Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Dallas, TX EIN: 72-1420304

Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation is a private foundation, based in Dallas, TX. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $424K in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 6 grants totaling $20K. Net investment income was $14K.

Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation at a glance

In short: Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation gave $20K across 6 grants in 2024 (avg $3K), mostly in Texas. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2024)
$19,500
+5.7% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
6
-25.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$3,250
+40.9% vs 2023
Median grant
$3,000
Total assets
$424,456
-0.6% vs 2023
Primary geography
Texas (51% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 6 recipients in 2024

Louisiana Baptist Children's Home: $6KLouisiana Baptist Children'sHome$6KCrystal Charitychildren Program: $5KCrystal CharitychildrenProgram$5KSouth Main Baptist Church: $3KSouth Main Baptist Church$3KManhattan Institutefuture of Education: $3KManhattan Institutefuture ofEducation$3KRreach (Ramesh Richard Evangelism and Church Health): $2KRreach (Ramesh RichardEvangelism and Church Health)$2KThe Leukemia & Lymphoma Society: $500The Leukemia & LymphomaSociety$500

The largest 2024 recipient was Louisiana Baptist Children's Home ($6K). Together the top 6 received $20K.

Grant Size Distribution

36 grants across all recorded years

36<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 36 grants of 36 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

5states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.

Cities

HoustonDallasMonroeRye BrookLake CharlesLouisvilleNashvilleNew YorkVinton

How Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation gives

  • Giving fell 66% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 93% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K9 grants2020 8 grants2021 5 grants2022 8 grants2023 6 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $18K (2023) to $58K (2021). In 2024 it made 6 grants totaling $20K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Louisiana Baptist Children's Home Monroe, LADonations$6,000
Crystal Charitychildren Program Dallas, TXDonations$5,000
South Main Baptist Church Houston, TXDonations$3,000
Manhattan Institutefuture of Education New York, NYDonations$3,000
Rreach (Ramesh Richard Evangelism and Church Health) Dallas, TXDonations$2,000
The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Rye Brook, NYDonations$500
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2024$424,456$14,039$27,482$19,5006$19,500$14,039$20,871
2023$427,067$12,438$22,034$18,4508$18,450$12,438$21,334
2022$419,645$-34,848$27,218$24,0005$24,000$12,104$21,464
2021$516,687$20,446$66,583$57,7008$57,700$15,118$26,303
2020$563,594$20,939$50,645$47,3039—$18,421$27,971

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation reported a distributable amount of $21K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation is led by Faye Eva Fatima Lott, President on every filing since 2020 — the only officer listed, and uncompensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Faye Eva Fatima Lott

    President

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation

How much does Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation give each year?

Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation gave $20K across 6 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $18K across 8 grants.

What is Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation's typical grant size?

Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $3,000, and its average grant was $3,250, across 6 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation give grants?

Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation gives mostly in Texas: 51% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Louisiana (31%) and New York (18%). The most frequent recipient cities were Dallas, TX (2 grants).

Does Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 6 grants with a stated purpose on Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Donations" (6 grants).

Who are Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation's largest grantees?

Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Louisiana Baptist Children's Home ($6,000), Crystal Charitychildren Program ($5,000) and South Main Baptist Church ($3,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 72% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation?

Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation reported $424K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $20K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $21K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation's EIN?

Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 72-1420304. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Ima Foundation

Wichita, KS

Assets

$11.4M

Grants

602

Total Given

$831K

The Albertsons Companies Foundation

Pleasanton, CA

The foundation funds local organizations working on hunger relief, youth and education, health and human services, veterans, and support for people with special needs, with most funding staying in Albertsons’ communities. Giving varies widely: 2025 grants had a median of $15,750, while some local programs typically award $500–$5,000. Its reach spans multiple states, with the largest share of 2025 grant dollars going to California; some regional programs describe application and review processes, but the profile does not state whether the foundation generally accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$79.9M

Grants

800

Total Given

$55.8M

Kayne Anderson Capital Advisors

Los Angeles, CA

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$252K

Grants

252

Total Given

$770K

EQT Foundation

Canonsburg, PA

The EQT Foundation funds community enrichment, education and workforce development, and environmental and arts-related work, prioritizing communities within EQT Corporation’s operating footprint, especially in Pennsylvania and West Virginia. Its 2024 median grant was $10,000, though awards ranged from $100 to $800,000; it invites eligible nonprofits and institutions to apply through its website.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$26.2M

Grants

367

Total Given

$6.3M

The Firstenburg Foundation

Vancouver, WA

The Firstenburg Foundation supports housing, shelter, homelessness services, youth programs, and other community needs, primarily in Washington, with some funding in Oregon. Its 2024 grants ranged from $50 to $215,000, with a median of $10,000. It requires an application form and supporting materials, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$42.8M

Grants

68

Total Given

$1.3M

More similar funders

More Funders in Texas

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Winnie B and Sam H Lott Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?