La Plata Electric Association Inc
To provide our members with safe, reliable electricity at the lowest reasonable cost while being environmentally responsible.
La Plata Electric Association Inc at a glance
In short: La Plata Electric Association Inc reported $40K in grants paid in 2024 (a total; its filing lists no individual grants). Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- Grants paid (2024)
- $39,808 — reported as a total on the IRS filing, without an itemized list
- -34.1% vs 2023
- Total assets
- $292,966,410
- +2.5% vs 2023
- Revenue (2024)
- $118,213,999
- +3.5% vs 2023
- Net investment income (2024)
- $2,072,648
- +297.8% vs 2023
- Expenses (2024)
- $107,466,442
- -2.7% vs 2023
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
Who La Plata Electric Association Inc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
9 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 8 grants of 9 (89%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
States
Cities
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $40K (2024) to $60K (2023). In 2024 it reported $40K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.
Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Upper San Juan Library District Ruby Sisson Memorial Library Pagosa Springs, CO | Stem Grant | $25,000 |
| Durango School District 9R Durango, CO | STEM Grant | $21,000 |
| Friends of the Ignacio Library Ignacio, CO | Educational Donation | $5,750 |
Ready to take the next step with La Plata Electric Association Inc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $292,966,410 | $118,213,999 | $107,466,442 | $39,808 | Total only | $2,072,648 |
| 2023 | $285,698,499 | $114,201,372 | $110,409,487 | $60,380 | Total only | $521,073 |
| 2022 | $284,945,015 | $112,117,449 | $108,527,921 | $51,750 | 3 | $345,414 |
| 2021 | $287,521,885 | $109,650,926 | $102,414,869 | $50,000 | 1 | $159,606 |
| 2020 | $289,318,898 | $110,158,125 | $102,315,958 | $60,000 | 5 | $248,305 |
"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
About La Plata Electric Association Inc
Based on IRS filings
La Plata Electric Association Inc is a public charity, based in Durango, CO. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $293.0M in total assets. In 2024, it reported $40K in grants paid as a total on its IRS filing, without an itemized list. Net investment income was $2.1M.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
La Plata Electric Association Inc is led by Jessica Matlock, Chief Executive Officer on every filing since 2020; all 25 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Jessica Matlock
Chief Executive Officer
On filings since 2020
60 hrs/week
$320K (2020) → $403K (2024)
Graham Smith
Interim Chief Executive Officer & General Council
Staff Attorney → General Counsel, 2022
General Counsel → Interim Chief Executive Officer & General Council, 2024
On filings since 2021
60 hrs/week
$208K (2021) → $370K (2024)
Chris Hansen
Chief Executive Officer
New on the 2024 filing
50 hrs/week
$75K (2024)
Ted Compton
Board President
Director → Board President, 2023
On filings since 2021
8.2 hrs/week
$9K (2021) → $23K (2024)
Daniel K Huntington
Director
Secretary → Director, 2023
On filings since 2020
7 hrs/week
$17K (2020) → $16K (2024)
Holly Metzler
Director
On filings since 2020
12.2 hrs/week
$17K (2020) → $22K (2024)
Joe Lewandowski
Director
On filings since 2020
5.3 hrs/week
$17K (2020) → $16K (2024)
John Lee
Director
Director → Board Secretary, 2023
Board Secretary → Director, 2024
On filings since 2020
5.2 hrs/week
$12K (2020) → $19K (2024)
John Witchel
Director
Director → Board President, 2021
Board President → Director, 2023
On filings since 2020
6.1 hrs/week
$4K (2020) → $19K (2024)
Kirsten Skeehan
Director
Director → Board Vice President, 2023
Board Vice President → Director, 2024
On filings since 2020
10.3 hrs/week
$17K (2020) → $21K (2024)
Kohler McInnis
Director
On filings since 2020
6.1 hrs/week
$16K (2020) → $17K (2024)
David Luschen
Director
On filings since 2023
7 hrs/week
$11K (2023) → $21K (2024)
Aaron Renner
Dispatch
Dispatcher → Dispatch, 2024
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$153K (2020) → $186K (2024)
Dan Harms
Executive Vice President of Grid Solutions & Special Projects
Vice President of Grid Solutions → Executive Vice President of Grid Solutions & Special Projects, 2022
On filings since 2020
50 hrs/week
$205K (2020) → $318K (2024)
Drew Timmerman
Vice President of Information Technology
On filings since 2020
50 hrs/week
$152K (2020) → $209K (2024)
Rachel Killinen
Dispatcher
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$147K (2020) → $178K (2024)
Rachel Landis
Board Vice President
Director → Board Vice President, 2024
On filings since 2020
7 hrs/week
$16K (2020) → $20K (2024)
Tim Wheeler
Treasurer
Treasurer → Board Vice President, 2021
Board Vice President → Treasurer, 2023
On filings since 2020
7.7 hrs/week
$17K (2020) → $24K (2024)
Garrett Hammer
District Manager - Pagosa Springs
On filings since 2021
50 hrs/week
$123K (2021) → $181K (2024)
Jerry Sutherlin
Vice President of Operations
On filings since 2021
50 hrs/week
$153K (2021) → $222K (2024)
Michael Messier
Working Foreman & Lineman
Foreman → Working Foreman & Lineman, 2023
On filings since 2021
40 hrs/week
$163K (2021) → $169K (2024)
Elizabeth Howe
Vice President of Administrative Services
On filings since 2022
50 hrs/week
$132K (2022) → $256K (2024)
Nicole Pitcher
Board Secretary
Director → Board Secretary, 2024
On filings since 2023
9 hrs/week
$10K (2023) → $24K (2024)
Patrick Berry
Vice President of Finance
On filings since 2023
50 hrs/week
$71K (2023) → $229K (2024)
Trevor Bryant
Lineman
New on the 2024 filing
40 hrs/week
$173K (2024)
Former officers (19)
