Batten Disease Support & Research Association

Public charity · Grantmaker Gahanna, OH EIN: 91-1397792

Our long-term vision is a world without batten disease. Our mission is to support batten families, fund and facilitate research and advocate for treatments and a cure.

Batten Disease Support & Research Association at a glance

In short: Batten Disease Support & Research Association gave $136K across 8 grants in 2024 (avg $17K), top state New York. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$135,863
+161.3% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
8
+700.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$16,983
-67.3% vs 2023
Median grant
$19,086
Total assets
$965,863
-19.7% vs 2023
Primary geography
New York (22% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Batten Disease Support & Research Association funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 8 recipients in 2024

University of Coloradodenver: $24KUniversity of Coloradodenver$24KNationwide Children's Hospital: $23KNationwide Children's Hospital$23KChoc Children's Research Institute: $20KChoc Children's ResearchInstitute$20KKenney Krieger Institute: $20KKenney Krieger Institute$20KUniversity of Rochester Medical Center: $19KUniversity of RochesterMedical Center$19KRush University Medical Center: $13KRush University Medical Center$13KNYU Grossman School of Medicine: $11KNYU Grossman School ofMedicine$11KUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: $7KUniversity of North Carolinaat Chapel Hill$7K

The largest 2024 recipient was University of Coloradodenver ($24K). Together the top 8 received $136K.

Grant Size Distribution

13 grants across all recorded years

12<$50K1$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 12 grants of 13 (92%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

8states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 8 itemized grants.

Cities

RochesterChapel HillAuroraBaltimoreChicagoColumbusLos AngelesNew YorkOrangeSt. Louis

How Batten Disease Support & Research Association gives

  • Giving grew 1259% from 2021 to 2024. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K2 grants2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 8 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $10K (2021) to $136K (2024). In 2024 it made 8 grants totaling $136K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
University of Coloradodenver Aurora, COResearch$23,796
Nationwide Children's Hospital Columbus, OHResearch$23,411
Choc Children's Research Institute Orange, CAResearch$19,636
Kenney Krieger Institute Baltimore, MDResearch$19,539
University of Rochester Medical Center Rochester, NYResearch$18,633
Rush University Medical Center Chicago, ILResearch$12,544
NYU Grossman School of Medicine New York, NYResearch$11,304
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Chapel Hill, NCResearch$7,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Batten Disease Support & Research Association?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$965,863$601,964$967,326$135,8638$35,709
2023$1,203,251$746,147$952,036$52,0001$21,491
2022$1,291,125$1,099,485$858,302$40,0001$19,641
2021$1,208,507$875,074$668,937$10,0001$33,129
2020$1,028,529$1,228,607$718,019$50,0002$23,619

About Batten Disease Support & Research Association

Based on IRS filings

Batten Disease Support & Research Association is a public charity focused on Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines, based in Gahanna, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $966K in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 8 grants totaling $136K. Net investment income was $36K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Batten Disease Support & Research Association is led by Amy Fenton Parker, President on every filing since 2021; 1 of 14 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Amy Fenton Parker

    President

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $93K (2021) → $100K (2024)

  • Darlene Royalty

    Board Chair

    President → Board Chair, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Ireland

    Director

    Director → Sibling Representative, 2023

    Sibling Representative → Director, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kate Haller

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Patterson

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Fernanda Leal-Pardinas

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Suzette James

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Wayne Kiefer

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anthony Ferrandino

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dave Pearce

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Donna Fogel

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Barbara McDonough

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Barbara Wuebbels

    Board Vice C

    Vice President → Board Vice C, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Fred Surrey

    Treasurer

    Director → Treasurer, 2022

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (10)
  • Former: David Pearce (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Donna Fogle (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Tony Ferrandino (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Kyleen Douglas (2023) — Director
  • Former: Trent Lewis (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Rene Martinez (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Bob Jensen (2020–2021) — Treasurer
  • Former: Brock Benroth (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Michelle Churchill (2020) — Executive Di
  • Former: Mike Collins (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Amy Fenton Parker — President &: $100KAmy Fenton ParkerPresident &$100K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $100K, to Amy Fenton Parker (President &).

