    Board Member- Chairman → Board Member, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Lambert

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jennifer Lynn Knox

    Board Secretary

    Board Member → Board Secretary, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jon Schumacher

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jonah Burakowski

    Board Vice Chair

    Board Member → Board Vice Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lisa Senkbeil

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Paula Harris

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stephen Saunders

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian Peterson

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Bliese

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeff Jurss

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joesph Olson

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rick Sovitsky

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Terry Wright

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (43)
  • Former: Roy Peterson (2020–2025) — Vice President Finance & CFO · Filing note: Thru 7124
  • Former: Allen Buss (2020–2024) — Lcms Advisory
  • Former: Allen Prochnow (2020–2024) — COO
  • Former: David Maier (2020–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Dwayne Lueck (2020–2024) — Lcms Advisory
  • Former: James Riske Jr. (2020–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Jamison Hardy (2020–2024) — Lcms Advisory
  • Former: John Berg (2020–2024) — Board Chair
  • Former: Robert Denkert (2020–2024) — Board Secretary
  • Former: William Cario (2020–2024) — Interim President
  • Former: Christine Specht-Palmert (2023–2024) — Advisory
  • Former: David Andersen (2023–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: David Davis (2023–2024) — Lcms Advisory
  • Former: Nathan Wingfield (2023–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Richard Stckwisch (2023–2024) — Lcms Advisory
  • Former: Schott Schweitzer (2023–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Terrance Rowinski (2023–2024) — Advisory
  • Former: Gary Locklair (2024) — Faculty Comp Sci
  • Former: Ernie Stremski (2020–2023) — Faculty Pa
  • Former: Thomas Phillip (2020–2023) — Vice President It
  • Former: Daniel Sem (2021–2023) — Vice President Research & Innov.
  • Former: Christine Specht (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Dale Robertson (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Deborah Davidson (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Dwayne Jobst (2020–2022) — Secretary
  • Former: Gary Petersen (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Harriet Pedersen (2020–2022) — Board Vice Chair
  • Former: John Wille (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Kevin Wilson (2020–2022) — Lcms Advisory
  • Former: Mark Polzin (2020–2022) — Advisory
  • Former: Michael Brown (2020–2022) — Pharmacy Professor
  • Former: Nancy Korom (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Richard Laabs (2020–2022) — Board Chairman
  • Former: Richard Robertson (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Ruth Koch (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Timothy Jest (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Steven Montreal (2021–2022) — Dean, Arts & Sciences
  • Former: Daniel Berge (2022) — Lcms Advisory
  • Former: Daniel Brege (2020–2021) — Lcms-Advisory
  • Former: Gretchen Jameson (2020–2021) — Vice President
  • Former: Patrick T Ferry (2020–2021) — President
  • Former: Dean Arneson (2020) — Dean of School of Pharmacy
  • Former: Linda Samuel (2020) — Director of Ot Program

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Michael Litman — Faculty Comp SCI: $295KMichael LitmanFaculty Comp SCI$295KErik Jorvig — Dean Sop: $247KErik JorvigDean Sop$247KMatthew Hurtienne — Dean BSB/HSB: $184KMatthew HurtienneDean BSB/HSB$184KLeah Dvorak — AVP Academics: $183KLeah DvorakAVP Academics$183KErnest Stremski — Faculty Pa/MD: $177KErnest StremskiFaculty Pa/MD$177KRoy Peterson Thru 7124 — VP Finance /CFO: $158KRoy Peterson Thru 7124VP Finance /CFO$158KDanielle Marsh — VP Finance CFO: $148KDanielle MarshVP Finance CFO$148KErik Ankerberg — President: $94KErik AnkerbergPresident$94KSteven Taylor — EVP and VP Innovation: $86KSteven TaylorEVP and VP Innovation$86K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $295K, to Michael Litman (Faculty Comp SCI). 9 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Concordia University Inc

How large is Concordia University Inc?

Concordia University Inc reported $198.7M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $166.3M.

What is Concordia University Inc?

Concordia University Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Mequon, WI. It holds $198.7M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Concordia University Inc operate?

Concordia University Inc has awarded grants in Wisconsin.

What is Concordia University Inc's EIN?

Concordia University Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 39-0833608. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(3)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 15, 2024)
  2. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Concordia University Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Wisconsin

Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing

Appleton, WI

Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing distributes donor-directed and program donations to a broad range of causes and organizations in local, national, and global communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $11,520 and ranged from $5,006 to $5 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$939.7M

Grants

2,565

Total Given

$84.6M

Dane Buy Local Foundation Inc

Madison, WI

Dane Buy Local Foundation supports buy-local education, collaboration, and programs that strengthen locally owned businesses and communities in Dane County and South Central Wisconsin; it also offers scholarships to area high school seniors pursuing post-secondary business or entrepreneurship studies. No typical award amount is stated, and the information does not say whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited funding requests.

Community Improvement & Capacity Building

Assets

$16K

Grants

1

Total Given

$136K

Alliant Energy Foundation Inc

Madison, WI

Assets

$28.5M

Grants

929

Total Given

$2.4M

Greater Milwaukee Foundation Inc

Milwaukee, WI

The Greater Milwaukee Foundation funds nonprofit programs, projects, general operations and capital needs, with priorities including early childhood education, housing, basic needs, health, arts and culture, and scientific research. Its competitive grants primarily serve Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Washington and Waukesha counties; in 2024, the median grant was about $27,800, though awards varied widely. It runs competitive grant cycles, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

838

Total Given

$66.8M

Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Inc

Milwaukee, WI

The foundation funds educational excellence in Wisconsin, including student scholarships and awards for teachers, principals, schools, and classrooms; its 2025 grants ranged from $290 to $15,000, with a median of $6,000. It directs applicants to its program applications for application details; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Education

Assets

$14K

Grants

425

Total Given

$2.1M

Green Bay Packers Foundation

Green Bay, WI

The Green Bay Packers Foundation funds Wisconsin charities working in areas such as families, athletics, children’s safety and education, animal welfare, and other focus areas that vary by year. Its 2026 announcement describes typical awards of $3,000–$8,000, though some grants are larger; it accepts online applications during its stated cycle, February 2–April 1, 2026.

Assets

$57.2M

Grants

530

Total Given

$3.6M

More similar funders

More Funders in Wisconsin

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Concordia University Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Concordia University Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?