Ballet Guild of Birmingham

Public charity · Grantmaker Birmingham, AL EIN: 63-0942122

The Ballet Guild of Birmingham is an invitational group that raises funds to support the Alabama ballet throught its annual charity ball, the ball of roses.

Key facts about Ballet Guild of Birmingham

In short: Ballet Guild of Birmingham gave $76K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $76K), mostly in Alabama. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
63-0942122
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$76,000
Grants made (2025)
1
Average grant
$76,000
Median grant
$76,000
Total assets
$71,253
Primary geography
Alabama (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$71K

+85.3% YoY

Annual Giving

$76K

+15.2% YoY

Grant Count

1

+0.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$76K

+15.2% YoY

How Ballet Guild of Birmingham gives

  • Giving grew 48% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

About Ballet Guild of Birmingham

Based on IRS filings

Ballet Guild of Birmingham is a public charity, based in Birmingham, AL. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $71K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $76K. Net investment income was $458.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Ballet Guild of Birmingham?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Birmingham

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K0 grants2019 0 grants2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $52K (2022) to $140K (2021). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $76K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Alabama Ballet: $76KAlabama Ballet$76K

The largest 2025 recipient was Alabama Ballet ($76K).

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

<$50K4$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 4 grants of 5 (80%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Alabama Ballet Birmingham, ALTo Support the Alabama Ballet.$76,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$50K$100K$150K$200K2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$71,253$38,461$39,733
Revenue$134,831$98,610$80,487
Expenses$102,039$99,883$86,941
Net Investment Income$458$588$519

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 14, 2022)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 10, 2023)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 12, 2024)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS August 15, 2025)
  5. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS July 23, 2026)
  6. Added Form 990-EZ for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS February 20, 2020)

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Ballet Guild of Birmingham is led by Carolyn Smith, President since 2025 (on filings since 2023); none of the 19 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Carolyn Smith

    President

    Guild Treasurer → President, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rebecca Crowther

    Ball Chair

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Elizabeth Ann Sparks

    Member-At-Large

    Ball Co-Chair → Ball Chair, 2024

    Ball Chair → Member-At-Large, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Carol Ann Phillips

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Caroline Ezelle

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Garland Smith

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Helen Crabtree

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mary Margaret Hendry

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rita Wright

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Trent Hull

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ashelynn Faulkenburg - Smith

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brooke Drinkard Whatley

    Parliamentarian

    Vice President → President & Parliamentarian, 2024

    President & Parliamentarian → Parliamentarian, 2025

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Everette Russell

    Committee Secretary

    Corresponding Secretary → Committee Secretary, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Katherine Brown

    Guild Treasurer

    Committee Secretary → Guild Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Virginia Grisham

    Ball Co-Chair

    Ball Treasurer → Ball Co-Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Anna Evelyn Simms

    Recording Secretary

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Fairfax Yarbrough

    Vice President

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Julia Stewart

    Ball Treasurer

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mary Stewart Beasley

    Corresponding Secretary

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (27)
  • Former: Eleanor Tolbert (2021–2024) — Member-At-Large
  • Former: Tricia Noble (2021–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Fairfax Davis (2022–2024) — Guild Treasurer
  • Former: Rebecca Stump (2023–2024) — Ball Co-Chair
  • Former: Carolyn Lacy (2024) — Vice President
  • Former: Cameron Estes (2021–2023) — President
  • Former: Grace Bentley (2021–2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Emma Allen (2022–2023) — Ball Treasurer
  • Former: Anne Evans Nix (2023) — Parliamentarian
  • Former: Ashleynn Falkenburg (2023) — Board Member
  • Former: Dorsey Cox (2023) — Member-At-Large
  • Former: Anna Catherine Roberson (2019–2022) — Parliamentarian
  • Former: Dorsey Cox Higginbotham (2019–2022) — Ball Chair
  • Former: Mary Elizabeth Roberson (2019–2022) — Member-At-Large
  • Former: Ann Evans Nix (2020–2022) — President
  • Former: Amber Stones (2021) — Parliamentarian
  • Former: Ashelynn Faulkenburg (2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Lacey Alford (2021) — Recording Secretary
  • Former: Madison Merrill (2021) — Ball Chair
  • Former: Anne Bailey White (2019–2020) — Parliamentarian
  • Former: Mackin Thompson (2019–2020) — Member-At-Large
  • Former: Amber Andrews (2020) — President
  • Former: Madison Greer (2020) — Ball Chair
  • Former: Morgan Gearhart (2020) — Committee Secretary
  • Former: Carlton Fountain (2019) — Parliamentarian
  • Former: Emily Saunders (2019) — Recording Secretary
  • Former: Emory Ratliff (2019) — Member-At-Large

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Ballet Guild of Birmingham

How much does Ballet Guild of Birmingham give each year?

Ballet Guild of Birmingham gave $76K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $66K across 1 grant.

How large is Ballet Guild of Birmingham?

Ballet Guild of Birmingham reported $71K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $135K.

Where does Ballet Guild of Birmingham operate?

Ballet Guild of Birmingham has awarded grants in Alabama.

