Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking
BEST educates employers to prevent human trafficking and creates pathways to employment for survivors.
Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking at a glance
In short: Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking gave $10K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $10K), mostly in Washington. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $10,000
- -85.4% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- -50.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $10,000
- -70.8% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $10,000
- Total assets
- $696,131
- -5.6% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Washington (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Byond Meazurez ($10K).
Grant Size Distribution
7 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 6 grants of 7 (86%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
How Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking gives
- Giving fell 50% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $950 (2020) to $114K (2023). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $10K.
Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Byond Meazurez Kent, WA | Support for Black-led comm. orgs | $10,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $696,131 | $980,710 | $1,013,191 | $10,000 | 1 | $19,029 |
| 2024 | $737,100 | $1,173,715 | $1,324,411 | $68,495 | 2 | $31,852 |
| 2023 | $907,270 | $1,367,296 | $1,222,754 | $113,535 | 3 | $14,996 |
| 2022 | $748,004 | $901,922 | $921,457 | $20,000 | 1 | $143 |
| 2021 | $779,149 | $975,735 | $808,244 | $38,740 | Total only | $170 |
| 2020 | $691,440 | $678,735 | $695,382 | $950 | Total only | $242 |
"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.
About Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking
Based on IRS filings
Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking is a public charity focused on Human Services, based in Seattle, WA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $696K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $10K. Net investment income was $19K.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking is led by Kirsten Foot, CEO on every filing since 2023; 1 of 8 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Kirsten Foot
CEO
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$49K (2023) → $146K (2025)
Wendi Pickerel
President
Director → President, 2025
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Alex Sum
Director
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Elizabeth Whittle
Director
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kelly Muren
Director
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kerrie Holleman
Director
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Karen Ressmeyer
Secretary
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Nicolle Atchison
Treasurer
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (12)
- Former: Kenneth Andrew (2020–2025) — Director · Filing note: Term ended feb 2025
- Former: Bob Kakiuchi (2021–2025) — Director · Filing note: Term ended feb 2025
- Former: Whitney Keyes (2024–2025) — Director · Filing note: Term ended mar 2025
- Former: Michael Maine (2020–2024) — Director
- Former: Mikaela Kiner (2020–2024) — Director
- Former: Anne Kerker (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Mar Brettmann (2020–2023) — Executive Director
- Former: Megan Minarik (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Darla Vidger (2022–2023) — Director
- Former: David Glick (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Stephanie Cook (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Kitty Suidman (2020–2021) — President
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $146K, to Kirsten Foot (CEO).
Frequently asked questions about Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking
How much does Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking give each year?
Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking gave $10K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $68K across 2 grants.
How large is Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking?
Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking reported $696K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $981K.
What is Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking?
Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking is a public charity focused on Human Services, based in Seattle, WA. It holds $696K in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking operate?
Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking has awarded grants in Connecticut, Washington.
What is Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking's EIN?
Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 45-5046786. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 13, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 14, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 2, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 11, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 11, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 13, 2026)
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Washington
Seattle Foundation
Seattle, WA
Seattle Foundation supports community-led solutions, racial and economic equity, policy and systems change, and a broad range of community needs through donor-recommended and foundation-directed grants. Its 2024 median grant was $6,000, and its giving primarily serves Greater Seattle and Washington, with some grants made nationally and internationally.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
5,379
Total Given
$177.9M
Gates Foundation
Seattle, WA
The Gates Foundation funds work to reduce disease and poverty, improve health and gender equality in lower-income countries, and support education and economic mobility in the United States, especially Washington State; it works in more than 140 countries. Its 2024 grants had a median of $500,000, with awards ranging from $1 to $350.5 million. It generally does not accept unsolicited proposals, but periodically offers opportunities through published requests for proposals.
Assets
$78.7B
Grants
4,974
Total Given
$6.3B
M J Murdock Charitable Trust
Vancouver, WA
The M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust funds nonprofit capacity-building and projects in arts and culture, civic and community services, education, health and environmental stewardship, and scientific research across Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. Its 2024 median grant was $87,000, with awards ranging from $4,000 to about $1.55 million. Eligible organizations can submit a Letter of Inquiry; full applications are by invitation.
Assets
$2.0B
Grants
797
Total Given
$116.6M
Artsfund
Seattle, WA
ArtsFund supports Washington arts and cultural organizations, primarily through unrestricted operating grants, with some project and capital support. Its 2025 itemized grants ranged from $5,934 to $860,000, with a median of $17,500; the Annual Allocations program is invitation-only, and the profile does not state whether other programs accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$9.6M
Grants
434
Total Given
$10.8M
The Avista Foundation
Spokane, WA
The Avista Foundation supports 501(c)(3) nonprofits working in education, basic needs and poverty, and economic and cultural vitality. Its 2025 grants had a median of $1,000, though awards ranged from $20 to $350,000, and it serves communities in eastern Washington, northern Idaho, parts of southern Oregon, Sanders County, Montana, and Juneau, Alaska.
Assets
$10.6M
Grants
577
Total Given
$2.2M
Scholar Fund
Seattle, WA
Scholar Fund supports community organizations and programs addressing childcare, college access, economic hardship, and barriers to resources, with a focus on underserved communities. Its 2023 grants had a median of $23,486 and ranged from $5,036 to $1,313,081; 98% of grant dollars went to Washington recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.2M
Grants
535
Total Given
$23.1M
More similar funders
More Funders in Washington
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Businesses Ending Slavery & Trafficking down — hundreds of funders to go?