Columbia Gorge Health Council logo

Columbia Gorge Health Council

Public charity · Grantmaker The Dalles, OR EIN: 46-0911202 Website

Columbia Gorge Health Council is a public charity based in The Dalles, Oregon, formed in 2012. It works with partners to address barriers to health and well-being in the Columbia Gorge, bringing partners together, investing funds, and supporting community-driven efforts to improve health quality, access, and equity.

Key facts about Columbia Gorge Health Council

In short: Columbia Gorge Health Council gave $2.9M across 19 grants in 2024 (avg $151K), mostly in Oregon. 16% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

EIN
46-0911202
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$2,875,373
Grants made (2024)
19
Average grant
$151,335
Median grant
$96,168
New grantees (estimate)
16% first-time grantees (3 of 19, 2024; small sample)
Total assets
$6,396,425
Primary geography
Oregon (99% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$6.4M

-16.5% YoY

Annual Giving

$2.9M

-26.6% YoY

Grant Count

19

-34.5% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$151K

+12.1% YoY

Is Columbia Gorge Health Council open to new grantees?

16%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 3 of 19 grantees (16%) were first-time recipients. With only 19 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 5 points. First grants averaged $123K; repeat grants $157K. How we count

Medians: $100K first-time, $94K repeat.

  • 79% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving grew 684% from 2021 to 2024. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The council’s mission is to address barriers to health and well-being in the Columbia Gorge through community-driven solutions. It says it lifts patient and provider voices and supports collective efforts to improve health quality, access, and equity.

Its 2024 grants included support for health-care providers and community organizations. For example, One Community Health describes its mission as advancing health and social justice for all members of its community. Mid-Columbia Community Action Council says it works to alleviate poverty and promote self-sufficiency in Wasco, Hood River, and Sherman Counties. Columbia Cascade Housing Corporation describes its work as developing and operating affordable low-income housing, while The Next Door says it strengthens children and families and improves communities. These are the grantees’ stated missions, not the council’s.

Grantmaking

In 2024, the council reported 19 grants totaling $2,875,373. Grant amounts ranged from $16,215 to $715,168, with a median grant of $96,168. The largest awards included $715,168 to One Community Health; $414,219 to Mid-Columbia Medical Center; $279,136 to Columbia Gorge Family Medicine; and $200,000 each to Mid-Columbia Community Action Council and Safe Space (Child Advocacy Center). The listed grant purposes identify these awards as support from the Regional Quality Pool for community health improvement.

The council’s filing states that it obtains signed grant agreements outlining requirements for use of funds and reporting. Reporting may include available effectiveness data, a summary of how funds were used and what improvements were made, and itemized expenditures. During the onset of the pandemic, grantees were allowed to use funds in ways that best supported their organizations during the crisis; agreements required them to attest that funds would not exclude members of the Columbia Gorge Coordinated Care Organization and to report how funds were spent.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Columbia Gorge Health Council?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2024, 99% of grant dollars went to recipients in Oregon and 1% to recipients in Washington. Listed Oregon grantees were located in Hood River, The Dalles, and Redmond.

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 19 itemized grants.

Cities

Hood RiverThe DallesPortlandMaupinRedmondWarm SpringsLyleCentervilleCookDufurSpringfieldTygh Valley

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$1M$2M$3M$4M29 grants2020 10 grants2021 23 grants2022 29 grants2023 19 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $367K (2021) to $3.9M (2023). In 2024 it made 19 grants totaling $2.9M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

One Community Health: $715KOne Community Health$715KMid-Columbia Medical Center: $414KMid-Columbia Medical Center$414KColumbia Gorge Family Medicine: $279KColumbia Gorge Family Medicine$279KMid-Columbia Community Action Council: $200KMid-Columbia Community ActionCouncil$200KSafe Space (Child Advocacy Center): $200KSafe Space (Child AdvocacyCenter)$200KSummit Family Medicine: $142KSummit Family Medicine$142KAdvantage Dental Services: $116KAdvantage Dental Services$116KColumbia Cascade Housing Corporation: $100KColumbia Cascade HousingCorporation$100KThe Next Door Inc: $100KThe Next Door Inc$100KMid-Columbia Center for Living: $96KMid-Columbia Center for Living$96K

The largest 2024 recipient was One Community Health ($715K). Together the top 10 received $2.4M.