What is Ballet Guild of Birmingham's EIN?

Ballet Guild of Birmingham's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 63-0942122. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Ballet Guild of Birmingham by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Ballet Guild of Birmingham's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Alabama

The Maynard Nexsen Foundation

Birmingham, AL

The Maynard Nexsen Foundation supports a range of charitable causes, including arts, education, health, and community programs, and supplements Maynard Nexsen PC employees’ volunteer efforts. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,500 to $33,000, with a median of $10,000; most funding went to Alabama, with some grants in Georgia, Colorado, and New York. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$396K

Grants

10

Total Given

$125K

Pleiad Foundation

Birmingham, AL

The Pleiad Foundation supports higher education, medical research, arts and culture, and other local projects, primarily in Greater Birmingham and Central Alabama; it may also consider organizations connected to a foundation member. Recent grants ranged from $1,000 to $200,000, with a median of $15,000. It accepts unsolicited requests from qualified organizations, though those outside its core region or without a member connection generally will not be considered.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$10.1M

Grants

36

Total Given

$1.1M

The Joseph S Bruno Charitable

Birmingham, AL

The Joseph S. Bruno Charitable Foundation funds education and health as primary priorities, along with community needs and arts and culture, in greater Birmingham. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,000 to $100,000, with a median of $10,000. It accepts online letters of inquiry twice a year; full applications are by invitation only.

Assets

$18.0M

Grants

40

Total Given

$550K

The Hugh Kaul Foundation

Birmingham, AL

The Hugh Kaul Foundation funds cultural, educational, and civic work, including arts, education, human services, health, and community development, primarily in greater Birmingham and Clay and Coosa counties, Alabama. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,000 to $395,000, with a median of $20,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$50.4M

Grants

68

Total Given

$2.6M

Susan Mott Webb Charitable Trust

Birmingham, AL

The Susan Mott Webb Charitable Trust funds a range of charitable work, including community services, education, historic preservation, and mental health and disability services, with awards limited to Greater Birmingham. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,500 to $150,000, with a median of $10,000. The filing describes an application process but does not explicitly say whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$14.1M

Grants

73

Total Given

$889K

Robert R Meyer Foundation

Birmingham, AL

The foundation supports a range of charitable work, including community services, food assistance, historic preservation, theatre, education, and land conservation, with most funding going to Alabama organizations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,000 to $150,000, with a median of $20,000. It does not limit grants to preselected organizations; eligible 501(c)(3) organizations can contact Regions Bank for application materials, with spring and fall deadlines.

Assets

$35.7M

Grants

75

Total Given

$2.1M

The Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham

Birmingham, AL

The Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham supports nonprofits’ programs, projects, and capital improvements in areas including thriving communities, economic opportunity, poverty reduction, regional cooperation, and equity and inclusion. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,050 to $4.3 million, with a median of about $20,600; competitive grants serve Blount, Jefferson, Shelby, and St. Clair counties in Alabama. It accepts competitive applications through a brief-proposal process, but eligibility rules and cycle deadlines apply.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$350.7M

Grants

440

Total Given

$43.6M

The Shubert Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The Shubert Foundation provides unrestricted general operating support, primarily to professional producing theatres and secondarily to dance companies, with limited support for arts-related organizations and graduate drama training. Its 2025 grants ranged from $15,000 to $371,000, with a median of $40,000, for organizations across the United States and U.S. territories. It accepts unsolicited applications through its online portal.

Assets

$706.9M

Grants

671

Total Given

$42.0M

Publix Super Markets Charities Inc

Lakeland, FL

Publix Super Markets Charities supports nonprofits addressing hunger, homelessness and housing, youth, education, and community needs in Florida, Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Kentucky. Its 2024 median grant was $2,500, though awards ranged widely; it accepts online requests from eligible organizations, with application periods varying by program.

Assets

$233.8M

Grants

3,269

Total Given

$52.5M

Alabama Power Foundation Inc

Birmingham, AL

The Alabama Power Foundation funds education, community development, arts and culture, health and human services, and environmental projects in Alabama communities within Alabama Power’s service territory. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $500,000, with a median of $2,500; it offers online grant application cycles, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$117.9M

Grants

1,240

Total Given

$16.2M

The Daniel Foundation of Alabama

Birmingham, AL

The Daniel Foundation of Alabama funds Alabama organizations working in education, basic needs, health, mental health, arts, youth mentoring, veterans, and community projects, with some grants limited to designated counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $10,000, and operating grants are capped at $25,000. Applicants begin by submitting a letter of intent; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.

Assets

$114.5M

Grants

521

Total Given

$7.5M

The Long Lewis Foundation

Muscle Shoals, AL

The Long-Lewis Foundation supports evangelistic causes, local and global mission work, and people facing medical or emotional hardship, with limited scholarships for those pursuing full-time ministry. Its 2024 grants ranged from $27 to $62,450, with a median of $1,000; it primarily funded Alabama organizations and supports communities it serves. It states that it funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$5.5M

Grants

318

Total Given

$845K

More Funders in Alabama

Ballet Guild of Birmingham down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?