- Former: Bob Lynch (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Karl Ramsey (2020–2023) — Vice President of Finance
- Former: Sue McWilliams (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Clinton Peak (2021–2023) — Working Foreman & Lineman
- Former: Alex Preszler (2023) — Dispatcher
- Former: Stephen Lynch (2023) — Substation Maintenance
- Former: Hillary Knox (2020–2022) — Vice President of Communications
- Former: Jerry McKonly (2020–2022) — Dispatcher
- Former: Darrick Robinson (2022) — Manager of System Operations
- Former: Jake Wills (2022) — System Engineer
- Former: John Hahn (2022) — Dispatcher
- Former: Britt Bassett (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: John Keating (2021) — Foreman
- Former: Davin Montoya (2020) — Director
- Former: Guinn Unger (2020) — Director
- Former: Jack Turner (2020) — Director
- Former: Justin Talbot (2020) — Manager of Operations
- Former: Nadine Ontiveros (2020) — Vice President of People & Culture
- Former: Ron Meier (2020) — Manager of Engineering
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $403K, to Jessica Matlock (Chief Executive Officer). 25 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about La Plata Electric Association Inc
How much does La Plata Electric Association Inc give each year?
La Plata Electric Association Inc reported $40K in grants paid in 2024 on its 2024 IRS Form 990, as a total without an itemized list of grants. In 2023 it reported $60K in grants paid.
How large is La Plata Electric Association Inc?
La Plata Electric Association Inc reported $293.0M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $118.2M.
Where does La Plata Electric Association Inc operate?
La Plata Electric Association Inc has awarded grants in Colorado.
What is La Plata Electric Association Inc's EIN?
La Plata Electric Association Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 84-0248168. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 26, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS July 21, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS July 11, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS September 19, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS August 14, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Other open foundation grants in Colorado
Colorado Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in La Plata Electric Association Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Colorado
Colorado Gives Foundation
Arvada, CO
Colorado Gives Foundation funds nonprofits serving Jefferson County in areas including food security, early care and education, workforce development, housing, health and convenient neighborhoods; it also offers statewide nonprofit capacity-building support. Typical giving varies widely: its 2024 median grant was $17,814, while Thriving Jeffco Responsive Grant awards ranged from $2,500 to $100,000. It accepts applications through listed grant opportunities, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$527.1M
Grants
2,211
Total Given
$91.0M
Christian Community Foundation Inc
Colorado Springs, CO
WaterStone supports domestic and international nonprofits, including Christian ministries and charitable and educational organizations, through donor-directed grants; eligible organizations must be IRS-recognized 501(c)(3)s whose mission aligns with its Statement of Faith. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, with awards ranging from $5,028 to $11 million, and were concentrated in Texas and Colorado. Grant recommendations come from donor-advised fund holders; the profile does not state that it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$746.4M
Grants
1,651
Total Given
$161.8M
Daniels Fund
Denver, CO
The Daniels Fund supports nonprofits working in aging, amateur sports, disabilities, addiction, early childhood and K–12 education, homelessness, and youth development. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $14,000, primarily for organizations in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming; select national-impact programs are also eligible, by invitation only.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
1,593
Total Given
$69.7M
The Denver Foundation
Denver, CO
The Denver Foundation supports nonprofits working in economic opportunity, environment and climate, housing, and youth well-being, with an emphasis on racial equity and historically underserved communities in the seven-county Metro Denver region. Its Community Grants typically range from $20,000 to $50,000; the 2024 median across reported grants was $26,500. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.3B
Grants
1,184
Total Given
$131.7M
The Bold Foundation Inc
Denver, CO
The Bold Foundation supports access to higher education and academic research through scholarships, fellowships, grants, and other student funding for students around the country. Its typical giving level is not stated, and the available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.9M
Grants
769
Total Given
$1.2M
The Colorado Health Foundation
Denver, CO
The Colorado Health Foundation funds nonprofit organizations and public agencies working to improve health and health equity in Colorado, including projects in areas such as primary care, housing, food access, and economic opportunity. Its 2024 median grant was $80,000, though awards varied widely; it prioritizes organizations serving Coloradans.
Assets
$2.9B
Grants
684
Total Given
$102.2M
More similar funders
More Funders in Colorado
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from La Plata Electric Association Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
La Plata Electric Association Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?