Brattleboro Memorial Hospital logo

Brattleboro Memorial Hospital

Public charity · Grantmaker Brattleboro, VT EIN: 03-0107300 Website

Brattleboro Memorial Hospital will provide community-based quality health services delivered with compassion and respect.

Key facts about Brattleboro Memorial Hospital

EIN
03-0107300
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Total assets
$93,923,083

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$93.9M

-9.2% YoY

Revenue

$115.8M

-0.7% YoY

Net Investment Income

$4.9M

+74.2% YoY

Expenses

$126.6M

+5.6% YoY

How Brattleboro Memorial Hospital gives

  • Giving fell 40% from 2020 to 2023. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

About Brattleboro Memorial Hospital

Based on IRS filings

Brattleboro Memorial Hospital is a public charity focused on Health, based in Brattleboro, VT. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $93.9M in total assets. Net investment income was $4.9M.

Focus Areas

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Brattleboro Memorial Hospital?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

States

Cities

BrattleboroEast DummerstonBurlington

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K$80K4 grants20193 grants20201 grants20211 grants20221 grants2023Total only20240 grants2025

From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2024) to $73K (2019). In 2024 it reported $5K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

3 grants across all recorded years

3<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 3 grants of 3 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

No grants recorded for 2025.

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$50M$100M$150M2019202020212022202320242025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$93,923,083$103,465,911$103,886,025
Revenue$115,757,208$116,621,661$111,598,634
Expenses$126,554,492$119,874,907$113,175,769
Net Investment Income$4,937,462$2,833,907$88,865

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS August 14, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS August 13, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS August 15, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 11, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 14, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS August 15, 2025)
  7. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 17, 2026)

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Brattleboro Memorial Hospital is led by Elizabeth McLarney MD, Co-Ceo, Board Member & Physician since 2025 (on filings since 2019); 10 of 22 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Elizabeth McLarney MD

    Co-Ceo, Board Member & Physician

    Board Member → Board Member & Physician, 2024

    Board Member & Physician → Co-Ceo, Board Member & Physician, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $840K (2019) → $868K (2025)

  • Tony Blofson MD

    Co-Ceo, Board Member & Physician

    Board Member → Board Member & Physician, 2024

    Board Member & Physician → Co-Ceo, Board Member & Physician, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $202K (2021) → $195K (2025)

  • Christopher Dougherty

    President & CEO

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sarah Swank

    Board Chair

    Board Secretary → Board Vice Chair, 2024

    Board Vice Chair → Board Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Aida Avdic

    Hospitalist

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $293K (2019) → $412K (2025)

  • Craig A Rinder

    Staff Md Urology

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $382K (2019) → $400K (2025)

  • Jodi Stack

    Former COO & Cno

    Vice President Patient Care Services → COO & Cno, 2023

    COO & Cno → Former COO & Cno, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    $156K (2019) → $135K (2025)

  • Kathleen McGraw

    Chief Medical Officer

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $315K (2019) → $418K (2025)

  • Eric D Gallagher

    Staff Md Ortho

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $486K (2022) → $684K (2025)

  • Laura Bruno

    CFO

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $139K (2024) → $0 (2025)

  • Timothy D Kelley

    Staff Md Ortho

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $465K (2024) → $560K (2025)

  • Corina Tennant

    Staff Md Ob & Gyn

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $421K (2025)

  • Jacqueline Ethier

    Cno

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $180K (2025)

  • John VP Meyer

    Board Member

    Board Member → Board Treasurer, 2023

    Board Treasurer → Board Member, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rhonda Calhoun

    Board Member

    Board Vice Chair → Board Chair, 2022

    Board Chair → Board Member, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Carmen Derby

    Board Secretary

    Board Member → Board Secretary, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jennifer Griffey

    Former CFO

    CFO → Past CFO, 2023

    Past CFO → Former CFO, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    No compensation reported

  • Tammy Richards

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anne Bilodeau

    Board Treasurer

    Board Member → Board Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chloe Learey

    Vice Chair

    Board Member → Vice Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Paul Boutin MD

