To increase access to high quality health care for people in need in colorado.
Key facts about Colorado Community Health
In short: Colorado Community Health gave $81K across 12 grants in 2025 (avg $7K), mostly in Colorado. 42% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990 filing.
- EIN
- 84-0910590
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990 filing, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $81,075
- Grants made (2025)
- 12
- Average grant
- $6,756
- Median grant
- $6,675
- New grantees (estimate)
- 42% first-time grantees (5 of 12, 2025)
- Total assets
- $5,497,869
- Primary geography
- Colorado (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990 filing, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 filing · View filing
Total Assets
$5.5M
+1.3% YoY
Annual Giving
$81K
-48.8% YoY
Grant Count
12
+50.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$7K
-65.8% YoY
Is Colorado Community Health open to new grantees?
42%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 5 of 12 grantees (42%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $7K; repeat grants $7K. How we count
Medians: $7K first-time, $7K repeat.
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
About Colorado Community Health
Based on IRS filings
Colorado Community Health is a nonprofit organization focused on Health, based in Denver, CO. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $5.5M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 12 grants totaling $81K. Net investment income was $174K.
Focus Areas
Ready to take the next step with Colorado Community Health?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 12 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
Grant Size Distribution
43 grants across all recorded years
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| RIVER VALLEY FAMILY HEALTH CENTER Olathe, CO | STIPEND/MINI-GRANT | $7,775 |
| SALUD FAMILY HEALTH Fort Lupton, CO | STIPEND/MINI-GRANT | $7,650 |
| MARILLAC CLINIC INC Grand Junction, CO | STIPEND/MINI-GRANT | $7,000 |
| ELEVATED COMMUNITY HEALTH Frisco, CO | STIPEND/MINI-GRANT | $6,800 |
| NORTHWEST COLORADO HEALTH Steamboat Springs, CO | STIPEND/MINI-GRANT | $6,800 |
| TEPEYAC COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER Denver, CO | STIPEND/MINI-GRANT | $6,700 |
| HIGH PLAINS COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER Lamar, CO | STIPEND/MINI-GRANT | $6,650 |
| INNER CITY HEALTH Denver, CO | STIPEND/MINI-GRANT | $6,650 |
| VALLEY-WIDE HEALTH SYSTEMS INC Alamosa, CO | MINI-GRANT | $6,350 |
| STRIDE COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER Denver, CO | MINI-GRANT | $6,350 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $5,497,869 | $5,426,806 | $5,573,840 |
| Revenue | $4,668,444 | $4,151,441 | $5,416,091 |
| Expenses | $4,277,563 | $4,134,472 | $5,131,288 |
| Qualifying Distributions | — | — | — |
| Net Investment Income | $173,544 | $168,906 | $39,604 |
| Distributable Amount | — | — | — |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Colorado Community Health is led by Annette Kowal, President & Ceo-Thr since 2025 (on filings since 2020); 8 of 35 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Annette Kowal
President & Ceo-Thr
President & CEO → President An, 2023
President An → President & Ceo-Thr, 2025
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$215K (2020) → $237K (2025)
Ross Brooks
President & Ceo-
Director → Member, 2024
Member → President & Ceo-, 2025
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$71K (2025)
Simon Hambidge
P. Chair Thr
Chair → Imm. Past Ch, 2024
Imm. Past Ch → P. Chair Thr, 2025
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Simon Smith
Chair
Secretary → Parliamentar, 2023
Parliamentar → Chair, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Stephanie Brooks
Policy Director
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$102K (2025)
Jessica Sanchez
Vice President Quality & O
Vice President Qual & Oper → Vice President Quality & Oper, 2022
Vice President Quality & Oper → Vice President Quality & O, 2023
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$129K (2020) → $178K (2025)
Kristin Laux
CFO
On filings since 2020
32 hrs/week
$121K (2020) → $124K (2025)
Polly Anderson
Vice President Strategy
Vice President Strat & Finance → Vice President Strat & Financing, 2022
Vice President Strat & Financing → Vice President Strategy, 2023
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$128K (2020) → $188K (2025)
Holly Kingsbury
Qual Initiat
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$105K (2025)
Suzanne Smith
Health Cente
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$108K (2025)
Ben Wiederholt
Member
Director → Member Non-, 2024
Member Non- → Member, 2025
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Donald Moore
Member
Director → Member, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Erica Sherer
Member
Director → Member, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jania Arnoldi
Chair Elect
Director → Chair Elect, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jim Garcia
Treasurer
Director → Treasurer, 2022
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John Santistevan
Member
Director → Member, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kay Ramachandran
Secretary
Director → Secretary, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kraig Burleson
Member
Director → Member, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mitzi Moran
Member
Chair → Immediate Pa, 2023
Immediate Pa → Member, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Shelly Burke
