Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc
To collect and analyze data regarding the cattle industry.
Key facts about Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc
In short: Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc gave $86K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $43K), mostly in Colorado. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 84-0583095
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $86,000
- Grants made (2025)
- 2
- Average grant
- $43,000
- Median grant
- $43,000
- Total assets
- $10,523,898
- Primary geography
- Colorado (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$10.5M
+2.2% YoY
Annual Giving
$86K
+12.7% YoY
Grant Count
2
+100.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$43K
-43.6% YoY
How Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−18%). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc
Based on IRS filings
Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc is a public charity, based in Centennial, CO. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $10.5M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $86K. Net investment income was $1.3M.
Ready to take the next step with Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $26K (2019) to $105K (2022). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $86K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 2 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Colorado State University Fndn ($74K). Together the top 2 received $86K.
Grant Size Distribution
8 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 4 grants of 8 (50%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Colorado State University Fndn Fort Collins, CO | Education | $73,500 |
| Western Stock Show Association Denver, CO | Education | $12,500 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $10,523,898 | $10,302,156 | $9,088,480 |
| Revenue | $6,387,614 | $5,494,061 | $4,619,123 |
| Expenses | $5,761,377 | $5,687,024 | $5,393,829 |
| Net Investment Income | $1,300,181 | $441,585 | $-285,760 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 17, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS June 14, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS June 13, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS June 14, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS June 4, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS June 16, 2025)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS December 22, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc is led by Randall P. Blach, CEO on the 2025 filing; 9 of 18 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Randall P. Blach
CEO
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$623K (2025)
Jeff Sternberger
President
Central Director → President, 2025
On filings since 2021
No compensation reported
Chris Kalkowski
Finance Director
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Nick Hunt
Midwest Director
Midwest Director & President Elect → President & Midwest Director, 2023
President & Midwest Director → Midwest Director, 2024
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Brian Coelho
Western Director
On filings since 2023
No compensation reported
Kevin Good
Senior Analy
Senior Analyst → Senior Analy, 2024
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$226K (2019) → $340K (2025)
Michael Murphy
Chief Op Officer
Market Analyst & Risk Manager → Market Analy, 2024
Market Analy → Chief Op Officer, 2025
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$241K (2019) → $457K (2025)
Troy S. Applehans
Analyst
Market Specialist → Analyst, 2021
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$118K (2019) → $187K (2025)
Troy R. Bockelmann
Analyst
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$114K (2021) → $210K (2025)
William J. Stuhlsatz
Analyst
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$150K (2021) → $207K (2025)
Michael Miller
Analyst
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$150K (2023) → $227K (2025)
Shawn Walter
Analyst
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$162K (2023) → $220K (2025)
Patrick Linnell
Analyst
On filings since 2024
$166K (2024) → $177K (2025)
Jerry Adams
North Plains
President Elect & North Plains Director → President, 2024
President → North Plains, 2025
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Ted Parker
Southeast Di
Southeast Director → Southeast Di, 2024
On filings since 2022
No compensation reported
Paul Defoor
Southwest Di
Southwest Director → Southwest Di, 2024
On filings since 2023
No compensation reported
Jordan Levi
Intermountai
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Rick Gillespie
Northwest Di
New on the 2025 filing
No compensation reported
Former officers (12)
- Former: Pono Von Holt (2019–2024) — Northwest Di
- Former: Randy Blach (2019–2024) — CEO
- Former: Duane Lenz (2019–2023) — General Manager
- Former: Mark Frasier (2019–2023) — Intermountain Director
- Former: Alan D. Smith (2019–2022) — Director of Protein
- Former: Dale Smith (2019–2022) — Southwest Director
- Former: Jeff Sparrowk (2019–2022) — Western Director
- Former: Lance C. Zimmerman (2019–2022) — Analyst
- Former: Don Quincey (2019–2021) — Immediate Past President & Southeast Director
- Former: Bj Stuhlsatz (2019–2020) — Director of Information Se
- Former: Doug Mayes (2019–2020) — Financial Advisor
- Former: Todd Allen (2019–2020) — Central Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $623K, to Randall P Blach (CEO). 9 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc
How much does Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc give each year?
Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc gave $86K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $76K across 1 grant.
How large is Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc?
Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc reported $10.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $6.4M.
Where does Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc operate?
Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc has awarded grants in Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, New York.
What is Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc's EIN?
Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 84-0583095. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Colorado
Ernst & Young Foundation
New York, NY
Ernst & Young Foundation supports higher education through employee and partner matching gifts, as well as educational and special-project grants, including research, education forums, and programs that expand educational opportunity. In 2025, it made 637 grants ranging from $5,056 to $316,005, with a median of $13,525, to recipients across multiple states; the largest shares went to New York, Texas, California, Michigan, and Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$47.6M
Grants
637
Total Given
$16.7M
KPMG US Foundation Inc
Montvale, NJ
KPMG US Foundation supports education, mental health, community vitality, and community relief and resilience, with grants distributed across the United States. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts ranged from about $5,000 to $2.2 million. The available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$12.4M
Grants
387
Total Given
$33.5M
Deloitte Foundation
Stamford, CT
The Deloitte Foundation funds U.S. education initiatives, including scholarships, curriculum and faculty support, mentoring, and grants to education nonprofits and universities, particularly through local programs in about 30 selected locations. Its 2025 grants had a median of $50,000, and it does not accept unsolicited requests for its Local Impact Grant Program.
Assets
$51.4M
Grants
121
Total Given
$32.5M
Charles Koch Foundation
Arlington, VA
The Charles Koch Foundation funds research, education, and social entrepreneurs working on issues including criminal justice, economic progress, higher education, health care, immigration, and free speech. Its 2024 grants had a median of $250,000, with awards ranging from $1,540 to $23.7 million; it is based in Virginia, where recipients received 53% of grant dollars, but also funds organizations in other states. It accepts unsolicited proposals online on a rolling basis, with no stated deadlines.
Assets
$758.9M
Grants
93
Total Given
$64.1M
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
Colorado Gives Foundation
Arvada, CO
Colorado Gives Foundation funds nonprofits serving Jefferson County in areas including food security, early care and education, workforce development, housing, health and convenient neighborhoods; it also offers statewide nonprofit capacity-building support. Typical giving varies widely: its 2024 median grant was $17,814, while Thriving Jeffco Responsive Grant awards ranged from $2,500 to $100,000. It accepts applications through listed grant opportunities, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$527.1M
Grants
2,211
Total Given
$91.0M
Community Fdn of Greater Des Moines F/K/a Greater Des Moines Community Fdn
Des Moines, IA
The Community Foundation of Greater Des Moines supports projects that improve quality of life in Greater Des Moines, including housing and transportation access, health, economic opportunity, inclusive communities, and nonprofit capacity-building. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of about $12,900, though awards ranged from roughly $5,000 to $7.34 million.
Assets
$918.7M
Grants
1,259
Total Given
$55.7M
Christian Community Foundation Inc
Colorado Springs, CO
WaterStone supports domestic and international nonprofits, including Christian ministries and charitable and educational organizations, through donor-directed grants; eligible organizations must be IRS-recognized 501(c)(3)s whose mission aligns with its Statement of Faith. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, with awards ranging from $5,028 to $11 million, and were concentrated in Texas and Colorado. Grant recommendations come from donor-advised fund holders; the profile does not state that it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$746.4M
Grants
1,651
Total Given
$161.8M
Daniels Fund
Denver, CO
The Daniels Fund supports nonprofits working in aging, amateur sports, disabilities, addiction, early childhood and K–12 education, homelessness, and youth development. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $14,000, primarily for organizations in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming; select national-impact programs are also eligible, by invitation only.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
1,593
Total Given
$69.7M
The Denver Foundation
Denver, CO
The Denver Foundation supports nonprofits working in economic opportunity, environment and climate, housing, and youth well-being, with an emphasis on racial equity and historically underserved communities in the seven-county Metro Denver region. Its Community Grants typically range from $20,000 to $50,000; the 2024 median across reported grants was $26,500. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.3B
Grants
1,184
Total Given
$131.7M
The Bold Foundation Inc
Denver, CO
The Bold Foundation supports access to higher education and academic research through scholarships, fellowships, grants, and other student funding for students around the country. Its typical giving level is not stated, and the available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.9M
Grants
769
Total Given
$1.2M
The Colorado Health Foundation
Denver, CO
The Colorado Health Foundation funds nonprofit organizations and public agencies working to improve health and health equity in Colorado, including projects in areas such as primary care, housing, food access, and economic opportunity. Its 2024 median grant was $80,000, though awards varied widely; it prioritizes organizations serving Coloradans.
Assets
$2.9B
Grants
684
Total Given
$102.2M
More Funders in Colorado
Cattle Marketing Information Service Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?