Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn
Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn is a private foundation, based in Brooklyn, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $2.0M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 2 grants totaling $215K. Net investment income was $457K.
Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn at a glance
In short: Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn gave $215K across 2 grants in 2024 (avg $108K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $215,000
- -6.5% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 2
- -66.7% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $107,500
- +180.4% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $107,500
- Total assets
- $2,000,495
- +14.2% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- Ohio (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.
Who Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 2 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was University Hospital ($200K). Together the top 2 received $215K.
Grant Size Distribution
31 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 26 grants of 31 (84%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.
States
Cities
How Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−20%). Method
- In 2024 it paid out 80% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $195K (2020) to $268K (2021). In 2024 it made 2 grants totaling $215K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| University Hospital Cleveland, OH | General Operating | $200,000 |
| In Step with Horses Chagrin Falls, OH | General Operating | $15,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $2,000,495 | $502,738 | $248,390 | $215,000 | 2 | $216,050 | $457,014 | $270,502 |
| 2023 | $1,751,078 | $106,937 | $255,517 | $230,000 | 6 | $231,050 | $72,866 | $242,277 |
| 2022 | $1,909,687 | $313,374 | $236,644 | $213,000 | 6 | $213,000 | $267,506 | $239,480 |
| 2021 | $1,842,830 | $268,146 | $292,512 | $268,000 | 10 | $269,200 | $222,228 | $272,102 |
| 2020 | $1,867,001 | $278,171 | $216,769 | $195,000 | 7 | — | $218,920 | $225,786 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn reported a distributable amount of $271K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn's 2024 filing lists 4 officers; none of the 4 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Caroline H. Donaldson
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Douglas M. Horner
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Holly Munger Book
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
James A. Horner Jr.
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn
How much does Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn give each year?
Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn gave $215K across 2 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $230K across 6 grants.
How large is Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn?
Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn reported $2.0M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $216K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $271K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
Where does Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn operate?
Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn has awarded grants in Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, New Hampshire, Ohio, South Dakota, Tennessee.
What is Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn's EIN?
Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-6521259. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Other open foundation grants in Ohio
Ohio Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Ohio
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
The Swagelok Foundation
Solon, OH
The Swagelok Foundation supports a broad range of charitable, community, education, and public organizations in places where Swagelok associates live and work, primarily in Ohio. In 2025 it made 222 grants totaling about $1.37 million, ranging from $20 to $201,000, with a median grant of $1,905. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$10.4M
Grants
222
Total Given
$1.4M
IBM International Foundation
Armonk, NY
The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$357.7M
Grants
16
Total Given
$11.7M
Boston Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
The Boston Foundation funds nonprofits and community initiatives focused on equity and opportunity, including child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer amounts such as $50,000; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$2.1B
Grants
2,375
Total Given
$228.4M
Columbus Foundation
Columbus, OH
The Columbus Foundation supports a broad range of nonprofit work, including arts, education, health, basic needs, neighborhoods, and capacity building, primarily in central Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,471, though amounts varied widely. Most grants are directed by donors and aren’t made through an application process, but some specific programs accept applications.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
1,747
Total Given
$242.7M
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation funds nonprofits working on education, housing, community and cultural vibrancy, and related regional needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though amounts vary widely; specific opportunities include awards of up to $35,000 for Resilient Communities and up to $450,000 through the Neighborhood Development Fund. It lists RFP and letter-of-intent opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,408
Total Given
$184.4M
More similar funders
More Funders in Ohio
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Wilson Marguerite Char Fdn down — hundreds of funders to go?