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Norma Hardy

    Board Member

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (19)
  • Former: Michael Mandracchia (2019–2024) — Past Board Vice Chair
  • Former: Stephen H Fox (2020–2024) — Staff Md General Surgery
  • Former: George Idelkope MD (2019–2023) — Past Board Member
  • Former: Gregory R Gadowski (2019–2023) — Staff Md General Surgery
  • Former: Steven Gordon (2019–2023) — Former President & CEO
  • Former: William Daley (2019–2023) — Past Board Member
  • Former: Andre Bissonette (2020–2023) — Former CFO
  • Former: Michael Wack (2020–2023) — Past Staff Md Ortho
  • Former: John J Cope (2021–2023) — Staff Md General Surgery
  • Former: Michael Rogers (2019–2022) — Past Vice President Finance Planning & Treasurer
  • Former: Stephen Phillips (2019–2022) — Past Board Member
  • Former: Donna McElligott (2019–2021) — Past Board Member
  • Former: Patty O'Donnell (2019–2021) — Past Board Member
  • Former: John Marzinzik (2019–2020) — Past Interim CFO
  • Former: Tony Blofsam MD (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Jonathan Thatcher (2019) — Staff Md Ortho
  • Former: Mary Urquhart (2019) — Former Vice President Patient Care Services
  • Former: Peter Carvell (2019) — Past Board Member
  • Former: Thomas H Lewis MD (2019) — General Surgeon

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Elizabeth McLarney MD — Co-CEO/Board Member/Physician: $868KElizabeth McLarney MDCo-CEO/Board Member/Physician$868KDr Eric D Gallagher — Staff MD Ortho: $684KDr Eric D GallagherStaff MD Ortho$684KTimothy D Kelley — Staff MD Ortho: $560KTimothy D KelleyStaff MD Ortho$560KCorina Tennant — Staff MD OB/GYN: $421KCorina TennantStaff MD OB/GYN$421KKathleen McGraw — Chief Medical Officer: $418KKathleen McGrawChief Medical Officer$418KAida Avdic — Hospitalist: $412KAida AvdicHospitalist$412KDr Craig A Rinder — Staff MD Urology: $400KDr Craig A RinderStaff MD Urology$400KTony Blofson MD — Co-CEO/Board Member/Physician: $195KTony Blofson MDCo-CEO/Board Member/Physician$195KJacqueline Ethier — Cno: $180KJacqueline EthierCno$180KJodi Stack — Former COO & CNO: $135KJodi StackFormer COO & CNO$135K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $868K, to Elizabeth McLarney MD (Co-CEO/Board Member/Physician). 10 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Brattleboro Memorial Hospital

How large is Brattleboro Memorial Hospital?

Brattleboro Memorial Hospital reported $93.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $115.8M.

What is Brattleboro Memorial Hospital?

Brattleboro Memorial Hospital is a public charity focused on Health, based in Brattleboro, VT. It holds $93.9M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Brattleboro Memorial Hospital operate?

Brattleboro Memorial Hospital has awarded grants in Vermont.

What is Brattleboro Memorial Hospital's EIN?

Brattleboro Memorial Hospital's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 03-0107300. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Brattleboro Memorial Hospital by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Brattleboro Memorial Hospital's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

National Life Group Charitable

Montpelier, VT

National Life Group Charitable primarily funds programs addressing childhood hunger and children’s mental health, with secondary support for community development, especially in central and northern Vermont and the Dallas, Texas area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $20 to $125,000, with a median of $1,040. It accepts online grant applications from January 1 through March 31; sponsorship requests are accepted year-round beginning in January, subject to available funds.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$27.4M

Grants

757

Total Given

$2.7M

The Vermont Community Foundation

Middlebury, VT

The Vermont Community Foundation funds nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including economic equity, education, health, climate and the environment, and community leadership, primarily in Vermont. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,000, though amounts varied widely; application routes differ by program, and RALI grants are invitation-only, while nonprofits may submit a form to introduce themselves to the Foundation.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$370.6M

Grants

728

Total Given

$46.3M

Ben & Jerry's Foundation Inc

South Burlington, VT

The foundation supports grassroots social and environmental justice organizing nationally and community programs focused on basic needs and equity in Vermont. Its former national program offered grants averaging $20,000, up to $30,000, but that program is closed; 2024 grants had a $2,000 median and ranged widely. It is not accepting applications to the closed national program, and the profile does not state whether other programs currently accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$9.2M

