Boston Firefighters Credit Union logo

Boston Firefighters Credit Union

Public charity · Grantmaker Dorchester, MA EIN: 04-2077206 Website

Provide financial services to our members

Boston Firefighters Credit Union at a glance

In short: Boston Firefighters Credit Union gave $108K across 6 grants in 2024 (avg $18K), mostly in Massachusetts. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$107,750
-8.3% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
6
+0.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$17,958
-8.3% vs 2023
Median grant
$21,250
Total assets
$420,586,232
-0.9% vs 2023
Primary geography
Massachusetts (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Boston Firefighters Credit Union funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 6 recipients in 2024

Boston Police Department(Boston PD Benevolent Soc): $25KBoston PoliceDepartment(Boston PD…$25KBoston Fire Dept Relief Fund: $25KBoston Fire Dept Relief Fund$25KMass Fallen Heroes: $25KMass Fallen Heroes$25KSPAM Benevolent Fund Inc: $18KSPAM Benevolent Fund Inc$18KBoston Bruins Foundation: $10KBoston Bruins Foundation$10KBoston Firefighter and Family Cancer Foundation: $5KBoston Firefighter and FamilyCancer Foundation$5K

The largest 2024 recipient was Boston Police Department(Boston PD Benevolent Soc) ($25K). Together the top 6 received $108K.

Grant Size Distribution

19 grants across all recorded years

19<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 19 grants of 19 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.

Cities

BostonRoslidaleDorchester

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K0 grants2020 0 grants2021 7 grants2022 6 grants2023 6 grants2024

From 2022 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $108K (2024) to $138K (2022). In 2024 it made 6 grants totaling $108K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Boston Police Department(Boston PD Benevolent Soc) Roslidale, MADonation$25,000
Boston Fire Dept Relief Fund Boston, MADonation$25,000
Mass Fallen Heroes Boston, MADonation$25,000
SPAM Benevolent Fund Inc Boston, MADonation$17,500
Boston Bruins Foundation Boston, MADonation$10,000
Boston Firefighter and Family Cancer Foundation Dorchester, MADonation$5,250
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Boston Firefighters Credit Union?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$420,586,232$21,804,632$18,274,622$107,7506$2,054,997
2023$424,274,895$20,405,832$16,670,689$117,5006$1,961,749
2022$426,852,511$16,089,033$12,432,948$138,2507$1,564,773
2021$398,016,214$13,830,110$11,184,191——$668,581
2020$359,788,534$13,311,458$10,747,727——$794,078

About Boston Firefighters Credit Union

Based on IRS filings

Boston Firefighters Credit Union is a public charity, based in Dorchester, MA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $420.6M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 6 grants totaling $108K. Net investment income was $2.1M.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Boston Firefighters Credit Union is led by richard Hayward Jr., President & CEO since 2023 (on filings since 2022); 13 of 23 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • richard Hayward Jr.

    President & CEO

    CEO → President & CEO, 2023

    On filings since 2022

    37.5 hrs/week

    $195K (2022) → $431K (2024)

  • Daniel Magoon

    Chairman

    Clerk Months & Chairman Months → Chairman, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    $6K (2020) → $13K (2024)

  • Edmund Street

    Director

    Chairman Months & Board Member Months → Board Member, 2021

    Board Member → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2020) → $0 (2024)

  • Kevin Meehan

    Director

    Board Member Months & Clerk Months → Board Member, 2021

    Board Member → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $3K (2020) → $0 (2024)

  • Charles Buchanan

    Director

    Board Member → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Christopher Burke

    Director

    Board Member → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marc Sanders

    Director

    Board Member → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ralph Dowling

    Director

    Board Member → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sean O'Brien

    Director

    Board Member → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • William O'Sullivan

    Director

    Board Member → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Broderick

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Andy Puga

    Senior Vice President & CIO

    Vice President of Digital Strategy → Senior Vice President & CIO, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    37.5 hrs/week

    $10K (2020) → $173K (2024)

  • catherine guerard

    Vice President Member Services

    Vice President of Member Service → Vice President Member Services, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    37.5 hrs/week

    $108K (2020) → $154K (2024)

  • Cathy Boucher

    Executive Vice President & COO

    Executive Vice President → Executive Vice President & COO, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    37.5 hrs/week

    $207K (2020) → $202K (2024)

  • cristina Prentis

    Senior Vice President & CFO

    Vice President of Finance → Chief Financial Officer, 2021

    Chief Financial Officer → Senior Vice President & CFO, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    37.5 hrs/week

    $126K (2020) → $214K (2024)

  • Joseph Casper

    Treasurer & Clerk

    Board Member → Treasurer & Clerk, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    $4K (2021) → $6K (2024)

  • kaitryn Thornton

    Vice President Lending

    Vice President of Lending → Vice President Lending, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    37.5 hrs/week

    $122K (2020) → $144K (2024)

  • wendy reiter

    Controller

    On filings since 2021

    37.5 hrs/week

    $112K (2021) → $134K (2024)

  • Raymond Lazcano

    Financial Advisor

    On filings since 2022

    37.5 hrs/week

    $103K (2022) → $124K (2024)

  • craig mackenzie

    Executive Vice President & COO

    On filings since 2023

    37.5 hrs/week

    $91K (2023) → $328K (2024)

  • kenneth Nasiff

    Senior Vice President Mbl

    On filings since 2023

    37.5 hrs/week

    $96K (2023) → $203K (2024)

  • Carlos Fontes

    It Systems Officer

    New on the 2024 filing

    37.5 hrs/week

    $105K (2024)