Member
Director → Member, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Stephanie Einfeld
Parliamentar
Director → Parliamentar, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Andy Grimm
Member
Director → Member, 2024
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Chuck Porth
Member
Director → Member, 2024
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jason Greer
Member Non-
Director → Member Non-, 2024
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kaye Hotsenpiller
Member
Director → Member, 2024
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Gene Sobczak
Member
Director → Member, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Santos Vera
Member
Director → Member, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Daniel Becker
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Dustin Moyer
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Emily Ptsazek
Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
April Peer
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Becky Hanratty
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Charles Gilford III
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Claire Reed
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Josh Cogdill
Member
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (21)
- Former: Susan Robertson (2023–2024) — Member
- Former: Andrew Shahidi (2024) — Member
- Former: Annette Franta (2024) — Member
- Former: Kerry Cogan (2020–2023) — CEO Chpa Thr
- Former: Michelle Apodaca (2021–2023) — Director & Clinica
- Former: Lisa Ramey (2022–2023) — Director Thr
- Former: David Olson (2023) — Director
- Former: Emily Ptaszek (2023) — Director
- Former: Helen Royal Lpc (2023) — Chair-Elect4
- Former: Mark Schumacher (2023) — Director May
- Former: Shyanne Ching (2023) — Director Sep
- Former: Eric Niemeyer (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Helen Royal (2020–2022) — Parliamentarian
- Former: Jeremy Carroll (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Gene Sobacek (2022) — Director
- Former: Shae Emick (2022) — Director
- Former: Brian Hill (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Lincoln Pehrson (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Nichole Long (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Pam McManus (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Bern Heath (2020) — Director Lef
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
Frequently asked questions about Colorado Community Health
How much does Colorado Community Health give each year?
Colorado Community Health gave $81K across 12 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990 filing. In 2024 it gave $158K across 8 grants.
What is Colorado Community Health's typical grant size?
Colorado Community Health's median grant in 2025 was $6,675, and its average grant was $6,756, across 12 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990 filing. Organizations receiving their first grant from Colorado Community Health that year got $7K on average.
Where does Colorado Community Health give grants?
Colorado Community Health gives mostly in Colorado: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 filing went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Denver, CO (3 grants).
Does Colorado Community Health give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 12 grants with a stated purpose on Colorado Community Health's 2025 IRS Form 990 filing were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Stipend/Mini-Grant" (8 grants) and "Mini-Grant" (3 grants).
Who are Colorado Community Health's largest grantees?
Colorado Community Health's largest 2025 grantees include River Valley Family Health Center ($7,775), Salud Family Health ($7,650) and Marillac Clinic Inc ($7,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990 filing. Together they received 28% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Colorado Community Health?
Colorado Community Health reported $5.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990 filing. Its revenue that year was $4.7M.
What is Colorado Community Health?
Colorado Community Health is a nonprofit organization focused on Health, based in Denver, CO. It holds $5.5M in total assets as of 2025.
What is Colorado Community Health's EIN?
Colorado Community Health's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 84-0910590. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Colorado Community Health by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Colorado Community Health's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Caring for Colorado Centennial Fund
Denver, CO
The fund supports Colorado organizations advancing health, well-being, and opportunity for young people and families, including community health, youth development, and reproductive health programs. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,097 to $200,000, with a median of $50,000; it primarily funds work in Colorado. The website says there are currently no open funding opportunities, so unsolicited requests are not currently invited.
Assets
$30.9M
Grants
73
Total Given
$4.5M
El Pomar Foundation
Colorado Springs, CO
El Pomar Foundation funds Colorado nonprofits and government agencies, with emphasis on arts and culture, civic and community initiatives, education, health, and human services; it supports operating, program, and capital needs statewide. Typical grants are $2,500–$10,000 for operating or program support and $15,000–$25,000 for capital projects. It accepts unsolicited applications on a rolling basis.