Frequently asked questions about Batten Disease Support & Research Association

How much does Batten Disease Support & Research Association give each year?

Batten Disease Support & Research Association gave $136K across 8 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $52K across 1 grant.

What is Batten Disease Support & Research Association's typical grant size?

Batten Disease Support & Research Association's median grant in 2024 was $19,086, and its average grant was $16,983, across 8 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.

Where does Batten Disease Support & Research Association give grants?

Batten Disease Support & Research Association's top state is New York, with 22% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were Colorado (18%) and Ohio (17%).

Does Batten Disease Support & Research Association give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 8 grants with a stated purpose on Batten Disease Support & Research Association's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Research" (8 grants).

Who are Batten Disease Support & Research Association's largest grantees?

Batten Disease Support & Research Association's largest 2024 grantees include University of Coloradodenver ($23,796), Nationwide Children's Hospital ($23,411) and Choc Children's Research Institute ($19,636), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 49% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Batten Disease Support & Research Association?

Batten Disease Support & Research Association reported $966K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $602K.

What is Batten Disease Support & Research Association?

Batten Disease Support & Research Association is a public charity focused on Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines, based in Gahanna, OH. It holds $966K in total assets as of 2024.

What is Batten Disease Support & Research Association's EIN?

Batten Disease Support & Research Association's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 91-1397792. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS September 16, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 16, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 15, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 30, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS October 22, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Live grants for the work Batten Disease Support & Research Association funds

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Batten Disease Support & Research Association's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Troy, NY

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute’s reported grants primarily support research subcontracts to universities, medical institutions, and research organizations; its student scholarships and fellowships are not grants to outside applicants. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,700 to $659,031, with a median of $71,429, and recipients were located across the U.S., especially in New York. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited funding requests.

Education

Assets

$1.8B

Grants

57

Total Given

$7.3M

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center

Seatle, WA

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center funds cancer and infectious disease research, along with Washington community-led projects in cancer prevention, screening, education, and care access. Research grants vary widely (the 2025 median was about $118,000); its community awards were up to $15,000, and Tribal Community Grants up to $50,000 plus indirect costs. Community programs are focused on Washington State; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.

Assets

$3.6B

Grants

139

Total Given

$88.2M

Research Corporation dba Research

Tucson, AZ

Research Corporation supports early-stage basic scientific research, especially in the physical sciences, and academic scientists at colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. Its 2024 grants had a median of $55,000, with awards ranging from $74 to $193,142; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$241.5M

Grants

165

Total Given

$8.0M

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

Johns Hopkins University funds a broad range of education, research, health, and community-related work, with 2025 grants ranging from $5,500 to nearly $95 million and a median of $100,000; many of the largest awards were sub-awards. Its grants went to organizations across the U.S., with the largest shares in California and Maryland, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$25.3B

Grants

813

Total Given

$594.1M

Seattle Children's Hospital

Seattle, WA

Seattle Children’s funds pediatric medical research, education, healthcare access, mental health and children’s health initiatives; its external Crossett Fund supports projects benefiting children and youth in Southeast Alaska. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,326 to $15.3 million, with a median of $57,582, while Crossett awards are capped at $10,000. The Crossett Fund accepts applications year-round; other unsolicited requests are not described.

Assets

$6.0B

Grants

181

Total Given

$56.3M

Thomas Jefferson University

Philadelphia, PA

Thomas Jefferson University supports program work at universities, hospitals, research organizations, and community-service organizations, with grants ranging from $6,243 to $879,503 and a median award of about $48,500. Its giving is concentrated in Pennsylvania, with additional support across several states, including Washington, New York, Virginia, and Maryland. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$6.6B

Grants

71

Total Given

$7.3M

More similar funders

More Funders in Ohio

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Batten Disease Support & Research Association's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Batten Disease Support & Research Association down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?