Canterbury Methodist Foundation
The Foundation is organized for the purpose of supporting the ministry and operations of Canterbury United Methodist Church.
Key facts about Canterbury Methodist Foundation
In short: Canterbury Methodist Foundation gave $1.7M across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $1.7M), mostly in Alabama. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 58-1998029
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $1,701,092
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- Average grant
- $1,701,092
- Median grant
- $1,701,092
- Total assets
- $13,708,198
- Primary geography
- Alabama (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$13.7M
+2.4% YoY
Annual Giving
$1.7M
+8.7% YoY
Grant Count
1
+0.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$1.7M
+8.7% YoY
How Canterbury Methodist Foundation gives
- Giving grew 724% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
About Canterbury Methodist Foundation
Based on IRS filings
Canterbury Methodist Foundation is a public charity, based in Birmingham, AL. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $13.7M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $1.7M. Net investment income was $700K.
Ready to take the next step with Canterbury Methodist Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $194K (2021) to $2.6M (2023). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $1.7M.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Canterbury United Methodist Church ($1.7M).
Grant Size Distribution
5 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $1–5M range: 3 grants of 5 (60%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Canterbury United Methodist Church Birmingham, AL | Other Religious Programs & Mission Fund | $1,701,092 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $13,708,198 | $13,389,322 | $13,369,960 |
| Revenue | $2,067,820 | $1,643,361 | $4,869,591 |
| Expenses | $1,748,944 | $1,623,999 | $2,661,987 |
| Net Investment Income | $699,748 | $459,064 | $1,382,339 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 7, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 12, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 11, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 14, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 13, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 12, 2020)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Canterbury Methodist Foundation's 2025 filing lists 14 officers; none of the 14 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Martha Elliott
Trustee Board Member
Co-Leader → Leader, 2024
Leader → Trustee Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2023
No compensation reported
Andrew Brown
Trustee Board Member
Trustee → Trustee Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Charles Smith
Trustee Board Member
Trustee → Trustee Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Martha Thompson
Trustee Board Member
Trustee → Trustee Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Lee Mallette
Trustee Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
No compensation reported
Suzanne Wright
Trustee Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
No compensation reported
Jeff Stone
At Large Board Member
Leader → Trustee, 2022
Trustee → At Large Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Dan Bundy
At Large Board Member
At-Large Position → At Large Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Jamie Dabal
Lay Leader
Ex-Officio → Lay Leader, 2025
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Janet Forbes
At Large Board Member
At-Large Position → At Large Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Scott Selman
Leader
Co-Leader → Leader, 2025
On filings since 2024
No compensation reported
Alan Lott
Co-Leader
New on the 2025 filing
No compensation reported
LaVone Warren
At Large Board Member
New on the 2025 filing
No compensation reported
Ralph Sorrell
Church Council Leader
New on the 2025 filing
No compensation reported
Former officers (33)
- Former: Mat Whatley (2022–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Harlan Prater (2023–2024) — At-Large Position
- Former: Liz Hutchins (2023–2024) — At-Large Position
- Former: Taylor McElroy (2023–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Walter Little (2023–2024) — Ex-Officio
- Former: Wayne Gillis (2019–2023) — At-Large Position
- Former: Delynn Zell (2022–2023) — At-Large Position
- Former: Linda Stone (2022–2023) — Ex-Oifficio
- Former: Mollie Seymour (2022–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Will Fountain (2022–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Alice Womack (2021–2022) — Leader
- Former: Bret Pippen (2021–2022) — At-Large Position
- Former: James Ruzic (2021–2022) — At-Large Position
- Former: Nancy Devaney (2021–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Temple Millsap (2021–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Zac Riddle (2021–2022) — Ex-Oifficio
- Former: Alan Martin (2019–2021) — Ex-Oifficio
- Former: Bill Dobbins (2019–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Leigh Forstman (2019–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Neal Berte (2019–2021) — At-Large Position
- Former: Nelson Bean (2019–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Fox Defuniak (2020–2021) — At-Large Position
- Former: Betsy French (2019–2020) — At-Large Position
- Former: Don Plosser (2019–2020) — Trustee
- Former: Jennifer Clark (2019–2020) — Trustee
- Former: Keith Herron (2019–2020) — Trustee
- Former: Lee Estes (2020) — Ex-Officio
- Former: Doug Colharp (2019) — At-Large Position
- Former: Jim Richardson (2019) — Trustee
- Former: Kevin Alexander (2019) — Ex-Officio
- Former: Leon Ashford (2019) — Ex-Officio
- Former: Mike Warren (2019) — At-Large Position
- Former: Richard Murray (2019) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Canterbury Methodist Foundation
How much does Canterbury Methodist Foundation give each year?
Canterbury Methodist Foundation gave $1.7M across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $1.6M across 1 grant.
How large is Canterbury Methodist Foundation?
Canterbury Methodist Foundation reported $13.7M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $2.1M.
Where does Canterbury Methodist Foundation operate?