  • Sean Costello

    Vice Chair

    Board Member → Vice Chair, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (11)
  • Former: Daniel Dowling (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Kristen Russell (2021–2023) — Vice President Business Development
  • Former: Jennifer Cook (2022–2023) — Assistant Vice President Elextronic Services
  • Former: Alexa Cahill (2023) — Assistant Vice President Hr
  • Former: John B. Winne (2020–2022) — CEO
  • Former: Joseph Quinn (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Karen Guiliano (2021–2022) — Loan Servicing Manager
  • Former: Joseph Finn (2020–2021) — Former Board Member
  • Former: John Maguire (2020) — Vice President of It
  • Former: John Soares (2020) — Board Member Months & Board Member
  • Former: Katie Armstrong (2020) — CFO

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

richard Hayward Jr — President & CEO: $431Krichard Hayward JrPresident & CEO$431Kcraig mackenzie — EVP/COO (Resigned 12/2024): $328Kcraig mackenzieEVP/COO (Resigned 12/2024)$328Kcristina Prentis — SVP/CFO: $214Kcristina PrentisSVP/CFO$214Kkenneth Nasiff — SVP MBL: $203Kkenneth NasiffSVP MBL$203KCathy Boucher — EVP/COO (Retired 4/2024): $202KCathy BoucherEVP/COO (Retired 4/2024)$202KAndy Puga — SVP/CIO: $173KAndy PugaSVP/CIO$173Kcatherine guerard — VP Member Services: $154Kcatherine guerardVP Member Services$154Kkaitryn Thornton — VP Lending: $144Kkaitryn ThorntonVP Lending$144Kwendy reiter — Controller: $134Kwendy reiterController$134KRaymond Lazcano — Financial Advisor: $124KRaymond LazcanoFinancial Advisor$124KCarlos Fontes — IT Systems Officer: $105KCarlos FontesIT Systems Officer$105KDaniel Magoon — Chairman: $13KDaniel MagoonChairman$13KJoseph Casper — Treasurer/Clerk: $6KJoseph CasperTreasurer/Clerk$6K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $431K, to richard Hayward Jr (President & CEO). 13 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Boston Firefighters Credit Union

How much does Boston Firefighters Credit Union give each year?

Boston Firefighters Credit Union gave $108K across 6 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $118K across 6 grants.

What is Boston Firefighters Credit Union's typical grant size?

Boston Firefighters Credit Union's median grant in 2024 was $21,250, and its average grant was $17,958, across 6 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.

Where does Boston Firefighters Credit Union give grants?

Boston Firefighters Credit Union gives mostly in Massachusetts: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Boston, MA (4 grants).

Does Boston Firefighters Credit Union give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 6 grants with a stated purpose on Boston Firefighters Credit Union's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Donation" (6 grants).

Who are Boston Firefighters Credit Union's largest grantees?

Boston Firefighters Credit Union's largest 2024 grantees include Boston Police Department(Boston PD Benevolent Soc) ($25,000), Boston Fire Dept Relief Fund ($25,000) and Mass Fallen Heroes ($25,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 70% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Boston Firefighters Credit Union?

Boston Firefighters Credit Union reported $420.6M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $21.8M.

What is Boston Firefighters Credit Union's EIN?

Boston Firefighters Credit Union's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 04-2077206. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(4)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS October 2, 2023)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS October 3, 2024)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 12, 2025)
  4. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Boston Firefighters Credit Union's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Massachusetts

Boston Bruins Charitable Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

The foundation funds charitable organizations supporting children and families through athletics, academics, health and wellness, and community outreach, primarily across New England, with most 2025 grant dollars going to Massachusetts. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $239,044, with a median of $10,000. It reviews requests at regular meetings, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$6.4M

Grants

94

Total Given

$3.1M

Boston Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

The Boston Foundation funds nonprofits and community initiatives focused on equity and opportunity, including child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer amounts such as $50,000; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$2.1B

Grants

2,375

Total Given

$228.4M

Eastern Bank Foundation

Wakefield, MA

Eastern Bank Foundation supports economic inclusion and mobility, including small businesses, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its 2025 grants ranged from $50 to $2,002,500, with a median of $2,500, primarily in Massachusetts and also in New Hampshire and Rhode Island. It accepts online applications and does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$266.7M

Grants

1,786

Total Given

$19.0M

Barr Foundation

Boston, MA

The Barr Foundation funds arts and creativity, climate, education, and New England’s social sector, primarily through long-term support for organizations in New England. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $3.275 million, with a median of $80,000. Its filing says it accepts only requests from preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests, though its website describes program-page inquiries and occasional open calls.

Assets

$1.9B

Grants

903

Total Given

$123.2M

Liberty Mutual Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

Liberty Mutual Foundation funds basic needs such as food and shelter, education and workforce development, and climate and community infrastructure, including homelessness and community preparedness programs. Its 2024 grants had a median of $35,000, and most funding supports organizations or programs serving the Boston area, though it also gives elsewhere. It accepts unsolicited online requests on a rolling basis, with no submission deadlines.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$46.1M

Grants

706

Total Given

$50.6M

Cummings Foundation Grants Inc (FKA Oneworld Boston Inc)

Woburn, MA

Cummings Foundation Grants Inc. funds nonprofits working in human services, education, healthcare, fairness and justice, and the environment, primarily in greater Boston and eastern Massachusetts. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $3.5 million, with a median of $35,000; it accepts letters of inquiry through an online portal during its application cycle, which was not open at the time described.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$258.2M

Grants

658

Total Given

$38.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Massachusetts

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Boston Firefighters Credit Union's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Boston Firefighters Credit Union down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?