Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc
The organization operates for the exclusive benefit of auburn university foundation, a nonprofit corporation which was organized for the support of auburn university, an educational, land-grant institution.
Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc at a glance
In short: Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc gave $91K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $91K), mostly in Alabama. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $91,225
- -96.1% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $91,225
- -96.1% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $91,225
- Total assets
- $22,979,712
- +18.9% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Alabama (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Auburn University Foundation ($91K).
Grant Size Distribution
8 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $500K–1M range: 3 grants of 8 (38%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
How Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc gives
- Giving fell 24% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $91K (2025) to $2.4M (2024). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $91K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Auburn University Foundation Auburn, AL | Academic Units | $91,225 |
Ready to take the next step with Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $22,979,712 | $1,713,685 | $580,278 | $91,225 | 1 | $156,129 |
| 2024 | $19,330,335 | $341,851 | $2,681,401 | $2,358,430 | 1 | $-5,130 |
| 2023 | $21,647,679 | $4,361,188 | $1,423,467 | $1,155,204 | 2 | $13,116 |
| 2022 | $19,953,551 | $10,156,040 | $339,289 | $120,645 | 2 | $-65,783 |
| 2021 | $9,739,836 | $4,197,642 | $1,285,995 | $1,119,215 | 2 | $8,288 |
| 2020 | $6,805,640 | $484,275 | $1,238,649 | $1,125,000 | 1 | $-34,821 |
| 2019 | $7,578,905 | $130,327 | $444,402 | $308,264 | 2 | $-26,306 |
About Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc
Based on IRS filings
Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Auburn, AL. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $23.0M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $91K. Net investment income was $156K.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc is led by Rob Wellbaum, President on every filing since 2023; 10 of 17 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Rob Wellbaum
President
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
$225K (2023) → $310K (2025)
Patrick Henry
Chair
Vice Chair → Vice Chair & Treasurer, 2023
Vice Chair & Treasurer → Chair, 2025
On filings since 2021
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lee Sheppard
Director of Finance
Assistant Director of Finance → Director of Finance, 2025
On filings since 2024
3.3 hrs/week
$50K (2024) → $55K (2025)
David Welch
Director
On filings since 2023
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
John Thomas
Director
On filings since 2023
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Beau Byrd
Director
On filings since 2024
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lacey Lewis
Director
New on the 2025 filing
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Tee Green
Director
New on the 2025 filing
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Wanda Sperow
Secretary
On filings since 2019
2 hrs/week
$9K (2021) → $10K (2025)
William B. Hughes
Chief Financial Officer
Assistant Treasurer → Chief Financial Officer, 2023
On filings since 2020
4 hrs/week
$37K (2021) → $100K (2025)
Carolyn Burroughs
Assistant Treasurer
On filings since 2023
6 hrs/week
$29K (2023) → $92K (2025)
Erin Lewis
Chief Operations Officer
On filings since 2023
4 hrs/week
$219K (2023) → $225K (2025)
Laurel Hendrix
Assistant Secretary
On filings since 2023
2 hrs/week
$34K (2023) → $42K (2025)
Jessica Thompson
Associate Director of Finance
New on the 2025 filing
3.3 hrs/week
$46K (2025)
Margaret Arnold
Associate Vice President
New on the 2025 filing
0.8 hrs/week
$198K (2025)
Meridith Collari
Information Security Officer
New on the 2025 filing
0.5 hrs/week
$13K (2025)
Greg Winchester
Vice Chair
Director → Vice Chair, 2025
On filings since 2022
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (16)
- Former: Angie Stephens (2019–2024) — Vice President
- Former: Steve Cates (2019–2024) — Chair
- Former: John Morris (2021–2024) — President · Filing note: As of 030821
- Former: Benny Larussa (2023–2024) — Director
- Former: Timothy Jones (2023–2024) — Iso
- Former: Charles Saliba (2024) — Technology Architech
- Former: Steven R. Spencer (2019–2023) — Director
- Former: Randy Campbell (2021–2023) — Director
- Former: Walter S. Woltosz (2019–2021) — Chair
- Former: Chris Roberts (2021) — Former Interim President · Filing note: Thru 030721
- Former: Jane Difolco Parker (2019–2020) — Former President
- Former: Jim Hoskins (2019–2020) — Director
- Former: Mark R. Thomson (2019–2020) — Former Assistant Treasurer
- Former: Ron Dykes (2019–2020) — Director
- Former: Christopher B. Roberts (2020) — Interim President
- Former: Dottie Blair (2020) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $310K, to Rob Wellbaum (President). 10 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc
How much does Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc give each year?
Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc gave $91K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $2.4M across 1 grant.
How large is Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc?
Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc reported $23.0M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.7M.
What is Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc?
Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Auburn, AL. It holds $23.0M in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc operate?
Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc has awarded grants in Alabama.
What is Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc's EIN?
Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 56-2535892. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 7, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 29, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 30, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 3, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 9, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 5, 2023)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 20, 2026)
Live grants for the work Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc funds
Education Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
RSM US Foundation
Davenport, IA
The RSM US Foundation funds youth education and programs addressing hunger, housing, and health challenges, along with related scholarships, disaster relief, and employee-volunteer grants. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,255 to $257,835, with a median of $21,534, and were distributed across the United States, with some Power of Love support reaching other countries. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$17.5M
Grants
165
Total Given
$5.5M
Foundation for the Carolinas
Charlotte, NC
Foundation For The Carolinas funds education and youth development, environmental and wildlife work, health and human services, and animal welfare, with a reported median grant of $25,000 in 2024. Its competitive programs focus on Charlotte-Mecklenburg, the Carolinas, and specific local communities, while donor-advised funds may support eligible nonprofits more broadly; it accepts applications for some competitive grants, but most grants are recommended by fund advisors and have no application process.
Assets
$3.9B
Grants
1,605
Total Given
$609.1M
The Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham
Birmingham, AL
The Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham funds programs, projects, and capital improvements across priorities including thriving communities, economic opportunity, poverty reduction, and equity. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $20,600, though awards varied widely; competitive grants support eligible organizations serving Blount, Jefferson, Shelby, and St. Clair counties in Alabama. It accepts competitive requests through periodic application cycles, but the current cycle described is closed.
Assets
$350.7M
Grants
440
Total Given
$43.6M
Hayley-Redd Family Foundation
Auburn, AL
Assets
$4.4M
Grants
7
Total Given
$147K
The Mabel Amos Memorial Fund
Montgomery, AL
The Mabel Amos Memorial Fund provides scholarships to young men and women from Alabama attending any educational institution. In 2025, it awarded 18 grants totaling $373,600, ranging from $500 to $150,850, with a median award of $4,750. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests; applicants are directed to contact Regions Bank and apply through a link shared by high school counselors.
Assets
$6.3M
Grants
18
Total Given
$374K
The Robert and Lois Luckie Charitable
Birmingham, AL
The Robert and Lois Luckie Charitable funds a range of charitable organizations, with most of its giving going to Alabama and smaller amounts to California and Texas. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $15,000, with a median of $3,500. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$3.8M
Grants
23
Total Given
$107K
More similar funders
More Funders in Alabama
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Auburn University Real Estate Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?