Canterbury Methodist Foundation has awarded grants in Alabama.
What is Canterbury Methodist Foundation's EIN?
Canterbury Methodist Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 58-1998029. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Here's the math on researching Canterbury Methodist Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Canterbury Methodist Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Alabama Power Foundation Inc
Birmingham, AL
The Alabama Power Foundation funds education, community development, arts and culture, health and human services, and environmental projects in Alabama communities within Alabama Power’s service territory. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $500,000, with a median of $2,500; it offers online grant application cycles, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$117.9M
Grants
1,240
Total Given
$16.2M
The Daniel Foundation of Alabama
Birmingham, AL
The Daniel Foundation of Alabama funds Alabama organizations working in education, basic needs, health, mental health, arts, youth mentoring, veterans, and community projects, with some grants limited to designated counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $10,000, and operating grants are capped at $25,000. Applicants begin by submitting a letter of intent; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.
Assets
$114.5M
Grants
521
Total Given
$7.5M
The Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham
Birmingham, AL
The Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham supports nonprofits’ programs, projects, and capital improvements in areas including thriving communities, economic opportunity, poverty reduction, regional cooperation, and equity and inclusion. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,050 to $4.3 million, with a median of about $20,600; competitive grants serve Blount, Jefferson, Shelby, and St. Clair counties in Alabama. It accepts competitive applications through a brief-proposal process, but eligibility rules and cycle deadlines apply.
Assets
$350.7M
Grants
440
Total Given
$43.6M
The Long Lewis Foundation
Muscle Shoals, AL
The Long-Lewis Foundation supports evangelistic causes, local and global mission work, and people facing medical or emotional hardship, with limited scholarships for those pursuing full-time ministry. Its 2024 grants ranged from $27 to $62,450, with a median of $1,000; it primarily funded Alabama organizations and supports communities it serves. It states that it funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.5M
Grants
318
Total Given
$845K
Community Foundation of Greater Huntsville
Huntsville, AL
The Community Foundation of Greater Huntsville funds projects across areas such as education, health, basic needs, arts, and community development in Jackson, Limestone, Madison, Marshall, and Morgan counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,100 to $651,700, with a median of $14,700; it offers program-specific grant cycles, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$66.3M
Grants
285
Total Given
$11.7M
Protective Life Foundation
Birmingham, AL
Protective Life Foundation funds nonprofits focused on education, food security, shelter, disaster relief, and community quality of life, primarily in metro Birmingham. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $48 to $700,000; the Foundation does not restrict giving to preselected organizations, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$653K
Grants
219
Total Given
$3.8M
Altecstyslinger Foundation
Birmingham, AL
In 2024, the foundation supported education, health, community services, hunger relief, and public policy, with the largest share of funding going to Alabama, followed by North Carolina, Texas, Missouri, and Washington, D.C. It made 197 grants totaling about $8.9 million; grants ranged from $50 to $1.27 million, with a median of $5,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected charitable organizations.
Assets
$142.9M
Grants
197
Total Given
$8.9M
J L Bedsole Foundation
Mobile, AL
The J L Bedsole Foundation funds education, arts and culture, health and human services, and economic and community development, with a focus on lasting benefits in Southwest Alabama’s Mobile, Baldwin, Clarke, Monroe, and Washington counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $500,000, with a median of $6,000. It accepts applications through an online portal; deadlines are posted there.
Assets
$55.0M
Grants
167
Total Given
$3.3M
Electric Cooperative Foundation Inc
Montgomery, AL
The foundation funds post-secondary scholarships for dependents of members of Alabama electric cooperatives that have contributed to the foundation. In 2025, it awarded grants of $500–$6,000, typically $1,000, to recipients across Alabama. Scholarship applications are described, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$445K
Grants
131
Total Given
$180K
Mike and Gillian Goodrich Foundation
Birmingham, AL
The Mike and Gillian Goodrich Foundation funds nonprofit work in education, neighborhood revitalization, the environment, arts and culture, and strategic community assets in Birmingham, Alabama, the Black Belt, and statewide. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000; program grants are generally up to $30,000. Applications go through its grant portal; it does not accept unsolicited supporting documents unless requested.
Assets
$105.5M
Grants
119
Total Given
$3.3M
United Way of Central Alabama Inc
Birmingham, AL
United Way of Central Alabama funds nonprofits and community partners addressing health, education, financial stability, crisis response, and related needs in Blount, Chilton, Jefferson, Shelby, St. Clair, and Walker counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,331 to $2.52 million, with a median of about $93,700; county project grants offer up to $2,500 for short-term projects or one-time expenses. The profile describes application processes for specific opportunities but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$141.4M
Grants
113
Total Given
$26.0M
Laura C Higdon Charitable Foundation
Jackson, MS
The foundation funds scholarships for individuals in Escambia County, Alabama, and Santa Rosa County, Florida. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $2,000, with a median of $1,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.4M
Grants
106
Total Given
$96K
More Funders in Alabama
Canterbury Methodist Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?