Grant Size Distribution

110 grants across all recorded years

48<$50K25$50–100K26$100–250K5$250–500K6$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 48 grants of 110 (44%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
One Community Health Hood River, ORRegional Quality Pool - Community Health Improvement$715,168
Mid-Columbia Medical Center The Dalles, ORRegional Quality Pool - Community Health Improvement$414,219
Columbia Gorge Family Medicine Hood River, ORRegional Quality Pool - Community Health Improvement$279,136
Mid-Columbia Community Action Council The Dalles, ORRegional Quality Pool - Community Health Improvement$200,000
Safe Space (Child Advocacy Center) Hood River, ORRegional Quality Pool - Community Health Improvement$200,000
Summit Family Medicine Hood River, ORRegional Quality Pool - Community Health Improvement$141,580
Advantage Dental Services Redmond, ORRegional Quality Pool - Community Health Improvement$115,517
Columbia Cascade Housing Corporation The Dalles, ORRegional Quality Pool - Community Health Improvement$100,000
The Next Door Inc Hood River, ORRegional Quality Pool - Community Health Improvement$100,000
Mid-Columbia Center for Living The Dalles, ORRegional Quality Pool - Community Health Improvement$96,168

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2024 $6,396,425 $4,482,912 $5,291,167 $2,875,373
2023 $7,658,496 $4,765,603 $5,919,461 $3,916,241
2022 $8,389,134 $4,484,534 $4,677,238 $2,909,325
Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$2.5M$5M$7.5M$10M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$6,396,425$7,658,496$8,389,134
Revenue$4,482,912$4,765,603$4,484,534
Expenses$5,291,167$5,919,461$4,677,238
Net Investment Income$502,977$140,219$-435,815

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 12, 2021)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists Al Barton as chair, Sara Hoover as vice chair, and Jeanie Vieira as treasurer. Directors listed are Missy King, Amy Sugg, Matthew Sperry, Phil Brady, Leticia Moretti, Gabriel Muro, and Jodi Ready.

Columbia Gorge Health Council is led by Jenny Anglin, Executive Director on every filing since 2020; 1 of 16 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Jenny Anglin

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $92K (2021) → $108K (2024)

  • Al Barton

    Chair

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gabriel Muro

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    $600 (2023) → $0 (2024)

  • Elaine Castles

    Director

    Vice Chair → Director, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jodi Ready

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matthew Sperry

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Amy Sugg

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Leticia Moretti

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Missy King

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Phil Brady

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Terri Vann

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jennifer Griffith

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeremy Vandehey

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shannon-Marie O'Brien

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sara Hoover

    Vice Chair

    Director → Vice Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    3 hrs/week

    $750 (2023) → $0 (2024)

  • Jeanie Vieira

    Treasurer

    Director → Treasurer, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    3.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (13)
  • Former: Erick Doolen (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Max Janasik (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Brooke Nicholls (2023) — Director
  • Former: Karen Joplin (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Kathy Schwartz (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Gabe Muro (2022) — Director
  • Former: Dennis Knox (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Molly Johnson (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Naomi Mayo (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Paul Lindberg (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Scott Hege (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Trey Rigert (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Elizabeth Foster (2021) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Jenny Anglin — Executive Director: $108KJenny AnglinExecutive Director$108K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $108K, to Jenny Anglin (Executive Director).

Contact

Mailing address: 2505 W 7Th Street 104, The Dalles, OR 97058
Phone: (541) 705-2705
Website: https://gorgehealthcouncil.org

Frequently asked questions about Columbia Gorge Health Council

How much does Columbia Gorge Health Council give each year?

Columbia Gorge Health Council gave $2.9M across 19 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $3.9M across 29 grants.

What is Columbia Gorge Health Council's typical grant size?

Columbia Gorge Health Council's median grant in 2024 was $96,168, and its average grant was $151,335, across 19 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from Columbia Gorge Health Council that year got $123K on average.

Where does Columbia Gorge Health Council give grants?

Columbia Gorge Health Council gives mostly in Oregon: 99% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Hood River, OR (7 grants), The Dalles, OR (6 grants) and Redmond, OR (2 grants).

Does Columbia Gorge Health Council give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 19 grants with a stated purpose on Columbia Gorge Health Council's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Regional Quality Pool - Community Health Improvement" (19 grants).

Who are Columbia Gorge Health Council's largest grantees?

Columbia Gorge Health Council's largest 2024 grantees include One Community Health ($715,168), Mid-Columbia Medical Center ($414,219) and Columbia Gorge Family Medicine ($279,136), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 49% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Columbia Gorge Health Council?

Columbia Gorge Health Council reported $6.4M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $4.5M.

What does Columbia Gorge Health Council fund?