Grants

448

Total Given

$4.2M

World Learning Inc

Brattleboro, VT

World Learning funds education, international development and exchange, including participant exchanges, study abroad, youth programs, refugee resettlement, scholarships, and related projects. In 2025 it made 127 grants ranging from $5,049 to $1,213,955, with a median of $20,901; its programs reach 162 countries, while reported grants went to recipients across multiple U.S. states. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

International, Foreign Affairs & National Security

Assets

$72.0M

Grants

127

Total Given

$5.3M

The Windham Foundation Inc

Grafton, VT

The Windham Foundation funds Vermont nonprofits working on rural economic development, food security, conservation, arts and learning, historic preservation, and community health and wellness; its Grafton Fund supports organizations in the Grafton area. Typical awards average $2,500–$5,000, with program grants up to $10,000. It provides an application form and guidelines for grant cycles, indicating that applicants may apply directly.

Assets

$17.3M

Grants

124

Total Given

$393K

Vermont Foodbank

Barre, VT

Vermont Foodbank funds Vermont network and community partners working to improve food access, along with some organizational learning and resilience efforts. Its 2025 grants ranged from $291 to $104,992, with a median of $8,179; the Catalyst Cohort offers eligible Network Partners $20,000. The profile describes application-based opportunities for partners but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Food, Agriculture & Nutrition

Assets

$35.7M

Grants

118

Total Given

$1.4M

Lintilhac Foundation Inc

Shelburne, VT

The foundation funds Vermont nonprofits working in land and water conservation, healthy food and farming, clean energy, outdoor recreation, environmental science, and civic engagement; its core grants are generally $5,000–$30,000 for one year, for project or general operating support. It accepts unsolicited online requests for its core areas, but not for Legacy Giving.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$26.0M

Grants

113

Total Given

$1.5M

Carris Corporation Foundation

Proctor, VT

Carris Corporation Foundation supports a varied mix of charitable work, including employee-ownership research, community events, food access, homelessness services, cancer support, and services for people with intellectual or developmental disabilities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $400 to $36,350, with a median of $3,000, and went to organizations in several states, led by Vermont, California, and North Carolina. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$54K

Grants

104

Total Given

$444K

Alchemist Foundation Inc

Waterbury, VT

The Alchemist Foundation funds scholarships and education, training, employment, and equity-focused programs for young people, especially ages 16–24. Organizational grants are generally small—typically $2,000 or less, though another listing says $3,000 or less—and focus on the Route 100 corridor from the Mad River Valley through Lamoille County and nearby parts of Orleans and Washington counties. It invites local organizations to email information about their work; full proposals are by invitation only.

Assets

$45K

Grants

101

Total Given

$122K

George W Mergens Foundation

Milton, VT

The foundation funds Vermont nonprofits serving youth, with support for educational and experiential opportunities and related programs that benefit children and families. Its 2025 grants ranged from $800 to $50,000, with a median of $9,130. It accepts unsolicited requests through its online process on a rolling basis.

Assets

$16.3M

Grants

95

Total Given

$1.0M

Oakland Foundation Inc

Stowe, VT

The foundation’s 2025 grants supported organizations working in education, health, arts, heritage, recreation, and environmental learning, with most funding going to recipients in West Virginia and Vermont. Grants ranged from $500 to $10,000, with a median of $2,500. It accepts applications from qualified nonprofits and other qualified entities using its application process; the filing lists annual deadlines of March 1, June 1, September 1, and December 1.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.6M

Grants

80

Total Given

$231K

The Rauch Foundation Inc

Woodstock, VT

The Rauch Foundation funds research and initiatives addressing global food systems and school-based financial literacy, with 2024 grants ranging from $750 to $200,000 and a median award of $5,000. It supports organizations in multiple locations, including New York, Vermont, and Greece-related food-systems work. It does not accept unsolicited requests, though organizations may send information about aligned programs; only those invited may submit proposals.

Assets

$37.1M

Grants

71

Total Given

$1.2M

More Funders in Vermont

Brattleboro Memorial Hospital down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?