Abr Family Foundation No 1
ABR FAMILY FOUNDATION NO 1 is a private foundation based in Shaker Heights, Ohio. Its 2025 grants supported the Jewish Federation of Cleveland’s campaign for Jewish needs and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum’s expansion and redesign campaign.
Key facts about Abr Family Foundation No 1
In short: Abr Family Foundation No 1 gave $386K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $193K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 82-2436524
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $386,499
- Grants made (2025)
- 2
- Average grant
- $193,250
- Median grant
- $193,250
- Total assets
- $479,975
- Primary geography
- Ohio (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$480K
-41.9% YoY
Annual Giving
$386K
-58.4% YoY
Grant Count
2
-60.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$193K
+4.0% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Abr Family Foundation No 1 reported a distributable amount of $37K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Abr Family Foundation No 1 gives
- Giving fell 64% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants went to a community federation and a museum. The Jewish Federation of Cleveland says its mission includes promoting the well-being of its community and Jews worldwide, strengthening the Jewish community, and encouraging members to make the world better through tikkun olam.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation reported two grants totaling $386,499. The grants ranged from $83,334 to $303,165, with a median of $193,250.
Ready to take the next step with Abr Family Foundation No 1?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
All grant dollars reported for 2025 went to recipients in Ohio.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 2 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $386K (2025) to $1.9M (2023). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $386K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 2 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Jewish Federation of Cleveland ($303K). Together the top 2 received $386K.
Grant Size Distribution
74 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 58 grants of 74 (78%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Jewish Federation of Cleveland Cleveland, OH | 2025 Campaign for Jewish Needs | $303,165 |
| Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Inc Cleveland, OH | Expansion Project and Museum 2.0 Redesign Campaign | $83,334 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Grant total | Number of grants |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $386,499 | 2 |
| 2024 | $928,926 | 5 |
| 2023 | $1,941,369 | 61 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $479,975 | $826,776 | $1,658,219 |
| Revenue | $41,243 | $100,134 | $108,326 |
| Expenses | $388,044 | $931,577 | $1,942,250 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $386,844 | $929,151 | $1,941,569 |
| Net Investment Income | $41,243 | $100,134 | $114,136 |
| Distributable Amount | $37,305 | $70,089 | $129,678 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 13, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 5, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 12, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 9, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 2, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS March 24, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Albert Ratner as president/director and Audrey Ratner as vice president.
Abr Family Foundation No 1 is led by Albert Ratner, President & Director on every filing since 2020; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Albert Ratner
President & Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Audrey Ratner
Vice President
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 3401 Tuttle Rd 350, Shaker Heights, OH 44122
Phone: (440) 345-3687
Frequently asked questions about Abr Family Foundation No 1
How much does Abr Family Foundation No 1 give each year?
Abr Family Foundation No 1 gave $386K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $929K across 5 grants.
How large is Abr Family Foundation No 1?
Abr Family Foundation No 1 reported $480K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $387K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $37K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Abr Family Foundation No 1 fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2025 grants went to a community federation and a museum. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Abr Family Foundation No 1?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
Where does Abr Family Foundation No 1 make grants?
All grant dollars reported for 2025 went to recipients in Ohio.
What is Abr Family Foundation No 1's EIN?
Abr Family Foundation No 1's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 82-2436524. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Abr Family Foundation No 1 accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Abr Family Foundation No 1 by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Abr Family Foundation No 1's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Albert B & Audrey G Ratner
Shaker Heights, OH
The foundation’s reported 2024 grant supported the performing arts, and its grants have gone to organizations in the Cleveland area; the available information doesn’t establish a typical grant size (its sole 2024 grant was $2,250). It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$8K
Grants
1
Total Given
$2K
Jewish Federation of Cleveland
Cleveland, OH
The Jewish Federation of Cleveland funds social-welfare, religious, educational, security, and community programs, with a focus on Cleveland and Ohio as well as Jewish needs in Israel and around the world. Its 2025 grants had a median of $22,250, though amounts varied widely; the available information does not specify whether it accepts unsolicited institutional requests.
Assets
$680.2M
Grants
425
Total Given
$72.7M
The Cleveland Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The Cleveland Foundation funds nonprofits working on community needs and long-term priorities, including education, health, arts and culture, economic development, neighborhoods, and human services in Cuyahoga, Lake, and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $30,700, though amounts varied widely. Its general application is open year-round, so it accepts unsolicited requests through that process.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
1,016
Total Given
$184.2M
Jack Joseph & Morton Mandel Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Foundation supports leadership and nonprofit management, the humanities, Jewish life, and urban and community development, primarily through its own programs and selected grants in the United States and Israel. Its 2024 grants had a median of $10,500, though awards ranged widely; it does not accept unsolicited requests and grants by invitation only.
Assets
$3.6B
Grants
284
Total Given
$77.0M
The Swagelok Foundation
Solon, OH
The Swagelok Foundation supports a broad range of charitable, community, education, and public organizations in places where Swagelok associates live and work, primarily in Ohio. In 2025 it made 222 grants totaling about $1.37 million, ranging from $20 to $201,000, with a median grant of $1,905. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$10.4M
Grants
222
Total Given
$1.4M
John P Murphy Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The John P Murphy Foundation supports charitable, educational, scientific, literary, and religious work, with grants spanning arts, higher education, civic affairs, health, social services, community development, and youth. In 2024, awards ranged from $1,000 to $355,000, with a median of $15,000; grants went overwhelmingly to Ohio, especially Cleveland-area organizations. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$54.1M
Grants
76
Total Given
$2.4M
Columbus Foundation
Columbus, OH
The Columbus Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including arts and culture, education, youth, neighborhoods, basic needs, and capacity building, with a median 2024 grant of about $21,500. Its focus is Central Ohio, though it also funds organizations elsewhere; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
1,747
Total Given
$242.7M
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation supports education, affordable housing, arts and culture, community well-being, neighborhood development, and basic needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, while specific opportunities range from small awards to grants of up to $450,000. It offers open RFP and LOI opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside those opportunities.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,408
Total Given
$184.4M
The Scripps Howard Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Scripps Howard Foundation supports journalism education and related programs, including fellowships and investigative and open-source reporting, with 2024 grants concentrated in Maryland, Washington, D.C., Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. Its median 2024 grant was $1,250, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$69.4M
Grants
819
Total Given
$7.4M
Nisource Charitable Foundation
Columbus, OH
The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$43.0M
Grants
683
Total Given
$7.5M
Dayton Foundation Depository
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation supports eligible nonprofits working in arts and culture, health, education, human services and community building, including capacity building, capital projects and program expansions, primarily in Greater Dayton and nearby counties. Its 2025 itemized grants ranged from $5,020 to $1,792,990, with a median of $12,000. It accepts applications for its discretionary grant program through an online portal.
Assets
$42.3M
Grants
677
Total Given
$22.7M
More Funders in Ohio
Abr Family Foundation No 1 down — hundreds of funders to go?