Assets
$468.2M
Grants
1
Total Given
$20.4M
Community Health Provider Alliance
Denver, CO
Our mission is to provide cost-effective, high-quality integrated primary care and preventative services to colorado's low-income working families and individuals. Our members formed chpa to achieve the triple aim and improve care transitions and best practices in our patient-centered medical home care model; and to develop alternative payment methodologies and payment reform which decrease overall healthcare costs and increase patient satisfaction. We believe that through these endeavors, our patients will have access to a high-quality integrated comprehensive primary care delivery system.
Assets
$11.9M
Grants
2
Total Given
$28K
The Colorado Health Foundation
Denver, CO
The Colorado Health Foundation funds Colorado organizations working to improve health and health equity, including projects in primary care, housing, recovery, advocacy, and community solutions; it offers project, operating, capacity-building, and capital support. Its 2024 grants had a median of $80,000, though awards ranged widely, and its work is statewide, with 96% of 2024 grant dollars going to Colorado recipients. Applicants must apply through an open funding opportunity; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$2.9B
Grants
684
Total Given
$102.2M
Colorado Gives Foundation
Arvada, CO
Colorado Gives Foundation funds nonprofits serving Jefferson County, Colorado, with priorities including essential needs, housing, food security, education, workforce development, health, and connected neighborhoods. Its 2024 median grant was $17,814; current opportunities offer $2,500–$100,000 for responsive support and $5,000–$25,000 for housing. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$527.1M
Grants
2,211
Total Given
$91.0M
Delta Dental Plan of Colorado
Centennial, CO
Delta Dental Plan of Colorado funds efforts to advance oral health equity, including access to care, prevention, workforce development, and integrating oral health into broader health systems and community settings across Colorado. In 2024, grants ranged from $10,000 to $625,000, with a median of about $53,600; its website also describes grants of up to $300,000. It accepts applications through an online portal during periodic funding opportunities, generally offered every year or two; the 2026 opportunity has closed.
Assets
$29.0M
Grants
60
Total Given
$4.6M
Caring for Colorado Foundation
Denver, CO
Caring for Colorado Foundation funds Colorado organizations and public agencies working to improve health, well-being, and opportunity for young people and families, with a focus on youth ages 9–25 and communities facing health inequities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $60,000; its Youth Health and Well-Being awards are listed at $25,000–$125,000.
Assets
$253.5M
Grants
126
Total Given
$12.8M
Direct Relief
Santa Barbara, CA
Direct Relief funds community health centers, free and charitable clinics, educational institutions, and other organizations addressing health inequities, and provides medical supplies for healthcare facilities serving underserved communities and people affected by emergencies. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,500 to $4.34 million, with a median of $100,000, supporting work across the U.S. and more than 80 countries. The available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.
Assets
$1.3B
Grants
232
Total Given
$41.5M
Rocky Mountain Health Foundation
Grand Junction, CO
Rocky Mountain Health Foundation funds Colorado organizations addressing basic needs, physical and behavioral healthcare, and disability services, with a focus on Western Slope communities. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $108,000, with a median of $13,675; program grants are generally $10,000–$45,000, and Simple Gifts awards up to $15,000. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests; prospective applicants should complete its eligibility quiz and contact the Foundation about a pre-application call.
Assets
$92.8M
Grants
322
Total Given
$4.9M
American Cancer Society Inc
Atlanta, GA
The American Cancer Society funds cancer research, patient support, advocacy, and related programs, with research support available to institutions across the United States. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,648 to $9.6 million, with a median of $15,000. It accepts applications for research grants through specific programs and ProposalCentral; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests for other funding.
Assets
$1.7B
Grants
509
Total Given
$23.1M
Upstream USA Inc
Boston, MA
Upstream USA funds healthcare organizations to expand equitable, patient-centered contraceptive care, including contraceptive coverage and reproductive health training, across the United States. Its 2024 grants ranged from $6,000 to $800,000, with a median of $23,000. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests; its partner-program support is not described as an open grant application process.
Assets
$339.0M
Grants
89
Total Given
$2.9M
Gates Family Foundation
Denver, CO
Gates Family Foundation funds Colorado-focused work in education, natural resources, community development, informed communities, and capital projects benefiting Colorado residents. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,000 to $20 million, with a median of $25,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests for strategic grants; capital grant applications are accepted.
Assets
$423.7M
Grants
374
Total Given
$36.3M
More Funders in Colorado
Colorado Community Health down — hundreds of funders to go?