The council’s mission is to address barriers to health and well-being in the Columbia Gorge through community-driven solutions. It says it lifts patient and provider voices and supports collective efforts to improve health quality, access, and equity. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Columbia Gorge Health Council?

Columbia Gorge Health Council has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check gorgehealthcouncil.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.

What is Columbia Gorge Health Council's EIN?

Columbia Gorge Health Council's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-0911202. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Columbia Gorge Health Council by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Columbia Gorge Health Council's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Providence Health & Services - Oregon

Renton, WA

Providence Health & Services–Oregon funds community partners addressing access to care, behavioral and chronic health conditions, and related needs such as housing, food, jobs, and transportation, primarily in Oregon. Its 2024 grants had a median of $90,000, while event sponsorships typically range from $250 to $2,500. It accepts event sponsorship and program-support requests year-round.

Health

Assets

$4.7B

Grants

31

Total Given

$9.4M

Greenfish Foundation

Hood River, OR

The foundation supports charitable organizations, including local community programs in areas such as food assistance, immigration services, arts, and children’s services. In 2025, grants ranged from $1,000 to $15,295, with a median of $5,000; 94% of funding went to Oregon and 6% to Washington. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.4M

Grants

37

Total Given

$235K

Mid-Columbia Health Foundation

The Dalles, OR

To work together with and provide financial support to mid-columbia medical center in order to provide access to quality healthcare for our community.

Assets

—

Grants

4

Total Given

$2.1M

Lumen Clarke M Williams Foundation

Wilmington, DE

The foundation supports employee giving and volunteer programs, as well as K–12 classroom technology through its Teachers and Technology program. That program offers grants of up to $5,000 to eligible schools in 10 states; 2024 giving had a median grant of $6,110 and was concentrated in Delaware. It generally funds preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests, though eligible teachers could apply for the announced Teachers and Technology round.

Assets

$12.1M

Grants

4

Total Given

$971K

Bruce and Mary Stevenson Foundation Inc

White Salmon, WA

The Bruce and Mary Stevenson Foundation supports charitable organizations, with recent grants for arts, education, legal services, health, and veterans’ programs. Its 2025 awards ranged from $1,000 to $80,000, with a median of $6,500, and primarily went to organizations in Washington, California, and Michigan. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.3M

Grants

8

Total Given

$197K

Wy'east Foundation

Hood River, OR

WY’EAST Foundation funds education, climate and environmental protection, land conservation, locally grown food, human services, and arts and civic engagement, with grants to organizations in Oregon and across the U.S. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $129,167, with a median of $35,000. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.0M

Grants

17

Total Given

$974K

Northwest Health Foundation Fund II

Portland, OR

Northwest Health Foundation Fund II supports health equity and community-led work in civic engagement, health policy, disability justice, public safety, and related health and education efforts, mainly in Oregon and Washington. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $1,237,500, with a median of $30,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$10.1M

Grants

27

Total Given

$3.3M

Meyer Memorial Trust

Portland, OR

Meyer Memorial Trust funds community-led work advancing racial, social, and economic justice, including efforts in education, climate, community economies, and support for Black, Native, immigrant, and refugee communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, and 93% of grant dollars went to Oregon recipients. It offers open and invited opportunities, but says it will not open a general application call in 2026; check its website for current opportunities.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$901.2M

Grants

388

Total Given

$45.2M

The Collins Foundation

Portland, OR

The Collins Foundation funds Oregon organizations working on equity and community well-being, including efforts in education, health, arts and culture, environmental protection, and child development. Its 2024 grants had a median of $40,000; single-year GO Grants are typically $25,000–$100,000, averaging $75,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$234.9M

Grants

209

Total Given

$10.8M

Dutch Bros Foundation

Grants Pass, OR

The Dutch Bros Foundation funds youth, health, local community needs, and social-impact initiatives connected to coffee-origin countries, with awards generally focused on states where Dutch Bros operates. Its 2024 grants ranged from $75,129 to $2.5 million; it does not accept unsolicited requests, and applications are by invitation only.

Assets

$15.1M

Grants

2

Total Given

$2.6M

Farmers Conservation Alliance

Hood River, OR

To develop resource solutions for rural communities

Assets

$4.7M

Grants

3

Total Given

$100K

Mid-Columbia Community Action Council

The Dalles, OR

To alleviate the causes and conditions of poverty in Wasco, Hood River, and Sherman Counties. The purpose of MCCAC shall be the promotion of self sufficiency in families and individuals within the low income economic ranges in the three county areas.

Assets

$19.3M

Grants

5

Total Given

$477K

More Funders in Oregon

Columbia Gorge Health Council down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?